We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,315)
Filter reviews
1,315 results
Traveller rating
368
652
216
49
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
368
652
216
49
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews devassa restaurant attached restaurant great location street noise few blocks beach towels higher floor felt very safe small room ipanema umbrellas brazil neighborhood closet metro rooftop safety
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 1,315 reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2015 via mobile

The location is great, 2 blocks from the beach and steps from tons of restaurants (Tupac was our fav for dinner and Delirious Tropical for lunch).

The hotel rooms are very small and not set up well. Great water pressure in the bathrooms and good quality toiletries. The ACs are a bit weak. The beds and pillows are in need of replacing, but clean.

There is a rooftop bar that was not open ever while we were there. The wifi is pretty good. There is also a small gym but good enough for a workout along w a sauna and a nice sitting area on the roof.

The breakfast was pretty big and good. Sooo many great pastries and desserts it was hard to resist. The women at the front desk are very helpful, we had some issues w our transfer and they helped us call the company several times.

The hotel also offers free towels, chairs and umbrellas, a great perk. I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HenriqueAbreuB, Gerente at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Mar Ipanema Hotel for your recent stay in Rio de Janeiro. It’s good to read that you had a great time while at our property.

I’m happy to know you found our breakfast delicious. Did you try the Brazilian delicacies that are served there, such as pão-de-queijo, matte, tropical fruits and many more?

Concerning the beach equipment, we provide our guests complimentary use of each towels, chairs and umbrellas, which are really handy, since the daily rent at the beach costs up to R$ 20.00 per day!

In regard of the complimentary wifi access, I would like to add that few hotels in Rio offer this amenity to guests. Wifi access may cost up to R$ 60,00 per day at hotels in Rio.

Good to know you enjoyed our prime location! As you mentioned, Mar Ipanema Hotel is located just two blocks away from the wonderful Ipanema beach in the fancy residential district of Ipanema, being surrounded by the best restaurants and trendiest shops in town.

Once again, thank you very much for your great review and compliments to our property. We hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,

Henrique de Abreu
Mar Ipanema Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 2, 2015

If you want to stay in Ipanema this is a solid choice. Located directly up from Post 10 – only two blocks from the beach, this friendly staffed hotel will serve you well. Their English ranges from workable to basically fluent.

The hotel is around a 10 minute walk to Leblon, 30 minute walk to the subway / metro and 30-40 minute walk to Copacabana.

The lobby is a nice design with a modern look and feel to it. The staff are very accommodating, they will give you directions, lend you power adaptors, and make sure you have towels and chairs for the beach. You can exchange money here but you’ll get a bit better rate just a bit East along Rua Visconde de Pirajá, at the exchange shop or Citibank.

The rooms are fair, quite small but look newish with decent but also small washrooms. The elevators are small and slow and could use at very least a speed upgrade. As the hotel is two blocks in the from the beach it doesn’t have an ocean view that I could tell, but you get a nice lagoa view from the North side of the hotel, especially at the top.

There is a small gym on the top floor and a very nice rooftop bar as well.
The breakfast is actually pretty good with some hot choices, cereals, fruit and lots of sweets in case you didn’t have enough Churros or Caparinhas the night before (if you did the coffee is also good). Well done here.

The neighbourhood is safe. I wouldn’t walk around with tons of cash or valuables, but I never felt threatened or unsafe even the night we stumbled home around 2AM.

Overall I’d call the hotel a 3.5 star, not a 4 star, but mostly because of the room size, elevators and relative pricing – that said Rio is not cheap especially in the popular beach sections.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank cozziad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HenriqueAbreuB, Gerente at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2015

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review on Mar Ipanema Hotel and for sharing your holiday experience here on Trip Advisor! It makes us truly happy that you were pleased with our hotel and services! We would like to especially thank you for your kind words on our staff. They are all very dedicated, serving our guests with passion and enthusiasm and a review like this is a motivation for us to keep on giving our best everyday!

Thank you once again for taking the time to give us a feedback on your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in Rio de Janeiro soon!

Best regards,

Henrique de Abreu
Mar Ipanema Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 2, 2015 via mobile

First time in Rio and loved it. I am still at the hotel. The staff are brilliant the location is superb. We have wanted to do a couple of things and the staff have advised us how to get there by taxi always helpful. The breakfast is good too plenty for everyone. Only down side is the rooftop bar we went up for a drink and although the bar was open there was no one there to serve us so we left there disappointed. Would I come back absolutely. There are plenty of bars and restaurants near by and only a 5 min walk to the beach.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Danny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HenriqueAbreuB, Gerente at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your complete review and for choosing Mar Ipanema Hotel for your vacations in Rio de Janeiro.

I’m quite happy to know that you found our location prime. As you pointed out, we are a stone’s throw away from Ipanema beach and a short walk from the lagoon, in a the upscale residential neighborhood of Ipanema.

I’m happy to know you found our breakfast delicious. Did you try the Brazilian delicacies that are served there, such as pão-de-queijo, matte, tropical fruits and many more?

Also, I would like to especially thank you for your kind words on our staff. They are all very dedicated, serving our guests with passion and enthusiasm and a review like this is a motivation for us to keep on giving our best everyday!

We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Henrique de Abreu
Mar Ipanema Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 27, 2015 via mobile

The location is unbeatable! We stayed 5 nights and were very happy with the hotel and it's great location. The Devassa bar downstairs was a good surprise for us, we enjoyed very much the lively atmosphere there.
Only one thing to be improved is the housekeeping. Everyday we came from the beach around 4 pm and the room was still not cleaned. I found the cleaning time very late (up to 6pm) and also the housekeeping is very uneven. Some days the room was tidied, some days only the beds were done. It's not a great deal but would love to see it improved up to 4 star standards.
Overall we were very happy with our choice and would definitely return!

Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
Thank DSS_Willow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HenriqueAbreuB, Gerente at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Mar Ipanema Hotel for you vacations in Rio de Janeiro and for your candid comments..

I’m truly glad that you both enjoyed our Armazém Devassa restaurant and its craft beers and breakfast.

Good to know you enjoyed our prime location! As you mentioned, Mar Ipanema Hotel is located just two blocks away from the wonderful Ipanema beach in the fancy residential district of Ipanema, being surrounded by the best restaurants and trendiest shops in town.

At last, I apologize for the inconvenience caused by the housekeeping timing. During high season, and specifically during Carnival, not many guests vacate their rooms early, which leave most of rooms to be cleaned later than usual.

Again, thank you very much for your kind words. We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Henrique de Abreu
Mar Ipanema Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 19, 2015

From arriving hours early during the highest season (Carnaval 2015) and still allowing me to check in, to attending to the smallest need, offering every service you could need, even after we had checked out, the manager and staff went the extra mile to make us feel special. I wouldn't necessarily say this is a solid 4 star hotel, only based on its smaller size and lack of swimming pool, but it certainly deserves a 4 star quality in service. Also their food is excellent, the buffet is good if you are the type who goes for seconds, and for those who don't, the a la carte menu offers some fantastic options (seafood is excellent).

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank LuisLazaballet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HenriqueAbreuB, Gerente at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your complete review. At Mar Ipanema Hotel we take very much in consideration our guests’ reviews in order to improve our services.

We would like to especially thank you for your kind words on our staff. They are all very dedicated, serving our guests with passion and enthusiasm and a review like this is a motivation for us to keep on giving our best everyday!

I’m happy to know you found our breakfast delicious. Did you try the Brazilian delicacies that are served there, such as pão-de-queijo, matte, tropical fruits and many more?

Once again, I would like to thank you very much for your complete and amazing review. At Mar Ipanema Hotel we take very much our guests’ feedback in consideration in order to improve our services and receiving complete reviews like yours is really helpful. We hope to see you soon again.

Best regards,

Henrique de Abreu
Mar Ipanema Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews