We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (378)
Filter reviews
378 results
Traveller rating
31
123
137
51
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
123
137
51
36
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 378 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for six nights over Carnaval. They upgraded us as soon as we arrived. The room we got was large with a really nice bathroom and the main window overlooked the Main Street but it was still quiet despite being on the second floor. The room was cleaned immaculately every single day, probably the best cleaning service I've had in a hotel.

Front desk were always very helpful and friendly. They helped us get taxis and buses around Rio. Victor was especially friendly and helpful, giving us the best greeting we could ask for! There is a bus stop straight across the road and the location of the hotel is second to none. Near a gorgeous beach (2 blocks) in Ipanema, beside a great supermarket and numerous other stores and pharmacies. We really enjoyed our stay in San Marco.

If you are coming from the airport the 2018 bus drops you in Ipanema (stop 10), for €1 (4 RS), two blocks from the hotel.

Stayed: February 2016
Thank LioDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2015

It is a good hotel, the staff is fantastic, very helpful. It's in the heart of Ipanema, a traditional and considered "chic point". It's near the beach and there are lovely places to go drinking and eating. It's not an expensive hotel. It's worth it.

Stayed: July 2015
Thank EmilianoJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 21, 2015

This is one of the more affordable hotels near the beach in Ipanema. It's a proper hotel and has a nice enough breakfast. Lots of restaurants and shops around.

Still, it was quite overpriced for what we got. I suppose that's because it's only one block from the beach.

The room was OK, but it was small (even though superior), worn and the airco didn't work properly. The window was too small. It's ok for a day or two, but I wouldn't want to stay here for an entire holiday.

It's closer to the Lebron end so it's a little far from Gen. Osorio metro and the rua Farme de Amoede area.

I'm not sure whether to give it a 2/5 or a 3/5. However, when I think how much I paid for it, the answer is obvious: 2/5

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank zwerf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2015

Stayed here at short notice at busy season so were grateful for the available room. Facilities quite basic, room was a touch depressing as very little natural light and huge pillar in the middle. Did however have a great night's sleep. Breakfast was correct, standard Brazilian breakfast of cold meats, cheeses, bread rolls, fresh fruit. Location great for Ipanema and beach. Would stay here again, but in a better room.

Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 21, 2015

Excellent front staff, very clean and tidy, reasonable breakfast. However, air-conditioners in room do not cool it at all. The air cons are very small for the room size. When we complained they moved us to a 3-beds room and it was horrible. The 3rd bed wud never get any air. Even at 25 deg Celsius - the rooms are not livable.
Worse, the owner Anna knows it. If you enter hotel, they have one of the largest a/c to trap the visitor. However, the owner refuses to invest and replace the a/c.
So, you can have goid staff and breakfast but not good sleep.
Unfortunately, for us this was Carnaval time and nowhere else to go. We had to chose between sleeping on the beach. Hence we were forced to stay here and suffer.
Again 5* to the front staff for excellent hospitality.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Sam2009CAUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews