We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't touch the minibar!!!!!”
Review of Sol Marina Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sol Marina Palace
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Nessebar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2008

Myself, my husband and our 3 children aged 10, 8 and 2 have just returned from a fortnight at the Marina Palace but I have to say what was in general terms an enjoyable holiday was wrecked as we were checking out at 3.30am in the morning by the hotel receptionist who threatened to call the police when I refused to pay a 400 Lev minibar bill on the grounds that I had already paid for our consumption once and that the minibars in our 2 rooms had only been filled once when we arrived at the hotel and not on a daily basis as they were claiming!!!!! . My advice to anybody staying there would be to exercise caution when using the minibar because although they do not refill it, they will try to charge you as if they have when you check out and threaten the police if you dispute the charges!!!!. They'll also try to insinuate that you have a drink problem but I would have had to have been permanently drunk to have run up a 400 lev minibar bill in 2 weeks and I only ever drink the occasional glass of wine with dinner!!!

Yes, I admit we did use it in both the rooms we had, my husband thought we were given the vodka and whisky gratis but I paid for our consumption at the end of our first week on realising that this had happened as we were holidaying on a very tight budget and the one thing I wanted to avoid was very large hotel bills, also as I've already said the minibars in our rooms were not refilled once during our stay so we couldn't have consumed their contents on a daily basis as they suggested!!!! It seems strange to me also that this problem arose at the end of our stay, when we were leaving in the middle of the night , with young children in order to catch a flight home and that they have a leaflet in the hotel rooms which says that complaints made after departure are not justified!!!!! My complaint arose at 3.30 in the morning when we were leaving, so I've contacted the holiday operator to complain because obviously after all this and being threatened with the police at 3.30am in the morning, I just wanted to get home!!!!

Other than this the holiday was ok though. Nessebar is a beautiful town or at least the old part is,( the new part is a bit of a dump!!!!) people stop you in the street and ask you to buy things but don't bother you if you just say no thank you. I'd avoid the Romantika restaurant there though it was very expensive and I had food poisoning after we'd eaten there!!!!! The hotel was clean if very functional but meals were a bit bland and as other people have said not very warm. They seem to cater for mainly German tastes but in fairness, I have to say that even with 3 very fussy children we managed to eat there on a regular basis and the food offered was perfectly edible, also nobody became ill after eating there!!!!.

The kids enjoyed the trip to the Aquapark in Sunny Beach ( Much better than the one in Nessebar!!!) and to the blue mountains at Sliven. but the pool on the roof was often too cold for them to spend much time in!!!! I was disappointed that the SPA services were not available and nobody seemed to know when they would be. Also there was a lot of conflicting information re times of meals and trips etc and the staff did not seem to be very well informed about things like this which caused confusion.

All in all although we enjoyed our trip apart from the debacle when we were checking out, I'd probably go back to Nessebar again but not to the Marina Palace. Also it is a myth that Bulgaria is a cheap place to visit. Not anymore, we found it to be quite expensive. Its no longer a place to go for a cheap holiday!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank heatherBWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (363)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

221 - 227 of 363 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2007

After reading the more recent reviews I was concerned about my holiday but from start to finish we had a super time.
We traveled with Balkan Holidays , on time , usual plane food , did remember to take English notes!
Mini bus to hotel in 40 minutes, straight to rooftop pool on arrival, yes it is cold but just what you need in 30 degrees of heat!
Rooms are well equipped and cleaned daily , odd numbered rooms get the sun in the morning , even in the afternoon.the fridge is very handy for the beer etc.
We ate in the hotel every second evening as it is so cheap in the many closeby restaurants(2 course meal for 2 with bulgarian wine about £12).The food in the hotel was just as good with an excellant variety over two weeks as stated in other reviews the temperature of the food is not as hot as we like but not a tummy bug the whole time we were there.If you like welldone toast you will have a problem and a long wait, this hotel caters for many different nationalities and they do have different tastes!The waiters are friendly if you are friendly, I got a huge hug from a young lad whan we left( they work every day for 4 months).
The view from the top of the hotel is spendid, over to old Nessebar which is a unique place.The sandy beach is a five minute walk & the sun shades are 5 lev. The sea can get rough but there a lots of lifeguards to let you know if you venture too for out .
If you like Benidorm or Blackpool go to Sunny Beach but families , couples young or not so young will enjoy Marina Palace.Go with an open mind about Bulgaria and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank DandLNairn_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2007

Although the hotel was awarded 4 stars, it didn't feel like... I would've give them maximum 2.
There were both pro's and cons:
Cons:
-the overall attitude was bit negative, beside receptionists, few people spoke English, therefore there were some communication issues between me and one particular receptionist... (regretfully, Tripadvisor doesn't allow me to state her name);
-I don't know if I was the only one to feel this but there was a general "mobster" behavior at all levels...
-there was a poor food selection with lots of sauces and heavy foods and the restaurant staff wasn't trained as a 4 stars restaurant personnel should be;
-the internet - big issue! It's about 3 leva's/hour and in the end I had to pay 21 leva's which meant that I've surfed the internet for 7 hours which was not true as long as the overall surfing time didn't exceeded half hour or so, that, if it was working. Fortunately, the staff knew this problem and they skipped the payment.
-they have a pay-per-view channel and I was charged 12 leva/12 hours as I had to stay all day long watching movies... and some of them were screeners (taped from the theater screen!) and some of them doubled in Russian language! LOL! They should put something like charging with 2-3 leva/movie instead of forcing you to stick to the TV screen 12 continuous hours or to keep it as a second option for rainy days.
Pro's:
-the hotel has a nice architecture(4 stars), it's clean(the 4 rated stars apply here, too!), close to the beach and the old Nessebar district (a must see area), they have pay parking available at a rate of 5euros/day/car. (turns into 10 leva's/day/car)
-nice view from the top pool, jacuzzi and a nice skybar, too.

As a conclusion: Use carefully their other featured facilities or some issues might occur. With all of this, it's likely to stay at this hotel again, the overall experience was ok.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank cristis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2007

Nessebar is a beautiful world heritage city on the black sea. If you're visitng the area, much better stay here than the deplorable sunny beach. The marina palace, however, is a poor quality hotel.

Unattentive, surly staff, broken air conditioning, terrible, insipid food, uncomfortable beds and plenty of roaches.

The hotel is supposed to be 4 star, but i would seriously consider giving it one.

There are at least two other better hotels in the immediate vicinity, but i'm not sure if tripadvisor allows me to name them.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jimmytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2007

We also just came back from Bulgaria and I have to say that I am disapointed at the hotel.

First, the curtains was so thin that all the sunligt came through in the morning.

The hotel has four bars which all play loud music almost all day long. We where in luck and could change rooms because of the noice but are you situated abow one of the bars, or under the sky bar you are bound to listen to music all day or night.

The staff was so and so, the ones that understood english were ok.

The pool is freezing cold, just so you know, and the food doesn't taste of anything. If you want a normal cappocino (without cream) go the restaurant Portofino around the corner next to the hotel figo.

All and all, in Bulgaria, a four star hotel is what we in Sweden would call a three star hotel.

But, Nessebar is lovely!

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank vonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2005

We are just back from our first visit to Bulgaria and I’m sure it wont be our last. The Hotel was lovely, basic but comfortable furniture and most importantly very clean. Well situation for walking over to Old Nessebar, the beach and in general just getting around.

We stayed on a half board basis and found the food to be fine with a few choices each night so you could always find something to eat. The food in the hotel is served warm, this is to accommodate other nationalities staying who eat typically cold food but there was a microwave provided if you wanted the food any warmer. I personally liked this feature because I eat my food very hot. The hotel staff were all really helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

We booked our trips through the animation team, which is run by Monty. We found him to be very pleasant, exceptionally helpful, taking time to explain all about the trips and what was and wasn’t included. They were also much more flexible and happy to detour. The best trips for us were the trip up the Blue Mountains, this was a lovely day out and Monty could tell us all about the local history of the small villages as we passed through. We took the chair lift up the side of the mountain, the views were spectacular. At the summit we had lunch and a walk round the lake giving us a chance to take in the beautiful countryside before heading back down the mountain by chairlift and on to a market for a spot of shopping.

We also went on the Jeep Safari, again book via Monty and he accompanied us on the trip. We had an absolutely fantastic day out, probably the best day of our holidays. The jeeps pick you up at the hotel, then you are taken off road, given the chance to have a drive of one if you want to and then the fun begins. Your ammunition for the day is as many bottles of water you can fit in the jeep and spraying it at the enemies in the other jeeps. There is also a lovely visit to a traditional Bulgarian house where you can try some traditional food and buy gifts, again we were made to fee very welcome and shown round a typical Bulgarian house. There was also time for lunch which was lovely, Chicken kebab and salad served with bread, time for fishing, shooting, taking a pedal boat our or just lazing around in the sun and on the way back it was more water fights… brilliant.

Old Nessebar is really fascination; there are load of nice restaurants and plenty of shops. Take time to walk round, we managed to see something different almost every time we went.

All in all we would recommend the Marina Palace Hotel and highly recommend that you book you trips through Monty. We had a fantastic time and looking forward to our next visit.

37  Thank dipsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tui.pl
1  Thank marek1967698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nessebar hotels
0.4 km away
Italia
Italia
#7 of 35 in Nessebar
84 reviews
0.7 km away
Festa Panorama
Festa Panorama
#2 of 35 in Nessebar
512 reviews
2.5 km away
Hotel Evridika
Hotel Evridika
#30 of 35 in Nessebar
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hotel Saint Nikola
Hotel Saint Nikola
#12 of 35 in Nessebar
36 reviews
2 km away
Sol Nessebar Palace
Sol Nessebar Palace
#1 of 35 in Nessebar
788 reviews
2.1 km away
Sol Nessebar Mare
Sol Nessebar Mare
#4 of 35 in Nessebar
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Marina Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Marina Palace

Address: 7 Ivan Vazov Str., Nessebar 8230, Bulgaria
Phone Number:
Region: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Nessebar
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Nessebar
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nessebar
Price Range: $100 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Marina Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four stars Sol Marina Palace hotel is located between the new and the old part of Nessebar, only a few steps away from the most preferred Bulgarian beaches and is among the best hotels of Nessebar. With its unique location and quality of services, Sol Marina Palace is a very good choice for relax, holiday and business events. Modern conference rooms for formal meetings, elegant restaurants and bars, comfortable rooms with stunning view will make your stay unforgettable. At the disposal of the guests are 123 double rooms, 1 single room and 4 apartments. Most of them have unique sea view and are equipped with satellite television, information system, cable Intrenet, mini-bar, individual safe, central air conditioning system and ventilation. There is an underground paid parking and Wi-fi in public areas like lobby, sky and day bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sol Marina Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Palace Nessebar
Marina Palace Hotel Nessebar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing