We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Business Hotel, Probably Not the Tourist's Choice.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Estanplaza International
Ranked #74 of 327 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Estanplaza International in Santo Amaro (Sao Paulo) for four days in December 2011. We arrived on a cruise from Portugal via the port city of Santos about 100 km from Sao Paulo and made our way to the hotel in a rental car. This proved to be a traumatic drive as we got lost in the endless Sao Paulo burbs and had to eventually use a local taxi as a pilot to get us to the hotel (our cell based GPS had no Brazilian map)!!
Out first impression was that the area that the hotel was in was pretty seedy and that didn't change while we were there. There are some quite nice residential areas in Santo Amaro (which we discovered in the car by getting lost again!) just a half dozen blocks from the hotel however the area around the hotel's Rue Fernandes Moreira is a melange of large office complexes and lower class residential. Most of the local dining is pitched at lunchtime office workers and closes in the evening. The much vaunted Morumbi Shopping Mall is nearby but for us it was just another big, soulless complex with a half acre food court....
The hotel itself was comfortable enough, free valet parking in the basement and free wifi in the rooms were both appreciated. The room was quite spacious with a comfortable king bed and a separate sitting area with a lounge and a flat screen (cable) TV in a dividing partition that could be rotated to face the bedroom. The maid service worked unobtrusively and effectively and kept the room and bathroom presentable although the bathroom showed some wear and tear and there was mildew evident in the shower.
There were lots of business people staying in the hotel, mostly Brazilian but a few Europeans and Americans, so the place was fairly quiet except for one evening when there was some sort of function in the common area off the lobby and very loud Latin music until about midnight... Our tariff included breakfast in the restaurant and that was very, well, Brazilian! Highlights were probably the cooked to order omelettes and the abundant fresh fruit. However, we're tea drinkers and the Brazilians have no idea with tea and we didn't get a decent cuppa during our entire stay. There was on the other hand excellent diy coffee and complimentary bottled water in the lobby which we frequently availed ourselves of...
The staff, particularly the front desk clerks who spoke some English, were pleasant and helpful enough and took time out to practice their English with us.
A final word about getting around in Sao Paulo and Brazil generally. You will doubtless be warned as we were that if you plan to drive in Brazil that the roads are dangerous and the drivers manic. This just isn't true. However there are three things you need to be aware of: 1. Brazilians drive aggressively on their crowded roads but if you push back you'll get by 2. motor cycles drive the 'Honda Highway', the space on the dividing line BETWEEN traffic lanes and you MUST look out particularly when changing lanes as the there may be a biker coming through on your door handles at 30 kph ABOVE your speed! 3. the roads are chaotically laid out and extremly crowded and the general populace speaks little English, so don't attempt to drive in Brazil without a good quality voice guided GPS (like Gamin)!!!!

Room Tip: Go high up for some panoramic views of south western Sao Paulo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cornucopia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 32 of 383 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2012

I stayed here on business for 6 weeks in November/December 2011. The rooms are clean and a good size. There is a good gym on the top floor with a swimming pool, and the breakfast is top notch. The kitchen cooks good food, and caipirinhas are the best deal in town.

On the down side, I found the service mediocre - fixing the air condition took two days - with no special provisions made even though I was staying for an extended period (in this case an upgrade or some benefit is common). On a group level, Estanplaza has no rewards miles system. Also, the beds are not the most comfortable. I requested to swap, but nothing ever happened.

Bottom line - for the price you pay, it's hard to give this hotel more than 3 stars. It's nice for a short business related trip, but stay away if you are in town as a tourist (hit Paulista rather) or for an extended stay in which case you can negotiate a better deal with a higher rated hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors with balcony offer a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevernscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

I was staying here as part of a conference so had no choice. The hotel is 3 star at best and convenient only for morumbi shopping centre, itself rather unimpressive. Relatively convenient for the exhibition hall at transamericas but still at least a 30 min taxi ride away. Clean rooms, though tiny and somewhat airless with a lot of ambient noise, the hotel is otherwise unremarkable. The gym is small and under-equipped, the hotel restaurant rather functional but food tasty and plentiful. The general hotel staff are friendly and warm (if one speaks Portuguese which I fortunately do), especially the front of house/ concierge staff who were all young, knowledgeable, helpful and actually quite capable. There are a number of good quality restaurants in the area but everything is a taxi ride away and the area surrounding the hotel is distinctly unimpressive with no walks, no parks nearby and nothing to see.

Overall the hotel offered value for money, good security, decent Internet, and good customer service. While not a dream destination, it served me well enough.

Room Tip: Pay a small additional fee for a suite, it provides sufficient additional space to relax in and give...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ghanabound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

I rate this hotel as average due to its friendly service and great breakfast, with lots to choose from and, once again, its great location if you're on business near Granja Julieta and also handy if your interest is close to Morumbi Shopping (although there are other and better options closer to this location). Otherwise, the building maintenance is poor, the rooms look old fashioned and worn and the bathrooms are just a bit depressing. Too expensive for what they offer, except for the fact that it is in Sao Paulo.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ch4muy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Located close to the office and the national airport Congonhas, but otherwise nothing special. The rooms are clean and the restaurant on the hotel ok but nothing more. The gym on the top of the hotel is rather poor with few and old machines.

However, if you're just looking for a place to sleep you can't go wrong with Estanplaza. The rooms are clean and the price is good.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NiclasSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2010

The hotel is located in Chacara Santo Antonio, nearby Congonhas Airport, the area does not have attractions, it´s a business area, few italian restaurantes are located in the area, you can visit Morumbi Shopping and grab something to eat, in fact the food in São Paulo is not too expensive, but the taxi fare is expensive, so plan your route and places to visit. I stayed during a whole weekend, my stay in São Paulo was nice in this hotel after a tiring day attending a Congress. The room is very comfortable , you can move the TV ,it is placed in a wood disc that turns according to your preference, and feel comfortable laid on the sofa or bed, besides the air conditioning is well located, very good shower, very well equipped mini fridge, the attraction in my opinion was the continental breakfast including brazilian typical food, delicious and many options including omelettes, crepes which are prepared according to guest´s request.. The Spa needs some improvements on weekends, a clerk to serve in the local some beverages, rnanage the sound music, provide the guests what they requested/preferences to enjoy some little hours even being sunday. In addition to the service, the staff was very friendly and asked me when I called them what I really needed to stay at the spa like towels, temperature of sauna, etc. The clerks in the reception are polited and friendly they helped me to take some pictures and it´s a safed place and calm to rest and relax. I recommend the hotel if you are passing by S.Paulo on weekend or business, and would stay there again probably next year..

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cristina090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2008

It's an okay hotel surrounded by office buildings. Fairly close to the Transamerica Expo Center.

As I'm trying to write this review, nothing really comes to mind, except for a word popular with today's youth - "meh". I think that describes the hotel.

It's not too dirty and not too clean. The glass door of the shower stall shows signs of half hearted attempts to clean it, with a rag that is not entirely clean.

Breakfast is okay, however I was surprised not to see watermelon juice, which is very common to most hotels in the city. On the other side, they had cashew nut juice - haven't seen that in any other hotels.

Would I stay there again? Probably not - the value for money is not there.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank DrSavant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
0.1 km away
Intercity Nacoes Unidas
Intercity Nacoes Unidas
#48 of 327 in Sao Paulo
653 reviews
0.3 km away
Blue Tree Premium Verbo Divino
0.5 km away
Mercure Sao Paulo Nacoes Unidas
Mercure Sao Paulo Nacoes Unidas
#133 of 327 in Sao Paulo
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Tryp Sao Paulo Nacoes Unidas Hotel
3.3 km away
Estanplaza Nacoes Unidas
Estanplaza Nacoes Unidas
#75 of 327 in Sao Paulo
441 reviews
2.6 km away
Wyndham Sao Paulo Berrini
Wyndham Sao Paulo Berrini
#109 of 327 in Sao Paulo
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estanplaza International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estanplaza International

Address: Rua Fernandes Moreira 1293, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 04716-003, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Sao Paulo
#52 Romantic Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range: $68 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Estanplaza International 3.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Estanplaza International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estanplaza International Hotel Sao Paulo
Estanplaza International Sao Paulo, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing