We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,883)
Filter reviews
1,883 results
Traveller rating
933
657
203
48
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
933
657
203
48
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews luxury hotel safe area cold cuts a nice place to stay rooms are spacious rooftop pool business trip nice breakfast top floor breakfast was included beach front barra da convention rio ipanema boa
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 1,883 reviews
Reviewed February 1, 2018

The two young kids club supervisors applied physiological harassment on our 8 year old by asking him continuously if his parents forgot about him in the club, if he doesn't go on excursion or other venues, burping and farting in his presence while the male supervisor was watching videos on his phone with 'naked women dancing' as seen by our kid.
Several complaints didn't yield a result. Even when our son told them the contrary, they only smirked questioning why he would need to be at the kids club at all.
Our kid wanted to go back in order to alternate between being with us and playing with other kids.

While the front-desk was stunt when confronted with our complaint and assured us to be speaking with Management and the persons from the kids club, the GM (Mr. Marcelo Becera) dodged all meetings with me until the last day, at which time, he smiled and laughed at my request for partial refund of my fully prepaid cash deposit. I reserved directly without any online service or travel agency and only on the condition of having a kids club as desired by our child. My request to change the hotel after 3 days was replied to not have an availability in another hotel of their group.

In the USA or Europe I would have pressed charges against the hotel and the supervisors of the kids club for watching x-rated videos in presence of minors and harassing him until he was crying at which point we stopped the usage of the this facility.

The hotel is in service since 2005 and has already signs of aging quality. The main business seems to be congress events which leads to endlessly long lines in front of the elevators in morning and the afternoon.
The A/C in the hotel was always on a low temperature of 18-20 degrees Celsius making it very uncomfortable to sit in the Lobby, Bar or even the Restaurant.

Overall:
I reserved and paid for 5-star hotel service including a Kids Club which was the main reason for the reservation. Without having paid in advanced, I would have cut short my stay.

The GM's attitude (Mr. Becera) was not corresponding to the level of a major hotel chain (Windsor Hoteis).

For families traveling to Barra da Tijuca, there are much better deals available.

Room Tip: Use the neighboring Windsor Oceanica which is less than 1 year old, a 4-star hotel with higher quality for less.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sigfried K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcelo M, Gerente de recepção at Windsor Barra, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2018

Dear Guest,


We would like to thank you for the preference given to the Windsor Barra Hotel & Congress, and for bringing to our knowlegement important impressions refering to your stay here at our hotel.

Sorry for the inconvenience that occurred during your stay, and we present our sincere apologies, although we understand that nothing can recover the inconvenience caused to your precious time.

After verifying your comment we immediately took several measures, including the intensification of our training in the Kids Club department, so, the fact that you report will not occur again. Surely we still have much to improve and we are seriously focusing on the mission of the Windsor Barra to delight our guests.

Reiterating our thanks for your valuable contribution and, since now, we are waiting for the next opportunity to receive you in Rio de Janeiro, where all our staff will be at your entire disposal to guarantee the excellence of our services.


Cordially,

Marcelo Mota
Gerente de recepção

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 15, 2018

Windsor really impressed us this weekend! We just returned from Rio (wife, 3-year old daughter and I) and we were very happy with our stay at Windsor.

The hotel since the beginning were very helpful to accomodate us with the requirements we needed and nicely provided an early check-in and late check-out!

The views from the rooms and rooftop pool are simply amazing and really show the true beauty of Barra Beach!

There are beach facilities on the beach right in front of the hotel and the breakfast is amazing with loads of options!

The room fit our needs and had a nice sea view!

Overall, a great hotel to stay in!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeanOram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcelo M, Gerente de recepção at Windsor Barra, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2018

Dear guest

We thank you for choosing Windsor Barra Hotel and for bringing to our knowledge relevant impressions regarding our Hotel.

We got pleased that you were satisfied with our Hotel and the service. It is through our guests comments that we find the motivation for doing our best. And, I agree with you that the view from our pool area is outstanding!

Looking forward to your visit again!!!



Kind Regards,
Marcelo Mota
Gerente de recepção

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 5, 2017 via mobile

Upscale hotel in Barra, just in front of the beach.
Large rooms, comfortable facilities overall.
I didn’t like the decoration style overall, but it is definitely a good hotel for a business stay.
Large restaurant and good options for breakfast.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
Thank BernatDesclot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcelo M, Gerente de recepção at Windsor Barra, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2017

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for the preference given to the Windsor Barra Hotel & Congress, and for bringing to our important impressions regarding your visit to our Hotel.

It is through feedback from our guests that we try to adapt the guest needs in order to provide them an excellent stay with us.

We would like to inform you that we will forward all your comments to managers responsible for us to study the possibility of implementing new suggestions.

We reiterate our thanks for their valuable collaboration and, as of now, we await a new opportunity to meet you in Rio de Janeiro.


Regards,

Marcelo Mota
Gerente de recepção

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 24, 2017 via mobile

A little old, a little more cleaning needed, but overall it's a comfortable, well runned place. Staff is accommodating, the drivers are reasonably priced, and everything was easy. Air Con does seem to have a mind of its own. Location is far from the main attractions but much safer

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcelo M, Gerente de recepção at Windsor Barra, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2017

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for the preference given to the Windsor Barra Hotel & Congress, and for bringing to our important impressions regarding your visit to our Hotel.

It is through feedback from our guests that we try to adapt the guest needs in order to provide them an excellent stay with us.

Surely, we still have much to improve and we are seriously focusing on the mission of the Windsor Barra to delight our guests.

We reiterated our thanks for their valuable collaboration.

Regards,

Marcelo Mota
Reception manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 17, 2017 via mobile

Visited Rio for a conference. City was amazing. The hotel has great potential, but slips up in many ways.
Internet is shocking- staff aware, but simply unable to fix.
Service is very poor overall. Occasional staff members are great, but mostly very quiet and unhelpful. They often won’t even attempt to communicate.
Rooms are neat and secure, but need a really good clean.
Restaurant is rather generic and sterile.
Nearby beach is excellent. Hotel location is a long way from city attractions though.
This place could be great, but is let down by issues outlined above. Only stay here if you’re attending a conference at the adjacent centre.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank DrSwazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcelo M, Gerente de recepção at Windsor Barra, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2017

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for the preference given to the Windsor Barra Hotel & Congress, and for bringing to our important impressions regarding your visit to our Hotel.
It is through feedback from our guests that we try to adapt the guest needs in order to provide them an excellent stay with us.
Sorry for the inconvenience that occurred during your stay, and we present our sincere apologies, although we understand that nothing can recover the inconvenience caused to your precious time.
After verifying your comment we immediately took several measures, including maintenance in the internet service, so, the fact that you report will not occur again. Surely we still have much to improve and we are seriously focusing on the mission of the Windsor Barra to delight our guests.

We reiterate our thanks for their valuable collaboration and, as of now, we await a new opportunity to meet you in Rio de Janeiro.


Regards,

Marcelo Mota
Reception manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews