We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good but too expensive...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Palm Plaza Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Royal Palm Plaza Resort
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Campinas
Certificate of Excellence
Ribeirao Preto, SP
Level Contributor
71 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very good but too expensive...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

Stayed here for 2 days during a convention. The hotel is located beside one of the main roads to São Paulo (Anhanguera Road) and it is not convenient if you need to go all the time to downtown Campinas. Nevertheless, it is quiet (no traffic sound noticed).
Check in was fast and attentive. The room is clean, large, confortable and nicely decorated, with a flat screen TV, minibar, working desk and a safe. The bathroom is clean and modern, with good amenities. The gardens and the pool are beautiful and well maintained. The breakfast was good, with many options available.
The main problem with this hotel IMHO is the daily rate, which I consider too high. Additionally, internet and parking are not free.
Next time, I will probably consider another option with better value for money.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrazilBackpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,903 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,191
    525
    117
    34
    36
See reviews for
799
144
29
710
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

I spent just a weekend at this hotel and I found it very comfortable, with well equiped facilities, nice pool area, complete spa, entertaining area for kids. The pudding and the "quindim" were two of the best desserts that I have ever had. The "pillow menu" in the bedroom was also very cool.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bernnie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

It's an amazing resort located in a urban area in Campinas only 60 miles from São Paulo. There's a lot of leasure option for adults and children, sports courts, pools, great gym, good restaurants and bars. It a little bit overpriced but worth for some very good leasure experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FELIPE V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

This one is a must for all families willing to splurge a little with a family/business vacation. The resort is located about 1h from Sao Paulo, and there is no beach, forest or natural attraction. However the resort is a huge man maid structure that almost resembles a mini village. They have got everything you can imagine here! Its great for international conferences, however they also have a fabulous playground for kids and a great spa and swimming pool for the ladies to enjoy.

I’ve been there on a business trip, and it’s truly worth it. The infrastructure is great for all members of the family. The service is good and the food is impeccable. Consider booking your next business trip accompanied by your family here!

Room Tip: Your best bet is to stay in the newly renovated area called The Palms. Its got more of a boutique co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrazilianGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jundiai, SP
Level Contributor
262 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

You cannot find hotel like The Royal in Campinas' Region, because you can find everything in this hotel. The meals and breakfast are excellent and also the service. Perfect.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GaspaFer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2011

Stayed at the Palm Plaza for just 1 night while on business in the area.
The hotel is impressive with a great number of options for leisure travelers; however, it is also good for business travelers since the area has only a few choices.
My room was located in the Palm Tower which is a kind-of-boutique type hotel inside the larger complex; they gave me a triple room which meant a king size bed plus a single, which of course, I did not need at all. Room was large with a standard size bathroom; cleaning was average at best.
Honestly, I had better rooms before at this hotel so I was a little disappointed...perhaps the conference on-site pushed me aside this time, despite what was requested in my reservation...
Breakfast was good with a large buffet and many choices available.
Wifi worked fine.
I did not use any other services as my stay was short.

Room Tip: Good choice in the Campinas area
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2011

I travel to Brazil fairly often for work; sometimes I stay in Sao Paulo, but sometimes I need to be closer to our factories, which is why I stay here (Campinas is only about 15 minutes from where I need to be). The Royal Palm Plaza is more of a resort compound than a hotel, and it's honestly a great place to pass the time. A local colleague of mine described it as a place where well-off locals take their families on holiday, and I think that's an accurate description.

The rooms are simple and a bit sparse, but clean and comfortable nonetheless. No real complaints there. The compound itself is fairly huge and spread out, which is enjoyable as you can walk around and stretch your legs if you feel like it. There's on-site shopping as well as activities. There are also several different restaurants, from the traditional buffet-style that is popular in the area, to formal sit down, as well as casual bar food served by the pool. The food is good, but not generally spectacular... you definitely won't go hungry though, as there is plenty of it.

The pool is gorgeous and really the highlight of the resort. Very big and plenty of lounges and seating surrounding it. Although its not a business hotel, I've had many pleasant business meetings by the pool... can't beat that!

The staff is very friendly and courteous, although most don't speak a lot of English, which can be frustrating. There is also armed security everywhere, which made me feel better.

Overall, it's a really nice place if you need to be in Campinas for some reason. Definitely makes what are otherwise very long and difficult business trips quite bearable.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tpaladino77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campinas
Melia Campinas
#2 of 40 in Campinas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Royal Palm Tower
Royal Palm Tower
#10 of 40 in Campinas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm Residence
Royal Palm Residence
#24 of 40 in Campinas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palm Plaza Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palm Plaza Resort

Property: Royal Palm Plaza Resort
Address: Avenida Royal Palm Plaza 277 | Jardim Nova California, Campinas, State of Sao Paulo 13051-092, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Campinas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Campinas
#1 Luxury Hotel in Campinas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Palm Plaza Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sua infraestrutura e unica e oferece diversas atividades e atracoes. Diversos bares e restaurantes, areas de lazer, salas de eventos e o servico atencioso e acolhedor que transmite a qualidade do hotel. Seja qual for o motivo da sua estada, a equipe Royal fara tudo para ser inesquecivel e inigualavel. Venha conhecer um dos melhores resorts de luxo do Brasil. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Royal Palm Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palm Plaza Hotel Campinas
Royal Palm Plaza Campinas
Royal Palm Plaza Resort Campinas, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing