We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (398)
Filter reviews
398 results
Traveller rating
32
131
143
51
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
131
143
51
41
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 398 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2016

The hotel is small, but the room was very clean and not noisy at all. Friendly employees. Free breakfast was good enough with fruits, juices, coffee, pastries, bread, cheese, a good variety and a nice breakfast area. The location of the hotel is the best you could ask for in the upscale Ipanema neighborhood, 2 blocks from the beach and close to all the buzz and shopping. Great price for the superb location.

Room tip: top floor is probably better, quieter.
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AndyB0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 20, 2016 via mobile

Literally the toilet is beneath the shower, you can actually shower and *** at the same time. Air conditioning was not strong enough, it was clean enough, but in general, was not a very pleasant experience. The bed fits the whole room area, there is no room for anything else.

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Erosas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 28, 2016

Like most of Rio, the San Marco was overpriced during Carnaval, but it was much nicer than we expected based on the reviews here. The rooms were very clean and well laid out (lots of shelf space). The standard room had a large, glass-doored shower (not the simple drain on the floor I had feared). The staff was very helpful, and the breakfast buffet was fantastic. They continually replenish and don't clear things away if you arrive just before breakfast ends (10 a.m.). Wifi is only in the lobby, which is inconvenient. The neighborhood is very safe. The beach is two blocks away. They don't have beach towels, but don't mind if you take the towel from your room.

Room tip: Interior courtyard rooms are quiet.
Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pigaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 10, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for six nights over Carnaval. They upgraded us as soon as we arrived. The room we got was large with a really nice bathroom and the main window overlooked the Main Street but it was still quiet despite being on the second floor. The room was cleaned immaculately every single day, probably the best cleaning service I've had in a hotel.

Front desk were always very helpful and friendly. They helped us get taxis and buses around Rio. Victor was especially friendly and helpful, giving us the best greeting we could ask for! There is a bus stop straight across the road and the location of the hotel is second to none. Near a gorgeous beach (2 blocks) in Ipanema, beside a great supermarket and numerous other stores and pharmacies. We really enjoyed our stay in San Marco.

If you are coming from the airport the 2018 bus drops you in Ipanema (stop 10), for €1 (4 RS), two blocks from the hotel.

Date of stay: February 2016
Thank LioDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2015

It is a good hotel, the staff is fantastic, very helpful. It's in the heart of Ipanema, a traditional and considered "chic point". It's near the beach and there are lovely places to go drinking and eating. It's not an expensive hotel. It's worth it.

Date of stay: July 2015
Thank EmilianoJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews