We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
rich l

My favourite hotel in Sao Paulo and probably in the world.

Review of Hotel Unique
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Mar 25, 2019
Me and my partner stayed in the hotel for 2 nights during a recent stay in Sao Paulo. The single downside of the hotel, in my opinion, was that I cannot afford to spend more time there. But you do indeed get what you pay for. On arrival at the hotel, after an overnight flight, we were greeted warmly by the reception staff, as our room wasn't ready we spent almost an hour talking to the concierge Samual (Apologies if I misremembered his name), he talked us through every aspect of the city we may want to visit and arranged a tour guide for the following day. As our room still wasn't ready we were invited to use the amazing spa and pool facilities whilst we waited. We ate in the restaurant for breakfast both days and dinner on the second day. Both dinner and breakfast were excellent and the view from the rooftop at night may well be the best in the city (Certainly the best I have seen.) I hope I get the opportunity to visit the hotel on future trips to the city!
Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Melissa O, Gerente geral at Hotel Unique, responded to this review
Responded Mar 28, 2019
Dear Richard,

On behalf of my team, I would like to express our sincere gratitude for taking your time to write this review, and your stay with Sarah at our hotel.

Our mission, as a hospitality company, is to go beyond our guests' expectations through our design, gastronomy, technology, attention to detail, and the passion to serve. The latter, to all of us, is the most important. Throughout the years, each member of our team that has worked with us, or continues to do so, has contributed with their own touch of personality. This is why we are, more than ever, a "unique" hotel. Samuel is a true example of this.

I am glad you enjoyed our facilities, and the stunning views of our beloved city up at Skye Bar!

We all sure hope to be your hosts while in São Paulo during your next trips! We will be more than delighted to welcome you back!

Best regards,

Melissa Oliveira
Managing Director


This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$137
  • Vio.com
    C$72
  • Hotels.com
    C$152
3.0 km from Hotel Unique
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$121
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$89
  • Hotels.com
    C$112
6.6 km from Hotel Unique
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$89
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$80
  • ibis Styles
    C$89
6.9 km from Hotel Unique
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$68
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$47
  • StayForLong
    C$61
6.0 km from Hotel Unique
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$66
  • Agoda.com
    C$52
  • ibis Budget
    C$65
2.8 km from Hotel Unique
Free Wifi
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$100
  • Trip.com
    C$54
  • StayForLong
    C$70
5.5 km from Hotel Unique
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Apartamento Casal King com Varanda
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$39
  • Agoda.com
    C$30
  • StayForLong
    C$40
5.2 km from Hotel Unique
Restaurant
Room service
Exterior view
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$73
  • Vio.com
    C$56
  • ibis
    C$72
1.7 km from Hotel Unique
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior view
Get rewarded with One Key
  • ibis Styles
    C$93
  • Vio.com
    C$85
  • Booking.com
    C$94
8.5 km from Hotel Unique
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior view
C$68
  • Expedia.com
  • Vio.com
    C$62
  • Booking.com
    C$68
3.0 km from Hotel Unique
View more hotels in Sao Paulo
Reviews (1,614)
Filter reviews
1,615 results
Traveller rating
1,234
296
50
20
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,234
296
50
20
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool veuve clicquot stunning architecture top floor hotels in sao paulo avenida paulista skye samuel business concierge turndown hyatt
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 1,615 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2019 via mobile

Great hotel - very modern, excellent service, friendly staff. From an espresso when you check in to the complementary coconut water delivered to your room, the service is on point. The rooftop bar and restaurant definitely set this property apart and I hope the weather cooperates during a future visit to enjoy the outdoor rooftop pool. As for any slight drawbacks, the hotel is in a fairly residential area, so not adjacent to much to do - and the glassed in gym suspended over the basement pool is a bit claustrophobic, but all in all, very nice property.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank HoboDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Melissa O, Gerente geral at Hotel Unique, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2019

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your recent stay with us, and for sharing your impressions of your experience at our hotel.

I am very glad you enjoyed the amenities we love to pamper our guests with!

You are right about the hotel being in a more residential area. We are, however, a 5-minute walk away from Ibirapuera Park, a natural gem in the middle of São Paulo, and a short Uber/Taxi drive away from São Paulo's major thoroughfares and neighborhoods. In a way, we consider this a plus, as this is a quieter place, slightly away from the hustle and bustle of the city.


We all hope to welcome you back soon for a new stay! We will be delighted to serve you again!

Kind regards,

Melissa Oliveira
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 5, 2019 via mobile

We stayed for two nights at the Unique and this stay was truly unique! From Check-in, to room, Skye bar and views - all top notch! Breakfast was very sumptuous and the restaurant on 8th floor with beautiful views and sunshine was a great place to start the day. Ending it with drinks on the roof terrace is another highlight! The indoor pool and sauna/steam is architectural very interesting and nicely done. Staff is super polite, well trained and always at your service. We had Dinner the first evening and it was delicious - higher priced and good value! We recommend to go for iPrefer membership before arrival as we really appreciate the benefits offered: upgrade, late check-out. Overall UNIQUE! We enjoyed the hotel to the fullest!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank 2WorldtravellersSYD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Melissa O, Gerente geral at Hotel Unique, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2019

Dear Mr and Mrs Worldtravellers :)

Thank you very, very much for your wonderful review! It is one to be shared with the whole team at the hotel, since it shows our hard work pays off.

We all hope to welcome you back sometime soon to our wonderful city, and to our hotel. It will be a pleasure to have you again with us!

With kind regards,

Melissa Oliveira
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 18, 2019

The Unique hotel is really amazing place, with few equivalents in the world. The outside architecture, like a boat in the city, is striking and its even better inside. The lobby bar in the atrium is 3 floors high and the roof top; with the swimming pool and the skyline view is wonderfully. But the best asset of this hotel is the staff, always happy to help. We were welcomed by Mike who did the check in for us and showed us our room. He really did the extra mile and dealt with our request to change of room for a higher floor with great professionalism. A great place to go, difficult to forget !

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Damien S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Melissa O, Gerente geral at Hotel Unique, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2019

Cher Damien,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us! It was a pleasure having you and Monsieur Jallud.

On behalf of the whole Unique team, I'd like to thank you for your very kind and detailed review. It is very rewarding to read such warm compliments from our dear guests.

Not only are we an architectural landmark of our beloved city, but we also strive to provide flawless, warm and personalized hospitality.

We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Kind regards,

Melissa Oliveira
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 13, 2019

Nice breakfast rofftop restaurant, excelent view and open to public.
But be ready to leave a kidney here to be hosted - prices going from 1.500 BRL to 20.000 BRL a night. Thats right - twenty thousand a night, That is not a typo.

Date of stay: March 2018
Thank Daniel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Melissa O, Gerente geral at Hotel Unique, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2019

Dear Daniel,

Thank you for your recent visit and review! We are glad you enjoyed a romantic escapade at our rooftop restaurant.

Our presidential suite prices may range at around BRL 20,000 a night. However, we invite you to come visit this magnificent room and the services we provide. Naturally, our hotel has many other types of rooms, which, as you mentioned, may have prices at around BRL 1,500.00. Nonetheless, we assure you that a stay at our hotel will be spotless and not only a stay, but a great experience. You will truly be pampered by my team :)

We hope to welcome you back sometime soon!

Kind regards,

Melissa Oliveira
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 12, 2019 via mobile

Traveling extensively, I like to stay in hotels having a certain personality. I first stayed at the Unique in São Paulo in 2016 and since then I return at the Unique on a quarterly basis.
I appreciate the whole building special design, looking a boat alike, the very characteristic rooms, with their round windows, giving view on the “Jardins” a green oasis in the center of the city.
It is a different hotel from the others.
Staying there you feel pretty isolated from the crowd of the city, just overlooking it.
This impression is emphasized at the exclusive “Skye” bar along the 25 meter heated pool on the 8th floor. Best visited at night, you will simply enjoy there the best view of São Paulo: surrounded far away, beyond the Jardins in the middle of which you are located, by the Illuminated skyline of São Paulo.
The hotel service is very personalized and you will notice that all the staff is highly qualified, exceptional in Brazil.
The restaurant team knows it’s clients and carefully attends all the requests, even if sometimes they are not in the menu...
Last but not least, I cannot conclude without mentioning the expertise of the two Concierges Sergio and Samuel on whom I rely to be informed on all the cultural opportunities that exist during my stays. Whether you are looking for an opera at the Municipal Theatre, a special play by a new author, want to eat in a small restaurant with “música ao vivo” or fancy to attend a show from a world class group performing in São Paulo, they will know what is on, make personal recommendations, will advise you and will arrange the bookings for you. Don’t hesitate, it is a must in this city, there is always something going on and worth being seen!
Enjoy your stay, it will be U..... !

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank OlivierTrelex
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Melissa O, Gerente geral at Hotel Unique, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2019

Olivier,

It is always a huge pleasure having you with us! Thank you for your continued loyalty. We are all very honored to serve you as a very dear guest.

Your mentioning of Sergio and Samuel is highly appreciated. They are true assets, and their exceptional concièrge skills are very valued.

We truly hope to be able to welcome you back many, many more times. Not only are we very fond of providing all of our guests a "unique" experience, by extending the warm Brazilian hospitality with a local touch, but we also love to take extra care of our long time guests, who over time have become a part of our family.

Thank you very much for your review - we will see you soon!

Kind regards,

Melissa Oliveira
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews