We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a budget choice, but good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maraba Hotel Sao Paulo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maraba Hotel Sao Paulo
Ranked #105 of 322 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
63 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Not a budget choice, but good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Finding comfortable, clean and affordable accommodation with a decent level of service in Sao Paulo is becoming a challenge. This place is relatively new (a renovation of a near derelict property), and if it continues in the way it is being run it could be well worth considering.

Rooms, well, OK, my room! - was a decent size, well set out and decorated in cheerful colours, had a comfortable bed and a functional bathroom. And (hurrah!) free wifi. Breakfast was fine for me - not lavish but a good start to the day: more importantly, it was included in the room rate. I'm told there's a gym, but sadly that's not really my thing, so I have no idea how well equipped it is.

I note some reviewers weren't happy with their rooms. I had no problem at all - but it's probably wise to ask to see a couple of rooms before you commit to one.

Reception was staffed by friendly, helpful folk.

That rate was comfortably over $100, discounted from the "rack rate" of BRL270. It's a big hotel, so probably worth asking for a discount if you are booking directly with them. The rate included taxes, which avoids one of the nasty surprises you can get at check out.

The compromise you make for the not-so-bad rate at a nice hotel is the area. Centro had a lousy reputation, and parts of it can feel threatening as it gets dark and the busy sreets empty. But the area is recovering as smart cafes and restaurants open, and hotels open: there's a Novotel nearby, a couple of smarter, pricier, establishments and one (the Bourbon) which is very similar to the Maraba, and possibly better situated.

The Maraba is on the principal avenue of Centro, a busy commercial zone, next to one of the most famous music bar/cafes in the city, the Brahma bar. This is located by the road junction thought of as the very heart of the city.

In tourism terms, the bonus of the hotel is the closeness of the airport bus terminus and Republica metro station, and Republica Park itself (handicraft market and Sunday art market). The municipal theatre (opera, concerts), cathedral and Sao Bento monastery are all within an easy walk.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SwissFella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    120
    30
    10
    4
See reviews for
41
33
18
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

we pulled up and nobody came to the car to open the doors and they looked at us funny when we asked where to park the car, nobody spoke English, They don't have irons in the room and it cost over $20 to iron two shirts!! The room was tiny with the bed not even 2 feet from the door. As far as location is concerned there is only ONE bar/restaurant to go to within a 3 block vicinity called Bar Brahma...absolutely nothing else around other than sex shops and seedy stores. The only reason why I didn't gave this is a 'terrible' rating is because the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pgrassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ituporanga
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

We have stayed there one night during a business trip. We have a very pleasant stay in a very confortable room. Good service and a very good breakfast also. I would recomend this hotel for all businees travellers in Sao Paulo.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabiano_Schmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
151 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2009

We stayed two non consecutive nights at this hotel as part of a group trip.
The hotel is located in the downtown area. The Hotel was recently renovated to a very modern décor.
Although this location is considered a central location we never had the opportunity to experience it. What we did experience was the doorman’s anxiety that we should not linger in front of the hotel for fear that something might happen to us. Not a safe atmosphere.

Breakfast was part of our deal and offered a nice variety good quality (although I was served spoiled yougurt).

The rooms we received were small in size and very noisy. If you book a room, make sure that it does not face the street – you will not be able to sleep during the night since the main street is constantly busy!

When taking a shower, be careful, although there is a warning sign in the shower, the hot water is very very hot – it is very dangerous!

The mattresses were excellent in the room.

The first night we arrived we were assigned room 801 which is lodged in between the elevator shaft and the front main street. We could not get any sleep due to the noise that was generated from both locations. We asked to switch rooms but were told the hotel was fully booked. On our second visit we were booked room 601 which had the same problem, again we asked to move to a room not facing the main street and were given another room, but again facing the main street.

Although it is evident that a lot of money was invested in interior design, not a lot of though was invested in designing the spaces in the hotel. There is very little room in any of the public areas or in the hotel room. The elevators are designed so that two elevators serve part of the rooms and another two server another part. This of course caused a traffic jam when the group arrived.

It is evident that the Hotel did not complete it’s renovations – see enclosed pictures. In addition a serious flaw in sound proofing the rooms that face the street. There is a room air conditioner in each room instead of central air conditioning.

In summary: a Modern looking interior designed hotel with many architectural and design flaws. Location is walking distance from many attractions, but located on a very busy street and appears to be unsafe neighborhood.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Republica
Hotel Excelsior Sao Paulo
Hotel Excelsior Sao Paulo
#108 of 322 in Sao Paulo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Republica
Bourbon Sao Paulo Express Hotel
Republica
San Juan Business Sao Paulo
San Juan Business Sao Paulo
#140 of 322 in Sao Paulo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cinelandia Hotel
#141 of 322 in Sao Paulo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Normandie Design Hotel
#107 of 322 in Sao Paulo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Republica
Timbiras Hotel
Timbiras Hotel
#191 of 322 in Sao Paulo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maraba Hotel Sao Paulo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maraba Hotel Sao Paulo

Property: Maraba Hotel Sao Paulo
Address: Avenida Ipiranga 757 | Centro, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 01039-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo > Republica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#67 Business Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maraba Hotel Sao Paulo 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Maraba Hotel Sao Paulo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maraba Hotel Sao Paulo Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing