We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, hospitality, and amenities”
Review of Windsor Copa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Windsor Copa Hotel
Ranked #43 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great location, hospitality, and amenities”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a total of 3 nights and had nothing but great experiences. Location is super close to the beach (2 blocks). Free wifi. Great breakfast with fresh food and fruit juices. There is a gym in the top floor that I used one night, super convenient. A tip: we got a pretty good exchange rate at the lobby (dollars to reals), better than banks and some exchange places along the street. Only real down side was the thin walls, but did not affect our rest. Would recommend and definitely return!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlenS400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonaSamir, Gerente geral at Windsor Copa Hotel, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your preference while choosing Windsor Copa!
Thank you also for your compliments regarding our delicious breakfast, with a large variety of fresh seasonal fruits and juices. I am glad you have enjoyed our location, in the very heart Copacabana , 1 block from the beach and from the great restaurants and stores of the área.
We hope to welcome you back in Rio soon.

Sincerely,

Mona Samir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    493
    107
    13
    10
See reviews for
206
340
62
217
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Perfect stay for a week long get-away. The hotels location is primo! Step out of the door, hang two quick lefts and your at the beach in 3 minutes if that. There are grocery and convinience stores within a block of the hotel. The entrance and lobby are nicely appointed, the door staff were always available and attentive, the front desk personnel were always helpful and courteous! Our room was super clean, modern modular furnishings, mini fridge, nice bathroom, flat screen, safe, desk, closet, free-wifi, fabulous water pressure. I will say that the rooms are not totally sound proofed but nothing kept me awake. (this is why I took off the 1 star) Now I will concurr that the rooms were not large but I really don't understand the issues with the rooms being small per other reviews. Your in an urban environment and I've stayed at hotels in NYC that cost way more and were smaller...The daily breakfast buffet which is included was great to me. Bacon, sausage, eggs, quiche, petite grilled ham and cheese sandwich's, assorted fresh fruits, yogurt, cereals, juices, coffee, tea, and assorted cold meats and cheeses...Overall, I loved staying at this hotel and would definately stay again...just remember, when you need a taxi make sure you ask for a metered taxi...there was one bell man that wanted to call a private car. (there is alway one in the bunch but hey...you are in Brazil!)

Room Tip: Get a room towards the back of the hotel and on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mssalahuddin7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonaSamir, Gerente geral at Windsor Copa Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for your motivating and helpful feedback! It is a pleasure to hear that you were satisfied with our service. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our breakfast, room and location.
Also, I would like to thank you for your lovely comment about the all staff. We will be informing all of them of your positive observations to motivate them even further.

We all look forward to welcome you again on your next visit to Rio.
Do not hesitate to contact us for any request.

Sincerely,

Mona Samir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman, OK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

If you need a nice and affordable place to stay go to Windsor Copa. It's located in the middle of Copacabana. The rooms are clean and modern. Good bathroom.The staff is nice and helpful. Important thing - internet is free, though more expensive places around charge about $30 per day.Good breakfast too!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OKIrisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonaSamir, Gerente geral at Windsor Copa Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear guets,

we would like to thank you for choosing and recommending the Windsor Copa Hotel.
I'm glad that you have enjoyed the various aspects of our hotel, such as the varied breakfast with a large selection of fruits, juices and breads; our location, free wi fi and service.
We appreciate your comments and we hope to welcome you back in Rio soon!

Sincerely,

Mona Samir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman, OK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

If you happen to be in Rio and wants to stay in a nice and affordable place you can choose Windsor Copa. It's located in the middle of Copacabana. It is clean and modern. The rooms are not large but it is not bad for the price. The internet is free, while more expensive places around charge about $30 per day. Good breakfast is included. The staff is nice and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OKIrisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonaSamir, Gerente geral at Windsor Copa Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear guest,

we are grateful for being your choice in Rio de Janeiro and for taking time to publish your experience here.
I am very happy to hear how much you have enjoyed our breakfast menu, with a large selection of fresh fruits and juices. It's also nice to hear that you have enjoyed our service, location and the courtesy wifi internet accessible throughout the hotel.
We all hope to welcome you back at Windsor Copa soon.

My kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

In a city of high priced hotel rooms, it was challenging to find a good option with gym near the beach which fit our budget. On the website, Windsor Copa looked like a decent average hotel and it proved to be just that. The hotel décor is super outdated and bland. The room was on the small side and there was only one night table, but the bed was comfortable and there was a nice balcony with peek a boo view of Christ the Redeemer. The bathroom was small, but the shower was big and there was a lot of counter space. The wi fi was fast and the TV had a few English language channels. There was a mini fridge, but it would have been good to also have a hot water pot as many hotels do. The gym was small but had top-of-the-line LifeFitness cardio equipment, one resistance machine, a giant TV, and great air con. One wall was a mirror and one was glass, so it gave the illusion of space. The location was good - one block from the beach and close to restaurants and a grocery store. One thing we rate poor was the food. The breakfast buffet (included in the room rate) had good fresh fruit, cereal, yogurt, breads, and pastries, but all of the cooked food was greasy, heavy, and not tasty. We ordered room service one night and everything was below average. The staff was helpful and the room was very clean. Windsor Copa is a good option if you seek an affordable hotel in pricey Copacabana and don’t care too much about the décor, room size, and food.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 12th floor (top floor) and there was a balcony. I don’t think rooms on all floors h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoriBarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonaSamir, Gerente geral at Windsor Copa Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear guest,

we would like to thank you for choosing the Windsor Copa on your recent trip to Rio and also for taking your time to help us through your comments. I'm glad that you have enjoyed our location, free wi-fi and the services provided by our staff!
We appreciate your comments and we hope to welcome you back in Rio soon.

Sincerely,

Mona Samir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

I have to say that both my husband and I were sick during our 6 night stay in Rio and therefore had to remain in our room much more than expected. This is probably why we paid very much attention to the room, which was -- as everybody else said -- very tiny and absolutely bland. Ours (2nd floor) had a view on a wall between walls and was therefore very dark and smelling a bit dump. In addition to this, the noise from the water (?) pipes was terrible and woke us up at night a couple of times. The bathroom was of a decent size.
Apart from that, location was great and staff extremely professional. Breakfast was also very good. The housekeeping service was excellent-- very polite and kind ladies. We also had room service 3 times and the food was good and the service very quick (20 minutes). Price-wise the restaurant was ok, although I found Rio to be very expensive in general.
One thing that I did not like at all was the fact that one day before arrival I received an email from booking.com informing me that the credit card information provided upon booking (nearly one month earlier) was incorrect and if not clarified before a certain set time my booking would have been cancelled. I called the hotel immediately and found out that indeed I had made a mistake with one of the digits but still I was very annoyed that this was communicated to me via email and only one day before. What would have happened should I have had no access to my email?
Overall I would still recommend the hotel. Having read reviews on Tripadvisor before booking I was not expecting anything fancy, so if it is location you are after this is a great hotel which is fairly priced for Copacabana.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antigoneCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonaSamir, Gerente geral at Windsor Copa Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your preference while choosing Windsor Copa!
Thank you also for your compliments regarding our delicious breakfast, with a large variety of fresh seasonal fruits and juices. I am glad you have enjoyed our location, in the very heart Copacabana , 1 block from the beach and from the great restaurants and stores of the area, as much as you enjoyed the service provided by our staff.
We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon!

Sincerely,

Mona Samir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
217 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I stayed at the Windsor Copa for one night on business, in good measure due to its better-than-average gym facilities. (Then I ended up so busy I never used them!) It is located only one block off of Copacabana Beach. My room as nice (especially the bathroom) but the decor is extremely bland. My staff were nice and always helpful in hailing me cabs. I would stay there again on business but not go there for a romantic weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maskotas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonaSamir, Gerente geral at Windsor Copa Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing the Windsor Copa on your recent trip to Rio, and also for taking your time to help us through your comments. I'm sure that they will be of great value to other tripadvisor travelers.
If you have any suggestions to improve our services it will be a pleasure to hear from you again.

Sincerely,
Mona Samir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Windsor Palace Hotel
Windsor Palace Hotel
#30 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Excelsior Hotel
Windsor Excelsior Hotel
#31 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Martinique Hotel
Windsor Martinique Hotel
#37 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#21 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,840 reviews
Copacabana
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana
#49 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Copacabana
Best Western Plus Copacabana Design Hotel
Best Western Plus Copacabana Des...
#38 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Copa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Copa Hotel

Property: Windsor Copa Hotel
Address: Av. Nossa Senhora De Copacabana 335, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22020-002, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#14 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#14 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Windsor Copa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Windsor Copa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Copa Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing