We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,552)
Filter reviews
1,552 results
Traveller rating
369
736
310
91
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
369
736
310
91
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location plunge pool hotel is located small pool breakfast was included sugarloaf mountain decent hotel air conditioning fresh fruit copacabana rooftop rio gym arpoador minibar banks
Filter
Updating list...
124 - 129 of 1,552 reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2015 via mobile

This clean and comfortable Hotel is located in the southside of Copacabana and just a short walk from Ipanema Beach!
The neighbourhood seemed quiet safe to us and you'll get an awesome view over The beach and the Sugarloaf.
Not necessary to mention, that breakfast is great (like it is used to be all over Brasil).
Recommended!

Date of stay: November 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank Oliver I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 17, 2015

We chose the Orla due to it's beach location & the fact that it could accommodate our party of 12. After reading the reviews online I asked for a room at the back due to street noise from the front rooms. We checked into a room at the back on the 9th floor, the noise from outside was minimal however, the walls are so thin that we could hear the people in the room next door chatting in the bathroom! The cleaning was quite poor in the bathrooms & the room generally looked very tired & dated. We did manage to access the free wifi in the room.The pool on the rooftop is very very small...think plunge pool! There was a shortage of sunbeds for the amount of people using the facility too. Great view across Copacabana from the rooftop! The dining room is very small, but the buffet style breakfast included was very good with lovely fresh fruit every morning. Staff in the dining room & bell boys were very good, but the reception staff need to put a smile on their faces! They were especially miserable on the morning we checked out & didn't even bother to ask if we'd enjoyed our stay with them or thank us for our custom. Luckily we didn't spend much time in the hotel, it is metres from the beach & shops around the corner. Taxis are readily available outside the hotel. The best thing about the hotel is its location.

Room tip: Best views high up at front, but noisy. Quieter at the back higher up but terrible views!
Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 16, 2015

The hotel is very clean and the staff are not the smiliest I've seen but they sure do a great job answering all the questions we had and recommending places to go. The breakfast brings much added value to the hotel, it's delicious and very complete!

The location was superb! It's right in the middle of Copacabana and Ipanema and you just have to cross the street to get to the beautiful beach!

FYI - Personally don't think a room with a beach front view is super necessary because it's not like you are going to spend much time in the hotel when you go on vacation. The room windows are small and don't have balconies. The beds were delicious, we had a great rest. The pool is 3x3 meters so its more like a jacuzzi sized pool. Don't be fooled by wifi..you have a paid option and a free option. We always chose the free one (it expires every 24hrs) and it worked just fine!

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank SylvanaA372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 29, 2015

Everyone is right when they say that the Orla is in a perfect location, because it is! We booked this from the UK some months back as two rooms, with an unbelievably low price. However, the rooms were on the second floor with just a glimpse of sky if you looked directly up between the buildings, but we weren't here to sit in the room all day and the rooms had everything you would want except for facilities to make hot drinks. The breakfast is excellent, a wide range and very fresh, you can easily stock yourself up for the day!
Some tips: The small TV remote will change the language to English if you press the green 'Audio' button - Never take any notice of the weather forecast for Rio on Google, it said it would rain all week and we didn't get a drop of it - Use the yellow taxis, they are really cheap, but write down on a piece of paper where you want to go - Buy Havaianas flip-flops as they average about £5 a pair - Drink the local cocktail Caipirinha, yum!

Room tip: Any, wouldn't bother with a sea view as there are no balconies!
Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DBLT2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 28, 2015

My friend and I stayed for 4 nights and overall it was a pleasant experience. This hotel is right in between copacabana and ipanema. It is super close to postal 6 and in a more (relatively) safer location. It is the nicer ones we could find for a reasonable price around the area.

Pro:
-Very friendly and knowledgeable staff! As Rio is quite dangerous, staffs will always provide you tips and encourage you to take the safest travel route possible.
-Ideal location. It is right on the beach. It seriously took me like 10 second to cross the road to get to the beach.
-free breakfast with lots of selections. Make sure you get down before 10am as that's when breakfast ends!
-Easy to hail a cab

Con:
-the room got sandy fast, and doesn't seem like it was vacuumed thoroughly.
-sauna isn't great
-wifi is very unstable. They had two options "Orla Hotel" and "Hotel Orla". I found that I had to constantly switch between the two a couple of times to get internet. At least it is free.

As Rio is a very dangerous place after sun set, we had to stay in the hotel in the evening for the 2 nights when we weren't with our local friends. So it was really nice that this hotel has a gym, roof top pool with panoramic view and a restaurant.

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank dancingbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews