We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Windsor Martinique Hotel
Ranked #33 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Brazil
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

The Windsor Martinique is a small three star hotel. It is very well located, one block from Copacabana beach, the Cantagalo metro stop and with plenty of restaurants at walking distance.
The rooms are not big, but have enough space. They were very clean, nice and new.
The hotel has free wifi in public areas and cable internet in the rooms . The breakfast is very good, although the area in which it is served is very small, therefore I advise you to go early (we went down at eight o'clock and never had to get on line to have breakfast, but we did see people that woke up later waiting on line to get into the breakfast area).
They do not have a business center in which to print boarding passes, for example, but they do it as a courtesy depending on the number of pages (maximum 5).
They have beach service too (towels and umbrellas). Overall it was a very good experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thaïs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    556
    162
    23
    9
See reviews for
151
518
85
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We only stayed two nights on our first trip to Brazil. The hotel was nice for the price and the location was perfect. While not quite on the beach, but it was just down the block. You can see the beach from some rooms. It was hotter than average for March in Rio and the A/C in the room wasn't the best. They use a system that requires you to keep a room key in a panel by the door to keep the lights and A/C on. I'd recommend keeping one key in there all the time to cool the room down. Otherwise the lights and A/C turn off a few minutes after the key is removed and won't turn back on until the key is placed back. Overall though, a nice hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Really good Hotel. Great location near the Ipenema end of Copacabana beach (400m from water). Great Breakfast, hotel staff were really friendly and around 50Real in a Taxi to the airport. Much better value than most Hotels in Rio and would reccomend to anyone.

Room Tip: You got to have exec room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyC742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We stayed here for the final night of a three week trip to South America. We had already spent 4 nights in Rio, in Santa Teresa, but were flying home late the next day so thought somewhere near Copacabana might be a better bet for easy access on our last day.

I spent a significant amount of time trying to find a reasonably priced hotel near Copacabana/Ipanema - the reviews on here did not seem to be particularly glowing, given the prices charged. Windsor Martinique was at the better end both in terms of reviews and price, and it is indeed well-located one block from Copacabana, towards the Ipanema end. However, if this is one of the better hotels in the area I wonder what those with lower ratings are like.

We stayed in a standard room, which was quite small, with an unattractive view and rather old-fashioned decor. However, it was exceptionally clean. Rather annoyingly (and surprisingly, for a hotel of this size), they only have wifi in the lobby and there is no computer for guests to use; we were left using our phones to try and check-in for our flight home.

The "fitness centre" consists of a small room with a few exercise machines, and the roof top pool/terrace has restricted views of the beach.

On the upside, the staff were very helpful, and we were able to leave our bags securely all day while we waited for our evening flight. The breakfast was reasonable, with a good choice and attentive staff.

This would be an excellent hotel if it was half the price, but having paid £140 for a night I would expect a lot more. However, given the high prices in the area, perhaps expecting more is unrealistic - in future I would stick to Santa Teresa, which is an interesting and cheaper neighbourhood!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel84London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We had already paid for four nights through an agent but ended up staying only one. We were put in a tiny shoebox room with a small window looking onto an alleyway. The room was noisy, the bed was very uncomfortable and the receptionists were disinterested. We moved to a much, much better hotel across town.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maisie1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevy Chase, MD
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

If a hotel right on the Copacabana with a view of the beach from your window are “musts,” the Windsor Martinique Hotel isn’t the hotel for you in Rio. But if you’d be happy with a modern--recently refurbished--comfortable room (small but inclusive of all essential amenities, including a fridge and a stylist bathroom), along with an uncharacteristically reasonable nightly rate, a great location, and impeccable service, go for this one! In light of high hotel rates, often paired with less than stellar quality, of many Rio hotels--particularly those located in Copacabana and Ipanema--the Windsor Martinique, located on a side street just a block away from the Copacabana strip, is a true find. My husband and I stayed in this hotel in November 2011. We found excellent restaurants nearby and had no hesitation in walking from our hotel to the Copacabana beach, even after dark. We also walked to Ipanema (a long but manageable walk) in the daytime. The rooms are small and none have beach views. But the best way to enjoy Copacabana is not looking out the window from one’s room anyway. And that minor drawback is more than compensated for by the convenient location, the accommodating staff, the unbeatable nightly rate, and the five-star sumptuous breakfast buffet feast, served in a well-appointed white-tablecloth dining area. (Note: there is a postage-stamp-sized pool on the roof, which we did not use.)

Room Tip: Ask for one of the larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberta44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, BC
Level 6 Contributor
459 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We stayed 5 nights at WM and found the service very good, room was compact but comfortable, clean and quiet. Breakfast, one of the best of our trip. Location is close but not on the beach (one block away) and convenient for alternate transportation. Concierge spoke limited English and front desk spoke English and both were very helpful. WM advertises a pool and they do have one but it is small and only for cooling off, is on the roof. We would have no problem recommending WM. Free wi-fi but only in the restaurant and lobby area. Loved walking at night on the Copacabana Beach boardwalk. We were advised to stay off of the beach at night although we felt very safe in the area, it is well patrolled and the area is well lit with lots of other tourists and locals.

Room Tip: Be sure to indicate what type of sleeping arrangement you want as they have single beds (2 per room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulowlcourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Windsor Copa Hotel
Windsor Copa Hotel
#44 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,037 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Palace Hotel
Windsor Palace Hotel
#31 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
735 reviews
Copacabana
Merlin Copacabana Hotel
Merlin Copacabana Hotel
#27 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Golden Tulip Rio Copacabana
Golden Tulip Rio Copacabana
#52 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,882 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#21 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,876 reviews
Copacabana
Copacabana Rio Hotel
Copacabana Rio Hotel
#67 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Martinique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Martinique Hotel

Property: Windsor Martinique Hotel
Address: Rua Sa Ferreira, 30, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22071-100, Brazil (Formerly Martinique Copa Hotel)
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#32 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#33 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Windsor Martinique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Windsor Martinique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Martinique Copa
Martinique Copa Hotel
Martinique Copa Rio De Janeiro
Windsor Martinique Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing