We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Rates, Nice Location and Service”
Review of Real Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Real Palace Hotel
Ranked #108 of 281 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good Rates, Nice Location and Service”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

The hotel is very nice, they serve a great breakfast. It is a small old building near Copacabana beach and the subway. The staff was helpful, the room was clean and comfortable and they offer some good facilities... I'd definetely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewsvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    109
    85
    12
    6
See reviews for
53
79
15
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

This hotel is situated near to the Copacabana beach but off the main street. It is very clean and the rooms are spacious with good facilities. The breakfast is very good with a good variety and lots of lovely fresh fruit, very good value for money. The staff do not speak great English but are helpful. The hotel bar is small and not routinely staffed. This is a great hotel at a good price for visiting Copacabana

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Von1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leamignton spa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2010

As this was the first hotel we had stayed in Brazil, we were not sure what to expect and we had to book something quickly as we were caught up with the volcanic ash business and the hotel we originally booked was full. So we kind of had the attitude beggars can't be choosers and it was not a completely terrible experience with very good breakfast staff (I think they deserve a mention) until it came to checking out - when an r$849 bill was eventually found to be less than r&749!! This was finally agreed on after lots of blatent attempts to rip us off and us having quite an unpleasant morning arguing the toss about made up charges...

An example of this was that although I had booked through bookings.com and thought I had an agreed price, it turned out there was a further 15% to be added to the bill. 5% was payable it turned out and this was covertly stated in the email I recieved as confirmation from bookings and this we were of course prepared to pay - but the reception manager had also put a 10% charge on there. I then had to go to an internet cafe and print off the confirmation email to prove to him that this 10% needed taking off - he then decided that we had only paid for a single room and therefore the cost needed to be upped to a double room - all utter nonsense.

This was a completely unnecessary (as the hotel is WAY overpriced anyway) and horrible start to a day when people are on holiday. Apart from this the hotel was very unremarkable anyway - you are much better going to the copocabana mar across the road diagonally from the real palace - nice staff and some lovely rooms and was actually cheaper r$240 taxes and extras included :)

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sherida4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2010

My boyfriend and I visited Rio this March (2010). We booked a room in Real Palace hotel online. We really enjoyed our staying there - the staff was very friendly and helpful, the rooms clean and the breakfast delicious.
The hotel is close to everything - the Copacabana beach is 3 min walk -at the end of Duvivier street. The subway is 5 min walk. There are various buses coming and going all the time - very easy to reach all the important places - Corcovado, the Sugar Loaf Mountain, Ipanema beach, Botafogo shopping mall, airport, Rodoviaria bus station etc.
After Rio we wanted to continue our trip in Brazil - so we left a few things in the hotel - so we could pick them up after the trip. The hotel will save one's things for 6 months - no charge.
If we'll ever come back to Rio, we'll definitely stay in Real Palace hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Evie_EF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2006

I have been staying at the Real Palace hotel at Rua Duvivier, 70 - Copacabana, for many years. It all started with a tip of a friend who lives right around the corner.

The hotel is located 2 blocks from Copacabana beach (5 minutes walk) and a 3 minute walk to the Copacabana Palace hotel - the grand old dame on the beach. Rua Duvivier is a quieter street between Avenida Nossa Senhora da Copacabana and Rua Barata Ribeiro. You may hear a bit noise through the closed windows but its minor and the street really calms down at night.

Rooms have a decent size, bathrooms are comfortable and make use of natural stone (sort granit type). Bathrooms come with shower (spaceful shower..).Ample space for luggage. Cable TV with CNN and BBC World. Airco a bit loud but thats the case for most Rio hotels.

Rooftop provides a super-mini pool - more a tub - with sunchairs and a view over the roofs of Copacabana and into the mountains in the back.

Breakfast with fresh daily fruits and juices. Good assortment of cheeses, ham, cakes, American breakfast style (bacon, scrambled eggs, sausages).

The restaurant is very busy at lunchtime with local businessmen since it offers a nice lunch buffet and a la carte lunch.

The metro to downtown Rio is 5 minutes footwalk from the hotel. Buses to Ipanema and Leblon are 300 m away.

Staff is very friendly and helpful - one reason why I have returned so many times over the years. The hotel was always a sort "home away from home".

If you are looking for a comfortable hotel with friendly staff in a good location at a reasonable price you may want to try this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Meyersson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Copacabana Mar Hotel
Copacabana Mar Hotel
#94 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Copacabana
Mirasol Copacabana Hotel
Mirasol Copacabana Hotel
#98 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Copacabana
Ibiza Copacabana Hotel
Ibiza Copacabana Hotel
#160 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Mirador Rio Hotel
Mirador Rio Hotel
#88 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Copacabana
Hotel Astoria Copacabana
Hotel Astoria Copacabana
#110 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Copacabana
Royalty Rio Hotel
Royalty Rio Hotel
#135 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real Palace Hotel

Property: Real Palace Hotel
Address: Rua Duvivier 70 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22020-020, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 281 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Real Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Otel, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Real Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Palace Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing