We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,316)
Filter reviews
1,316 results
Traveller rating
250
558
301
123
84
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
250
558
301
123
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgay beachrooftop poolperfect locationchrist the redeemeran upgraderestaurants and barsvisiting rioocean viewblockipanemaumbrellasneighborhoodfixturesbanksminibar
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 1,316 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2017

Stayed for 3 days over a business trip - 4th visit to this hotel, location is very good close to Ipanema beach, area is safer then Copacabana, many good restaurant close by - good reception staff - many thanks to Hannah Cartier at reception for great welcome & support and help in finding restaurant - nice swimming pool on top floor with great view - fitness facility present, fair - excellent restaurant with Sushi
Will be back

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Chris3436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iplaza, Gerente at Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing the Ipanema Plaza Hotel for your recent stay in Rio.

We are delighted to hear you were please with our accommodations.

Thank you for your kind words on our staff and we hope to see you again on your next trip to Rio.

Warm Regards,

Team Ipanema Plaza Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2017

Location: One block back from Ipanema beach, so excellent location. It is on the gay street. So some Brazilian friends were surprised when I told them where I am staying. But it didn't effect me at all.

Room: Nice big room. Fixtures are a bit dated, but that didn't bother me.

Service: Quite good, friendly staff at reception. Who were quite helpful. There is also a restaurant attached to the hotel, which was quite handy. Good security, very safe.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Geilstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iplaza, Gerente at Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2017

Dear guest,

First, thank you for your comments about the hotel.

How nice to hear that you had a great stay with us and enjoyed our facilities and location. Special thank for recognizing our staff.

Hope to see you again and welcome you on your next trip to Rio.

Kindest regards,

Team Ipanema Plaza Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2017

The rooms are spacious but the toilet is a bit dated. Nice roof top bar and pool for sunset. The hotel is close to the beach (just a block away), also close to all the shops and restaurants. Not far from Copacabana beach just a 30-40 minutes wak.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siphiwe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iplaza, Gerente at Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2017

Dear guest,

First of all, thank you for commenting here on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to hear that you had a great stay with us. The Ipanema Plaza is really located in the best spot of Rio, thank you again for choosing us.

Hope to see you again on your next trip to Rio.

Kindest regards,

Team Ipanema Plaza Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 18, 2017

I enjoyed staying in this hotel mostly for the location. The whole area and particularly this street is lively with plenty of food and drinking options and the beach a block away. There were also plenty of shops. I later stayed in Copacabana and really missed Ipanema. It felt much safer in Ipanema, especially at night. The room was large and comfy and the breakfast excellent. The decor seemed slightly dated for a 4 star hotel. My only criticism really was that the reception staff, who were otherwise very helpful, but not helpful with organising a airport transfer. They tried to sell the ridiculously expensive shuttle bus option and warned that taxis weren't plentiful at the time I needed to check out. Don't listen to them. There were taxis outside 24/7 at a much cheaper price than the hotel van. A shame that they couldn't put their guests before profit. Otherwise this hotel is a good pick. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sydneysider70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iplaza, Gerente at Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2017

Dear guest,

Thank for your great review.

We are glad to hear that you spent a great time in Rio and enjoyed our hotel, its location and proximity to the beach. At the same time, we are concerned with the service of transfer that is not consistent with our guest service standard. Your comments will be taken into consideration.

Hope to see you back as soon as possible.

Kindest regards,

Team Ipanema Plaza Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 20, 2017

Location is perfect- a few steps away from Ipanema beach. Lots of restaurants and bars in the area. They have the a rooftop bar next to the swimming pool, and a well-equipped fitness room closes.

They have a chair and towel service available for the beach - but the guy at the front desk failed to mention it. I knew because I read the reviews at TripAdvisor while choosing the hotel.

The room is run-of-the-mill regarding space and bedding for this price slot, where if you want a little more will pay a lot more, so it stays right at the best cost-benefit trade-off point. The bed was excellent, and noiseless. Each room has a safe, which is always a plus for travelers.

What impressed me the most regarding the room was the sound isolation, the room was dead silent, no noise from the outside world , other guests or the hallways entered the room. I Stayed in the 15th floor.
This is an old building, and it shows on the bathroom, which will take you back to the 70's , but was clean and had a wonderful shower inside a bathtub. Be careful to leave the rubber curtain inside the tub to prevent water leakage.

Good breakfast with outdoor sitting available. Good hotel. They also have a japanese restaurant left to the front desk and 24-hour room service.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank BrunoLonx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iplaza, Gerente at Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2017

Dear guest,

First, thank you for sharing your comments with the other readers.

The Ipanema Plaza is really an unbeatable location near several restaurants, bars and the beach. Regarding our rooms, we inform you that we already have a remodeling project in progress.

We hope that on your next trip to Rio, choose our hotel and we can cause great impressions.

Cordial greetings,

Team Ipanema Plaza Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews