We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 a.m. - 5:30 p.m.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Santa Teresa Tram
from US$59.00
More Info
from US$149.00
More Info
from US$145.00
More Info
from US$72.00
More Info
Reviews (759)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveller rating
29
37
16
4
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
37
16
4
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lapa arches parque das ruinas nice ride couple of hours ticket office aqueduct neighborhood bonde tourists dos cobblestone valuables thieves queue paintings steep portuguese
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 101 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The tram ride is nice. A bit rickety from the tram station near Carioca metro up the Lapa Arches and ends at Largo do Franco where it turns and comes back down. We stopped at Largo do Curvelo to visit the Parque Das Ruinas. Cost is R20 for a return trip.

Thank Khatulistiwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 5, 2018

I used to ride on this tram for free I'm not sure why, maybe because I was a tourist but it's well worth the ride if you're headed in the direction of Carioca metro station which is just around the corner if you take a left out of the station. It's an integral part of Santa Teresa's identity and can't imagine a trip to Rio without taking at least one trip on the Bonde. I hope it continues to be maintained and can only wish that it goes on to be as useful and economical to locals as it is to tourists.

Thank Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2018

As i said it is a short run, but you must do it.

The tram start from RIO downtown and climb up the step road of the Santa Teresa neighbours.

It is an Iconic tour of an Iconic zone of RIO it is a must, and take this short tour this way, not judging how long it is. But feel RIO as it really is.

You may also take the train to get the Santa Teresa "Scalinata Selarón", but in this case take care, because when you'll leave the tram, you have to walk about 400 meters on the border of a favela, and is better not to be alone, do it during morning hours absolutely not in the evening, not bring with you any value.

But Even risky a little, you'll feel RIO at all !

1  Thank PhStrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 17, 2018

On my last few visits to Rio the Tram has been closed now open and it is all that the guide books tell you. Up over The Lappa viaduct and up the hill to Santa Teresa. The when in Santa Teresa go to one of the traditional Brazilian restaurants.

Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 23, 2018 via mobile

Better to pay a cab or private ride service than to pay R$20 for less than a 30-minute ride, as you at least have the chance to hear something about the area, as there's no touristic guides on the ride. If the aim os to appreciate the view there's no need to pay that fortune on a tram ride. If you pick the tram before the last, even paying the 20 bucks, theres no guarantee you will be able to embark on the last ride, as the tram is also used by the residents, and the only thing they do about it is warn you.

1  Thank Luccas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 1, 2018 via mobile

Nice tram route, it was a hot day, it was good to hop in and out around santa Teresa area. I bought a R20 ticket. Get to relax a little like a local.santa Teresa is much safer area. It's better not during carnival time.

Thank A. L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 28, 2018

If you want to feel like a local, take the tram and a view of the city and surroundings. It is the local transport.

Thank Tammy U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 4, 2018 via mobile

I didn’t have any of the bad experiences of recent reviews. The ticket office was clearly marked and had the price displayed. The guy accepted my 20 note without a problem.

The queue at both the bottom and top was managed and orderly and there was a tram every 15-20 mins.

Santa Teresa is a very artistic area so there are craft type shops with paintings and stuff at the top. Plus some bars/restaurants.

There’s nothing amazing but for less than £5 it was worth the trip.

1  Thank GCarnaffan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 28, 2017 via mobile

A part of this historic tram line has reopened recently following a major accident due to poor maintenance. Unfortunately it is only a short section of about 2km & operates to Santa Teresa which despite the brochures is hardly an exciting destination just a couple of non-descript shops/bars. It is essentially a tourist trip as no locals use it due to its steep price of 20 Real. You certainly can get good views on the way up & you can get off part way at a major viewpoint at Parque Ruinas. There are many more interesting things to do in Rio than this.

2  Thank zenonSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 16, 2017

The information at the station and on the trams is confusing but the route only goes to Largo do Guimarães. It's an enjoyable if rather unremarkable 10-15 minute ride and although pleasant enough, there wasn't much to see at Santa Teresa on the day we went - most places were closed. So, an ok way to spend a couple of hours and R20 per person if you go on the right day. However, beware.........the guy on the ticket office tried to rip us off. He insisted the fare had increased to R30 and tried to make out that an R100 note I gave him was R10. We paid R30 each but on our return we saw the signs saying R20 and assertively challenged him (in very rudimentary Portuguese) and he quickly gave us R20 back having clearly been found out and afraid we would report him. Not a pleasant experience.

Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews