We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (472)
Filter reviews
472 results
Traveller rating
334
89
25
13
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
334
89
25
13
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews modern luxury comfortable beds business trip great hotel uber barra toilet lounge noise pool brazil rio
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 472 reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2016

What a disappointment! You would think that a Trump Hotel would be in a decent neighborhood, but there were hookers and drug dealers outside our window at 3 am with noise all night long!! We had no ocean view at all, as promised--the building is situated in such a way that ocean view is impossible from most rooms. Unsafe to walk around in the evening. We had no patio furniture to sit on on our balcony. The room was reasonably nice, but no nicer than a Howard Johnson's in the States-certainly not what you would expect from the name Trump. The shower was leaking and overflowing onto the floor and the toilet did not work and so they had to change our room. The neighboring buildings were covered with graffiti and that was the view from the other side of the hotel. Practically none of the staff spoke or understood English. Again, with the name Trump and the expectation of world wide travelers, you would think that the staff would be multilingual. If you don't know Portuguese, you are out of luck. I was promised a full refund for my troubles and disappointment and a promise of putting me up in the neighboring Sheraton for the second night after a miserable first night, and in the end, after much haggling, they finally compensated for only one out of the two nights and never moved me.
They are still under construction and the hammering began at 7:39 a.m. and construction evidence was all over the place.
Think long and hard before you book this hotel. You will NOT be going to a true Trump hotel by any means.
Breakfast was ample. There are no business amenities to speak of. The pool was lovely but small. The deck area overlooks graffitied roof tops.
Julia, a new hire at the front desk was the only truly competent empathetic employee and deserves accolades.

Room tip: Ask for a room facing the north, not the graffiti laden south. Ask for a room more toward the beachline
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NomoreCosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luciana M, Gerente de recepção at LSH Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2017

Dear NomoreCosta,
We would like to thank you for choosing the Trump Hotel, as well as your feedback regarding your last stay.
We are very sorry to learn that you encountered certain situations whilst visiting us.
I am looking forward to welcoming you again to our beautiful Rio.
Yours Sincerely,
Luciana Meda
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 31, 2016

To be fair, this property wasn't really completed yet and was still in its finishing stages. The staff did their best despite the circumstances. The taxi and uber drivers don't know about this hotel location, yet. So I always showed them the address and the area map on my phone. Hailing a cab at the hotel is difficult too, the hotel staff had to walk down the street and attempted to grab one for me. Uber/Uber English is a better choice.

The property is small compared to the other luxury hotels around the area. My room on the third floor had a balcony and faced an active park across the street (people were playing beach football (soccer) until 2:30AM and you can hear the players.) Sunday morning, there is a Farmers Market across the street and vendors were setting up late Saturday / early Sunday morning. You can hear the noise in your room. I saw hotel staff walk out and ask the vendors to quiet the noise a few times. Hopefully in the future, every one can work together to settle this noise problem.

My room was great, not too small, enough for a person taking a business trip with enough desk space with my laptop and room to write. I doubt you want to host someone in there. Modern luxury room, AC control easy to use. Nice flat screen TV had your basic English channels you would expect from an American chain hotel. Wifi in the room was no problem and easy to connect. Bed was very comfortable! Nice bathroom with the water fall shower and hand spray. Toilet paper was nice multi-ply and soft. If I was just rating the room and helpful staff, it would be an almost 5 star review.

The gym was very basic, the outdoor area / (Pool area?) was still being built and off limits. Breakfast wasn't included in my rate, so I never tried. Room service ends at 11PM. There are resturants around the area but they close early too. No supermarket nearby, so grab what you need before going back to your hotel for the night.

Now, would I come back to this hotel? I'll see if they work out the kinks before deciding again. I grabbed this hotel due to a last minute change during the Olympics, so really my choices then were very slim to none. There are a lot hotels around Barra de Tijuca so read the reviews before picking one.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank al2ktoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded October 22, 2016

Dear Mr. al2ktoy,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.
Sincerely,
Luciana Meda
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 16, 2016

I understand wanting to open the hotel and capitalize on the Olympics but the hotel isn't finished. Even the business center wasn't functional yet. However, our room was mostly completed (the balcony still wasn't furnished) with marble floors, rainfall shower, minibar, lots of electrical plugs and a big Samsung television. However our room was smaller than I'd expect at a luxury hotel. Most of the rooms face the side of the property with a face-on view of a playground and a side view of the ocean which abuts the front of the hotel. Our room was on the second floor and there was lots of street and people noise. The bathroom was nice but lacked surface area to put anything but toiletries. Breakfast included scrambled and boiled eggs, bacon, sausage, pastries, fruits, juices, coffee and tea. Kudos to the staff which was first class and dealt with the situation with class and style.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lulu5240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded October 22, 2016

Dear Mrs. Lulu5240
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel soon!
Sincerely,
Luciana Meda
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews