We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Italia(Nessebar)
Book now, pay at stay
US$73
US$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$30
Booking.com
View Deal
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
Sol Nessebar Mare(Nessebar)
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (396)
Filter reviews
396 results
Traveller rating
157
135
65
27
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
157
135
65
27
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssky barrooftop poolinclusive barold townsunny beachb and bsun deckall inclusive optionbed and breakfast basisall inclusive gueststop flooroverlooking the sealovely hotelbulgarian eveningkept spotlessly cleancouple of nightspool was cold
Filter
Updating list...
214 - 219 of 396 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2011

The location was excellent and only a short stroll across the causeway to the old town, which still retains it's charm
A very good hotel, with friendly helpful staff. The rooms were cleaned daily to a high standard.
Any problems were dealt with promptly by staff.
The meals were a simple buffet, but were served in a clean and hygienic atmosphere
The views over the harbour were a delight and every room had a private balcony with pleasant views. The hotel is ideal for singles or couples but not ideal for a family.
Congratulations Marina Palace

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank N G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Went to Nesebar for a wedding and stayed at Marina Palace. It was a hotel located in a beautiful area. I would consider this hotel to be above average but not spectacular. I love the location as it is close to the old city and has plenty of restaurants, shops, and bars around to hang out around. There are a few big clubs about 10 mins away that we went to and had a great time. There is a decent beach about 1/4 mile away along the walkway. The walkway along the beach is a beautiful view, however some areas are beat up. Breakfast was a buffet and there was a great selection. We also went to dinner at the restaurant which was very nice and the food was good. Get the sauted potatoes. I love the view from the top floor of the hotel where the pool is located and the skybar was cool. My girlfriend got her hair done with the internal hair dresser and she did a good job at a real low price. The rooms are nice but as I said nothing to write home about but if you do not need something spectacular the hotel is good enough. The only real complaint I have would be the keys, wifi, and the elevators. The elevators are small so you either have to wait if with a few people or try and squeeze in. To be honest most elevators in Bulgaria are small. The one issue I had problems with was the one key you are given for your room. My girlfriend and I had to split the key and with a wedding we were attending we were split between doing different things. Unfortunately, the one key was a hassle since we had to find each other to get in the room. The wifi was pathetic. I was on the second floor close to the lobby and barely go internet in the room. It's almost as if they are using a router made for a house and not hotel. You would almost need to be by the check in desk to get decent speed. If you can get a one of the rooms with the view of the ocean. That is a very beautiful view. If you don't mind an average hotel at an excellent location then it would be ok for you. The wifi and the key issue were what I didn't like. However, the clubs, old city, and sights and everything else gives you a lot to do.

Room Tip: Choose one with the view of the ocean as it is a gorgeous view. My girlfriend's sister got one and the view from her balcony was gorgeous. The only problem is you will definitely be out of wifi range.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank panabean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The location is exellent, but we expected much more from this hotel when it described itself as a "luxury 4 star hotel". Our room was clearly waterdamaged, the floor was ruined and the wallpaper had started to bulk on the walls. the whole room waa really damp the first night, and we both woke up with a bad headache.The aircondition is a joke, and a fan would do more work. The remote control did not work, not in our room and not in our friends room either. His room was also kinda shabby.
The staff if very friendly, the pool is nice and the skybar gives a really nice view to old nessebar. It is only a short walk to the beach and to Old Nessebar, we recommend Nikos by the beach as a great restaurant for lunch. Nessebar is a wonderful place to stay, but we will not be coming back to this hotel, it is certainly not the luxury hotel it claims to be....

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank joffiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Did not stay at this hotel, but went to skyeline bar most nights as the staff all speak English and are all very friendly. The view towards old nesabar are fantastic espeacially at dusk. Would defernately recommend, but beaware it can get windy up there, it best before dark. The sea gulls are flying a few feet above you so be carefull. This hotel will soon improve as being taken over by spanish hotel chain.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alancorline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Marina Palace, nice in the pictures but horrible in reality. We went there as a couple, delighted by the pool, the Sky Bar, the design and the location.

I find that this hotel did not earned our money for the food and the services. A 4* hotel should make its guests feel welcome and not forced to ask for services that are normal and for which they paid.

To make it easy for you to know what to expect I will point out:
PLUS:
+ location - near the old city Nessebar that is really charming!!!
+ pool & view - the pool located on top of the hotel gives you a lovely view over the sea, the old Nessebar - that is if you avoid looking down at the neglected garden of ruins or whatever they were
+ wireless internet in the room

MINUS:
- the design of the hotel may be impressive if you saw it from an helicopter, but from the ground it is not that impressive, the interior is OK for a 3 star hotel, the rooms have old TVs, and they look like a 2 star hotel. The remote control works with a code TV1and 1527, that is if the batteries are any good. In the bathroom you will find odd smells coming from the sewer.

- ALL INCLUSIVE LIGHT means 3 meals/ day, but at dinner you will have to pay even for water. You have also ONE bar - the Irish Bar- open until 18.00 , where you will have lunch and other free drinks like water, beer, apple juice and sometimes, if you are lucky, sprite or coffee. > My advice: if you are decided to go to this hotel at least DO NOT take the All
Inclusive package. Though they have 5 bars& pub you will only have access to the Irish one, at the others you will have to pay for anything - this is why they were mostly empty.

- ALL INCLUSIVE SILVER means you have ALL INCLUSIVE LIGHT + a sea view room (almost all rooms have sea view, some have partial sea view) + VIP accessories (robes, slippers, cosmetic set - 2 shampoo and 2 gel shower bottles + 2 shower caps + 2 dental kits + 1 shaving kit + 1 file nail ) + 1 bottle of wine + fresh fruits in the room every day ( If the fruits are not in the room you have to ask for them because they won't give fresh fruits in the room every day) + free use of sauna, solarium and fitness (you also have to ask for them, because all of these are locked down and sometimes you will also be denied the access if the receptionist doesn't feel like turning on the sauna or unlocking the fitness room).

- the food was the same at breakfast every single day, sometimes you would find something edible to have at lunch and by dinner you would almost eat anything as the last meal would start at 18.00, though lunch ended at 15.00. The food was really bad, greasy, mostly with vegetables, soy and not meat . > My advice: DO NOT eat at this hotel, there are so many restaurants in the old town with a great view and prices are reasonable!

- the services - at the reception some people are kind and smile (usually until you tell them your complaints,even in a polite manner ) and other (the lady with black short hair) look at you like they despise you and they want to get rid of you... At the restaurant some of the staff were not very nice, they stare at you and insist in asking you if you want drinks in the evening when you have to pay. Also they have ostensive Tip Box at the bar and the restaurant.

- the cleaning lady did not really clean our rooms, she just took out the garbage and arranged a bit the beds, she did not bring us clean towels and more shampoo and gel shower, the second day we requested at the reception to be more careful about the shampoo and gels and she did bring more bottles but she never cleaned the floor, did the beds and once in 6 days she brought new towels....

- the hotel does not have a private beach, it has a small piece of sand right in the front, but if you want to enjoy the beach I would advise you to walk a bit and you will find a decent beach with loungers and sun umbrella you can pay for.

So if you are going to Marina Palace, try not to eat at the hotel or choose wisely what you eat, and enjoy the pool and Nessebar! The old town of Nessebar is worth every penny!

Also be careful not to be ripped off at the exchange currency boxes and by the taxi drivers. Look at the prices and try to exchange money at banks that have a decent course. We found right next to the hotel a bank that gave us 1.95 course from Euro to Leva.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ireny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews