We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Real Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Royal Rio Palace Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Ibis Copacabana Posto 2(Rio de Janeiro)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Copacabana Mar Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mirasol Copacabana Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Praia Lido Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Rio Lancaster(Rio de Janeiro)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Atlantico Praia(Rio de Janeiro)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Ibiza Copacabana Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (311)
Filter reviews
311 results
Traveller rating
90
114
87
14
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
114
87
14
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmetro stationcopacabana beachgreat locationenjoyed our stayroom was clean
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 311 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2012

This hotel is situated near to the Copacabana beach but off the main street. It is very clean and the rooms are spacious with good facilities. The breakfast is very good with a good variety and lots of lovely fresh fruit, very good value for money. The staff do not speak great English but are helpful. The hotel bar is small and not routinely staffed. This is a great hotel at a good price for visiting Copacabana

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Von1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2010

As this was the first hotel we had stayed in Brazil, we were not sure what to expect and we had to book something quickly as we were caught up with the volcanic ash business and the hotel we originally booked was full. So we kind of had the attitude beggars can't be choosers and it was not a completely terrible experience with very good breakfast staff (I think they deserve a mention) until it came to checking out - when an r$849 bill was eventually found to be less than r&749!! This was finally agreed on after lots of blatent attempts to rip us off and us having quite an unpleasant morning arguing the toss about made up charges...

An example of this was that although I had booked through bookings.com and thought I had an agreed price, it turned out there was a further 15% to be added to the bill. 5% was payable it turned out and this was covertly stated in the email I recieved as confirmation from bookings and this we were of course prepared to pay - but the reception manager had also put a 10% charge on there. I then had to go to an internet cafe and print off the confirmation email to prove to him that this 10% needed taking off - he then decided that we had only paid for a single room and therefore the cost needed to be upped to a double room - all utter nonsense.

This was a completely unnecessary (as the hotel is WAY overpriced anyway) and horrible start to a day when people are on holiday. Apart from this the hotel was very unremarkable anyway - you are much better going to the copocabana mar across the road diagonally from the real palace - nice staff and some lovely rooms and was actually cheaper r$240 taxes and extras included :)

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sherida4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2010

My boyfriend and I visited Rio this March (2010). We booked a room in Real Palace hotel online. We really enjoyed our staying there - the staff was very friendly and helpful, the rooms clean and the breakfast delicious.
The hotel is close to everything - the Copacabana beach is 3 min walk -at the end of Duvivier street. The subway is 5 min walk. There are various buses coming and going all the time - very easy to reach all the important places - Corcovado, the Sugar Loaf Mountain, Ipanema beach, Botafogo shopping mall, airport, Rodoviaria bus station etc.
After Rio we wanted to continue our trip in Brazil - so we left a few things in the hotel - so we could pick them up after the trip. The hotel will save one's things for 6 months - no charge.
If we'll ever come back to Rio, we'll definitely stay in Real Palace hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Evie_EF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2006

I have been staying at the Real Palace hotel at Rua Duvivier, 70 - Copacabana, for many years. It all started with a tip of a friend who lives right around the corner.

The hotel is located 2 blocks from Copacabana beach (5 minutes walk) and a 3 minute walk to the Copacabana Palace hotel - the grand old dame on the beach. Rua Duvivier is a quieter street between Avenida Nossa Senhora da Copacabana and Rua Barata Ribeiro. You may hear a bit noise through the closed windows but its minor and the street really calms down at night.

Rooms have a decent size, bathrooms are comfortable and make use of natural stone (sort granit type). Bathrooms come with shower (spaceful shower..).Ample space for luggage. Cable TV with CNN and BBC World. Airco a bit loud but thats the case for most Rio hotels.

Rooftop provides a super-mini pool - more a tub - with sunchairs and a view over the roofs of Copacabana and into the mountains in the back.

Breakfast with fresh daily fruits and juices. Good assortment of cheeses, ham, cakes, American breakfast style (bacon, scrambled eggs, sausages).

The restaurant is very busy at lunchtime with local businessmen since it offers a nice lunch buffet and a la carte lunch.

The metro to downtown Rio is 5 minutes footwalk from the hotel. Buses to Ipanema and Leblon are 300 m away.

Staff is very friendly and helpful - one reason why I have returned so many times over the years. The hotel was always a sort "home away from home".

If you are looking for a comfortable hotel with friendly staff in a good location at a reasonable price you may want to try this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Meyersson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: quartos otimos
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews