We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Italia(Nessebar)
US$73
US$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$30
Booking.com
View Deal
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
US$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
Sol Nessebar Mare(Nessebar)
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (396)
Filter reviews
396 results
Traveller rating
157
135
65
27
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
157
135
65
27
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssky barrooftop poolinclusive barold townsunny beachb and bsun deckall inclusive optionbed and breakfast basisall inclusive gueststop flooroverlooking the sealovely hotelbulgarian eveningkept spotlessly cleancouple of nightspool was cold
Filter
Updating list...
236 - 241 of 396 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2007

After reading the more recent reviews I was concerned about my holiday but from start to finish we had a super time.
We traveled with Balkan Holidays , on time , usual plane food , did remember to take English notes!
Mini bus to hotel in 40 minutes, straight to rooftop pool on arrival, yes it is cold but just what you need in 30 degrees of heat!
Rooms are well equipped and cleaned daily , odd numbered rooms get the sun in the morning , even in the afternoon.the fridge is very handy for the beer etc.
We ate in the hotel every second evening as it is so cheap in the many closeby restaurants(2 course meal for 2 with bulgarian wine about £12).The food in the hotel was just as good with an excellant variety over two weeks as stated in other reviews the temperature of the food is not as hot as we like but not a tummy bug the whole time we were there.If you like welldone toast you will have a problem and a long wait, this hotel caters for many different nationalities and they do have different tastes!The waiters are friendly if you are friendly, I got a huge hug from a young lad whan we left( they work every day for 4 months).
The view from the top of the hotel is spendid, over to old Nessebar which is a unique place.The sandy beach is a five minute walk & the sun shades are 5 lev. The sea can get rough but there a lots of lifeguards to let you know if you venture too for out .
If you like Benidorm or Blackpool go to Sunny Beach but families , couples young or not so young will enjoy Marina Palace.Go with an open mind about Bulgaria and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank DandLNairn_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 2, 2007

Although the hotel was awarded 4 stars, it didn't feel like... I would've give them maximum 2.
There were both pro's and cons:
Cons:
-the overall attitude was bit negative, beside receptionists, few people spoke English, therefore there were some communication issues between me and one particular receptionist... (regretfully, Tripadvisor doesn't allow me to state her name);
-I don't know if I was the only one to feel this but there was a general "mobster" behavior at all levels...
-there was a poor food selection with lots of sauces and heavy foods and the restaurant staff wasn't trained as a 4 stars restaurant personnel should be;
-the internet - big issue! It's about 3 leva's/hour and in the end I had to pay 21 leva's which meant that I've surfed the internet for 7 hours which was not true as long as the overall surfing time didn't exceeded half hour or so, that, if it was working. Fortunately, the staff knew this problem and they skipped the payment.
-they have a pay-per-view channel and I was charged 12 leva/12 hours as I had to stay all day long watching movies... and some of them were screeners (taped from the theater screen!) and some of them doubled in Russian language! LOL! They should put something like charging with 2-3 leva/movie instead of forcing you to stick to the TV screen 12 continuous hours or to keep it as a second option for rainy days.
Pro's:
-the hotel has a nice architecture(4 stars), it's clean(the 4 rated stars apply here, too!), close to the beach and the old Nessebar district (a must see area), they have pay parking available at a rate of 5euros/day/car. (turns into 10 leva's/day/car)
-nice view from the top pool, jacuzzi and a nice skybar, too.

As a conclusion: Use carefully their other featured facilities or some issues might occur. With all of this, it's likely to stay at this hotel again, the overall experience was ok.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank cristis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 5, 2007

Nessebar is a beautiful world heritage city on the black sea. If you're visitng the area, much better stay here than the deplorable sunny beach. The marina palace, however, is a poor quality hotel.

Unattentive, surly staff, broken air conditioning, terrible, insipid food, uncomfortable beds and plenty of roaches.

The hotel is supposed to be 4 star, but i would seriously consider giving it one.

There are at least two other better hotels in the immediate vicinity, but i'm not sure if tripadvisor allows me to name them.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jimmytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 26, 2007

We also just came back from Bulgaria and I have to say that I am disapointed at the hotel.

First, the curtains was so thin that all the sunligt came through in the morning.

The hotel has four bars which all play loud music almost all day long. We where in luck and could change rooms because of the noice but are you situated abow one of the bars, or under the sky bar you are bound to listen to music all day or night.

The staff was so and so, the ones that understood english were ok.

The pool is freezing cold, just so you know, and the food doesn't taste of anything. If you want a normal cappocino (without cream) go the restaurant Portofino around the corner next to the hotel figo.

All and all, in Bulgaria, a four star hotel is what we in Sweden would call a three star hotel.

But, Nessebar is lovely!

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank vonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 26, 2005

We are just back from our first visit to Bulgaria and I’m sure it wont be our last. The Hotel was lovely, basic but comfortable furniture and most importantly very clean. Well situation for walking over to Old Nessebar, the beach and in general just getting around.

We stayed on a half board basis and found the food to be fine with a few choices each night so you could always find something to eat. The food in the hotel is served warm, this is to accommodate other nationalities staying who eat typically cold food but there was a microwave provided if you wanted the food any warmer. I personally liked this feature because I eat my food very hot. The hotel staff were all really helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

We booked our trips through the animation team, which is run by Monty. We found him to be very pleasant, exceptionally helpful, taking time to explain all about the trips and what was and wasn’t included. They were also much more flexible and happy to detour. The best trips for us were the trip up the Blue Mountains, this was a lovely day out and Monty could tell us all about the local history of the small villages as we passed through. We took the chair lift up the side of the mountain, the views were spectacular. At the summit we had lunch and a walk round the lake giving us a chance to take in the beautiful countryside before heading back down the mountain by chairlift and on to a market for a spot of shopping.

We also went on the Jeep Safari, again book via Monty and he accompanied us on the trip. We had an absolutely fantastic day out, probably the best day of our holidays. The jeeps pick you up at the hotel, then you are taken off road, given the chance to have a drive of one if you want to and then the fun begins. Your ammunition for the day is as many bottles of water you can fit in the jeep and spraying it at the enemies in the other jeeps. There is also a lovely visit to a traditional Bulgarian house where you can try some traditional food and buy gifts, again we were made to fee very welcome and shown round a typical Bulgarian house. There was also time for lunch which was lovely, Chicken kebab and salad served with bread, time for fishing, shooting, taking a pedal boat our or just lazing around in the sun and on the way back it was more water fights… brilliant.

Old Nessebar is really fascination; there are load of nice restaurants and plenty of shops. Take time to walk round, we managed to see something different almost every time we went.

All in all we would recommend the Marina Palace Hotel and highly recommend that you book you trips through Monty. We had a fantastic time and looking forward to our next visit.

37  Thank dipsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews