We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Closing down around us”
Review of Sol Marina Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sol Marina Palace
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Nessebar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Unfortunately our stay here was at the end of the season, and we were the last guests to check out. Perhaps First Choice should have advised us of this when we booked. First impressions were very good, nice reception area, room clean and tidy. We went down to breakfast on the 1st day and noticed some tables outside that were all occupied, on the second day they had been taken in and so it started, each day something else was gone. On the 4th day they ran out of 'normal' tea bags' when we asked the waitress for some, she said they had finished!, then some other guests complained and the matradi came in with a new pack. On the last day we went down for breakfast and were handed a plate of cold meats and cheese!! No cereals on display, nothing in the servery. Just toast and cold food including a cold hard boiled egg, probably left from the day before. We asked about facilities for showering etc before leaving and were told we could use the spa shower, we checked it out the day before and all seemed ok, however when we went to use it on the final day, even the shower curtain was missing. We were intending to have a final drink in the skybar while waiting for our coach, but looked up and could see that all the chill cabinets were empty. The nice floral display in the foyer was dismantled while we were still there and we were told by another couple that they went up to the roof to have a final swim on the last day and found that the pool had been drained. The Irish bar referred to was not open at all during our stay. I would not receommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank l_tossell50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (363)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

199 - 205 of 363 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2011

The location was excellent and only a short stroll across the causeway to the old town, which still retains it's charm
A very good hotel, with friendly helpful staff. The rooms were cleaned daily to a high standard.
Any problems were dealt with promptly by staff.
The meals were a simple buffet, but were served in a clean and hygienic atmosphere
The views over the harbour were a delight and every room had a private balcony with pleasant views. The hotel is ideal for singles or couples but not ideal for a family.
Congratulations Marina Palace

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank N G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Went to Nesebar for a wedding and stayed at Marina Palace. It was a hotel located in a beautiful area. I would consider this hotel to be above average but not spectacular. I love the location as it is close to the old city and has plenty of restaurants, shops, and bars around to hang out around. There are a few big clubs about 10 mins away that we went to and had a great time. There is a decent beach about 1/4 mile away along the walkway. The walkway along the beach is a beautiful view, however some areas are beat up. Breakfast was a buffet and there was a great selection. We also went to dinner at the restaurant which was very nice and the food was good. Get the sauted potatoes. I love the view from the top floor of the hotel where the pool is located and the skybar was cool. My girlfriend got her hair done with the internal hair dresser and she did a good job at a real low price. The rooms are nice but as I said nothing to write home about but if you do not need something spectacular the hotel is good enough. The only real complaint I have would be the keys, wifi, and the elevators. The elevators are small so you either have to wait if with a few people or try and squeeze in. To be honest most elevators in Bulgaria are small. The one issue I had problems with was the one key you are given for your room. My girlfriend and I had to split the key and with a wedding we were attending we were split between doing different things. Unfortunately, the one key was a hassle since we had to find each other to get in the room. The wifi was pathetic. I was on the second floor close to the lobby and barely go internet in the room. It's almost as if they are using a router made for a house and not hotel. You would almost need to be by the check in desk to get decent speed. If you can get a one of the rooms with the view of the ocean. That is a very beautiful view. If you don't mind an average hotel at an excellent location then it would be ok for you. The wifi and the key issue were what I didn't like. However, the clubs, old city, and sights and everything else gives you a lot to do.

Room Tip: Choose one with the view of the ocean as it is a gorgeous view. My girlfriend's sister got one a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank panabean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The location is exellent, but we expected much more from this hotel when it described itself as a "luxury 4 star hotel". Our room was clearly waterdamaged, the floor was ruined and the wallpaper had started to bulk on the walls. the whole room waa really damp the first night, and we both woke up with a bad headache.The aircondition is a joke, and a fan would do more work. The remote control did not work, not in our room and not in our friends room either. His room was also kinda shabby.
The staff if very friendly, the pool is nice and the skybar gives a really nice view to old nessebar. It is only a short walk to the beach and to Old Nessebar, we recommend Nikos by the beach as a great restaurant for lunch. Nessebar is a wonderful place to stay, but we will not be coming back to this hotel, it is certainly not the luxury hotel it claims to be....

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank joffiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Did not stay at this hotel, but went to skyeline bar most nights as the staff all speak English and are all very friendly. The view towards old nesabar are fantastic espeacially at dusk. Would defernately recommend, but beaware it can get windy up there, it best before dark. The sea gulls are flying a few feet above you so be carefull. This hotel will soon improve as being taken over by spanish hotel chain.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alancorline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Marina Palace, nice in the pictures but horrible in reality. We went there as a couple, delighted by the pool, the Sky Bar, the design and the location.

I find that this hotel did not earned our money for the food and the services. A 4* hotel should make its guests feel welcome and not forced to ask for services that are normal and for which they paid.

To make it easy for you to know what to expect I will point out:
PLUS:
+ location - near the old city Nessebar that is really charming!!!
+ pool & view - the pool located on top of the hotel gives you a lovely view over the sea, the old Nessebar - that is if you avoid looking down at the neglected garden of ruins or whatever they were
+ wireless internet in the room

MINUS:
- the design of the hotel may be impressive if you saw it from an helicopter, but from the ground it is not that impressive, the interior is OK for a 3 star hotel, the rooms have old TVs, and they look like a 2 star hotel. The remote control works with a code TV1and 1527, that is if the batteries are any good. In the bathroom you will find odd smells coming from the sewer.

- ALL INCLUSIVE LIGHT means 3 meals/ day, but at dinner you will have to pay even for water. You have also ONE bar - the Irish Bar- open until 18.00 , where you will have lunch and other free drinks like water, beer, apple juice and sometimes, if you are lucky, sprite or coffee. > My advice: if you are decided to go to this hotel at least DO NOT take the All
Inclusive package. Though they have 5 bars& pub you will only have access to the Irish one, at the others you will have to pay for anything - this is why they were mostly empty.

- ALL INCLUSIVE SILVER means you have ALL INCLUSIVE LIGHT + a sea view room (almost all rooms have sea view, some have partial sea view) + VIP accessories (robes, slippers, cosmetic set - 2 shampoo and 2 gel shower bottles + 2 shower caps + 2 dental kits + 1 shaving kit + 1 file nail ) + 1 bottle of wine + fresh fruits in the room every day ( If the fruits are not in the room you have to ask for them because they won't give fresh fruits in the room every day) + free use of sauna, solarium and fitness (you also have to ask for them, because all of these are locked down and sometimes you will also be denied the access if the receptionist doesn't feel like turning on the sauna or unlocking the fitness room).

- the food was the same at breakfast every single day, sometimes you would find something edible to have at lunch and by dinner you would almost eat anything as the last meal would start at 18.00, though lunch ended at 15.00. The food was really bad, greasy, mostly with vegetables, soy and not meat . > My advice: DO NOT eat at this hotel, there are so many restaurants in the old town with a great view and prices are reasonable!

- the services - at the reception some people are kind and smile (usually until you tell them your complaints,even in a polite manner ) and other (the lady with black short hair) look at you like they despise you and they want to get rid of you... At the restaurant some of the staff were not very nice, they stare at you and insist in asking you if you want drinks in the evening when you have to pay. Also they have ostensive Tip Box at the bar and the restaurant.

- the cleaning lady did not really clean our rooms, she just took out the garbage and arranged a bit the beds, she did not bring us clean towels and more shampoo and gel shower, the second day we requested at the reception to be more careful about the shampoo and gels and she did bring more bottles but she never cleaned the floor, did the beds and once in 6 days she brought new towels....

- the hotel does not have a private beach, it has a small piece of sand right in the front, but if you want to enjoy the beach I would advise you to walk a bit and you will find a decent beach with loungers and sun umbrella you can pay for.

So if you are going to Marina Palace, try not to eat at the hotel or choose wisely what you eat, and enjoy the pool and Nessebar! The old town of Nessebar is worth every penny!

Also be careful not to be ripped off at the exchange currency boxes and by the taxi drivers. Look at the prices and try to exchange money at banks that have a decent course. We found right next to the hotel a bank that gave us 1.95 course from Euro to Leva.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ireny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Good value for money, close to old nessebar and the beach. Staff were very friendly. Air conditioning poor. Good views of old town

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xxxjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nessebar hotels
0.4 km away
Italia
Italia
#7 of 35 in Nessebar
84 reviews
0.7 km away
Festa Panorama
Festa Panorama
#2 of 35 in Nessebar
512 reviews
2.5 km away
Hotel Evridika
Hotel Evridika
#30 of 35 in Nessebar
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hotel Saint Nikola
Hotel Saint Nikola
#12 of 35 in Nessebar
36 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Kamenec
Hotel Kamenec
#23 of 35 in Nessebar
26 reviews
2 km away
Sol Nessebar Palace
Sol Nessebar Palace
#1 of 35 in Nessebar
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Marina Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Marina Palace

Address: 7 Ivan Vazov Str., Nessebar 8230, Bulgaria
Phone Number:
Region: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Nessebar
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Nessebar
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nessebar
Price Range: $100 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Marina Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four stars Sol Marina Palace hotel is located between the new and the old part of Nessebar, only a few steps away from the most preferred Bulgarian beaches and is among the best hotels of Nessebar. With its unique location and quality of services, Sol Marina Palace is a very good choice for relax, holiday and business events. Modern conference rooms for formal meetings, elegant restaurants and bars, comfortable rooms with stunning view will make your stay unforgettable. At the disposal of the guests are 123 double rooms, 1 single room and 4 apartments. Most of them have unique sea view and are equipped with satellite television, information system, cable Intrenet, mini-bar, individual safe, central air conditioning system and ventilation. There is an underground paid parking and Wi-fi in public areas like lobby, sky and day bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sol Marina Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Palace Nessebar
Marina Palace Hotel Nessebar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing