We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A typical "bistrôt français"”

Le Bistrot du Cuisinier
Ranked #5 of 14,535 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$13
Neighbourhood: Ipanema
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Ipanema
Reviewed August 27, 2018

Meal extraordinaire. Reasonable prices. Good cellar. Attentive staff. The owner himself is presente and hears suggestions.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank LeoniSiqueira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 325 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2018

The presentation here is chic and minimalist in some ways, and the reservations are typically limited during lunch and dinner. Generally attracts a bourgeoisie crowd. The food is more pricey than average and each meal is decorated to picture worthy status. Taste wise, unbelievable! Fusion of unimaginable proportions. Try it some time

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Jascaliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 1, 2018 via mobile

I went to eat here with Friends and my girlfriend because of TripAdvisor and i have visited a lot of countrys and different restaurants, but the food and the service were outstanding, the only improvement for me was that it was a little cold, because on the aircon, but as soon as we asked, they turned it up a little! After dinner we had a couple of drinks outside with the owner and some of his friends. Good place and i fellt very welcome!!

Date of visit: June 2018
3  Thank Arjengl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 1, 2018

I absolutely agree with previous reviewers: this is a hidden-gem in Rio's Ipanema Quarter! After the smashing success of his "L'Atelier du Cuisinier" in downtown RIo (only for lunch - Mon-Fri), Chef David Jobert came to Ipanema and opened his "Le Bistrot du Cuisinier", where he "himself" pilots the stoves and pans (dinner from Tue-Sat and lunch on Sun). Reservations are absolutely a must, as it is a cozy small restaurant. Friendly service and the acclaimed (and gentle) French Chef David Jobert greeting customers (that will, certainly, become friends). Delicious menu, fine wine list and reasonable prices! What else do we need? Good company, of course! Bon Appétit!

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank LuizDutraNeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 21, 2018 via mobile

So, we toddled along to an ‘excellent restaurant’ according to the nice man at the Sofitel. We sat down at a pleasant outside table, looked at the menu and jointly (as old married couples may do as life is too short to waste on average food) decided that we were not going to waste one of our last two nights in Rio at the Brazilian equivalent of ‘The Golden Egg’ (those old enough to have been teenagers in 1970 ‘s UK will understand this!).
We left without ordering and walked along the street only to almost stumble on Le Bistrot du Cuisinier, (it isn’t well lit).

We went in asked if they had a table, ‘unfortunately no unless you mind sitting outside’, which we didn’t. Immediately offered drinks (large measures!). Chef then came out in his whites and explained his menu to us in English. We ordered from the set menu, I had a hot egg starter followed by fish of the day. My wife had Green salad and smoked salmon followed by Duck breast.We had a great bottle of Sauvignon Blanc and finished with chocolate desserts (profiteroles and a ‘trio’).
Staff were super, Chef checked on us twice more.
This was a great dining experience, the bill for the two of us came to c£120. I have to give it maximum points. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank 984nickh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Bistrot du Cuisinier also viewed

 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Le Bistrot du Cuisinier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing