We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveller rating
86
14
1
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
14
1
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews living room feel at home an easy walk bed and breakfast eggs cake bread fruit owen beauty waterfall house property hill
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 103 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2017

My partner and I LOVED this place! We've stayed at many hotels together, and we both agree that this has been our favorite location and the friendliest service we've had.

Beautiful mountain cottage. Quaint, cozy, and quiet. Only three rooms, so more of a bed-and-breakfast feel. Wonderful, friendly service.

Highlights:
--Stunningly beautiful location, overlooking a small waterfall. All rooms have the same beautiful view. The back of the property is actually in the Serra dos Orgaos park. There is a short, easy trail down to a waterfall from the back deck.
--Only three rooms -- nice and quiet.
--Incredibly friendly service -- Owen helped us with recommendations for restaurants, attractions, and hiking paths, and all of his suggestions were excellent!
--Cute, small, well-maintained pool.
--Yummy breakfast -- eggs, yogurt, meat, cheese, breads, banana bread, fruit, coffee.
--Our room had a large bathroom with bath/shower, beautiful brown tile, and a simple stained-glass window.
--Our fridge was well-stocked with a couple bottles of wine and beer, as well as water. There were some snacks, too -- all reasonably priced. There is also a small N'espresso machine in the main room for guests' use.
--Wifi is super-fast and TV is hooked up to Chromecast, so we were able to watch movies using my Netflix account.
--2 friendly cats and a sweet, small dog roam the property and love to get affection.

Notes on the location:
The place is right around the corner from the entrance to the Serra dos Orgaos park and a very short drive to the center of town. We found it very convenient. However, one previous reviewer mentioned an easy walk to town -- we didn't find this to be true, and preferred to drive instead.
Located at the end of a 10-15 minute slow, windy, slightly bumpy drive, which may be off-putting to some, but it's a minor inconvenience that is totally worth it for the beauty of the location.
One point of potential confusion: We used Waze to navigate, and it seemed to indicate that the place was one curve farther down the hill than it actually was -- we needed to drive a little farther than it indicated. We arrived in the dark, and the houses/building are fewer and fewer as you approach the property, so it seemed like we had taken a wrong turn, but then we drove around one more bend and found the place, marked by a small sign and lots of blue lights.

Room Tip: All rooms have the same beautiful view, so you can't go wrong!
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lindsay Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owen W, Owner at Chale 1100, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write and publish this very kind review. We really appreciate it! A lot of our guests rely on detailed comments like yours to choose where they are going to stay and I know this review will help a lot people in the future. Of course, I am so happy when our guests like the property and service we provide and so I'm delighted you both enjoyed your stay. We're looking forward to your next visit! Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 11, 2016

If you like the idea of being surrounded by jungle (the National Park of the Organs Mountains) and swimming in a clear natural pool under waterfalls- then this B&B is for you. It is a cute German style chalé surrounded by the national park in Teresópolis. You can't see other houses, just nature, but it is only 3km to the shops and art market. We walked down the hill in 30 minutes (and took a taxi back up). Our room was nice with a great view, the breakfast was superb and the hosts very kind. A great escape.

Room Tip: Suite Azul has a great view
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank leodejaneiro1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owen W, Owner at Chale 1100, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2016

Thank you! We are so happy you liked everything and hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 11, 2015

We stayed two nights. If we had more time on the trip, we would have stayed 1-2 more nights. The hiking in the area is phenomenal. The b&b is set perfectly against the park, with a balcony that has views right into the tropical forest hillside. There is a creek/small river that is just a few steps out the back door with a nice swimming hole. The hosts are especially helpful with tips and are very conversational. English is spoken here!

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travels2places
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2015

The location is awesome, the owners are very friendly and helpful with any questions we might have. The bedroom is big and comfortable, there is wifi everywhere. The common area is quite nice as well, with lounge music playing all day long and even netflix is available just in case. Absolutely nothing to complain.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank GustavoY37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Many thanks for making our stay so pleasant!
Very romantic and relaxing stay at a perfect location surrounded by green .... We enjoyed a lot the sound of the forest and the river with crystalline waters ....

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cláudia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews