We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wraith july 2014”
Review of Sol Marina Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sol Marina Palace
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Nessebar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My husband & I have just stayed there for 14 days on a B&B basis . This is a lovely hotel for a peaceful holiday, far enough away from Sunny Beach but easy enough to get to if you want to go there.If you do go to Sunny Beach ,via the land train, watch out for one particular attendant whose slight- of-hand is very good! He tricked my husband by changing notes, best to have the correct change-3lv.
We found ALL the staff very friendly , including the cleaners who do a fab job. Our bedroom was cleaned & towels changed evey day.
Thanks to the reception Staff for the prompt way our room allocation was dealt with. Unfortunately upon our arrival we were given a room with a very poor view & a balcony we really could'nt use because there was very little privacy (it was overlooked by a neighbouring appartment block).Because we were there for 2 weeks & wanted to enjoy our balcony we asked to be moved & as soon as another room was available(2 days) we moved. And what a view !! Overlooking the old town 4th floor. We spent many romantic evening hours enjoying a glass or two of wine.!
We found Breakfast to be more than adequate & ate early when it was quiet. Enjoying a coffee afterwards in the sunshine.
The skybar is fab with a great view , especially in the evenings. I know that a lot of people found the rooftop pool too cold. Yes, it is cold but once you're in it is a most welcome relief from the sun. The nearest beach is 5-10 mins & has an array of bars etc. Try Nicos for a light bite & a beer after you come off the beach.
We found many nice places to eat in a short walking distance in the new town ,which is a lot cheaper than nessebar old town. The old town is lovely & a great place to walk in the evenings, but be prepared to be 'invited to eat' in the many restaurants there!
During the day there are many really old churches to visit, some dating back to 6BC.
A must visit is Khan,s Tent. It is a great night out with a fab show.
All in all we had a really great holiday & would reccomend this hotel to anyone. We will certainly return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room view of old neesebar high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank george w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolMarinaPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Marina Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear george w,

Thank you very much for the wonderful review that you shared on Tripadvisor.
I am very happy to hear that you shared wonderful moments in our hotel.
We always do our best to keep our guests satisfied.

We hope that you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (363)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

150 - 156 of 363 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 10days in June. I would class it as a 3 star hotel. The rooms were clean but the décor was old and in need of updating. The air con was poor at times. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis. We found nothing of interest to us at breakfast and did not eat there once. My main gripe was the location, it is a good 40 min walk to Sunny beach, the buses were constantly packed with smelly Russians. There is no outside space, ie pool area or gardens. We booked it because the Sky bar looked good but this was a disappointment.
The view from our room was nice looking out to sea.
If we go go back, which we will do, we will stay at the Helena at the far end of Sunny beach.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alanshepherd0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolMarinaPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Marina Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear alanshepherd0001,

Thank you for postinг a revиew about our hotel at Tripadvisor.
First of all thank you for choosing our hotel for your vacation.
I am sorry that we could not fuлfill you expectations at 100%.
The breаkfast in our restаurant offers a great variety of products in order to satisfy every.
Nessebar is meant to be a quiet town for tourists that look for a relaxing vacation away from the noise and crowds of sunny beach.
If you give us another chance I am shure that you will not regret it.

Zlatimir Krastev

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

An amazing place to stay at.
The rooms are large and with modern interior.
The bathrooms are fresh and of high standard.
I would recomend people of all ages to stay here.
Make sure you try the drinks at the skybar.

Ask for a room towards the sea or facing old nessebar becuse the other directions are pretty dull.

Im going to visit this hotel in september again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
7  Thank Alexia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolMarinaPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Marina Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Alexia P,

Than you for the wonderful review you wrote about our hotel.
We are all very happy to hear that you liked staying with us and we are looking forward to see you again in september.

Zlatimir Krastev

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed at the hotel this year and was very disappointed having been to Bulgaria before albeit farther North Albana where the food was fantastic this hotel served mainly food from the freezer hardly anything fresh the selection was very small. We did complain to the restaurant manager lady and a small improvement was made for a short time .
We were all inclusive but had to eat out to get a decent meal we were only allowed to drink in the so called Irish pub bar with our package the other three bars one which was closed in the lobby we had to pay for there was no whisky, or rum if you don't like gin or vodka bad luck, the pub bar was dark dingy and dirty we noticed dirt on the floor from the previous three days
The pool area was not clean and we had to point out to the staff that there were nails sicking out of the decking there were no umbrella's or shade on the top deck but you did have a noisy and very large a/c unit above you we will never go back to this hotel again but do like the area and may try another hotel this was a total waste of money. We also did not have sea view that we payed not surprising as they only have 10 with a full sea view for I would sat we were not the only ones with these views lets see if they write a true review

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolMarinaPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Marina Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

First I would like to thank you for having chosen our hotel for your holiday. Many thanks for the time spent writing a review in TripAdvisor as well.

At the same time I am very sorry to hear that you didn't fully enjoy your vacation and that we haven't met your expectations at 100%. We prepare the food in our kitchen, very few things are coming from outside and I can assure you that our dishes are not deep frozen.
We also have themed nights in our restorant - Bulgarian, Italian and Sea food nights.
We clean the bars and the swimming pool every morning before opening, so I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy them.

Finally I hope that you will give us another chance and that we will be able to welcome you soon again in our hotel.

Zlatimir Krastev

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Good hotel, lovely views out to sea or out to the old town. All inclusive worked well, although drinks could have had more choice.

100 metres to the left is Nessebar Old Town and 100 metres to the right is Nessebar beach. Sunny beach a short distance, if you need things a lot wilder

Buses go from the Old Town to Sunny beach, St Vlas or Bergas and Sozopol

Room Tip: 4th floor overlooking Old Town, would be best, with sea view rooms also great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GandJliverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolMarinaPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Marina Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear GrandJliverpool,

I am very pleased to know that you had a great time at our hotel.
We would be very happy to see you again.

Zlatimir Krastev

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks in May. It was fantastic for us. We stayed B&B and the food was always plentiful. The hotel is spotlessly clean. The roof top pool is only surpassed by the even higher roof terrace, perfect for a great tan. The resort it's self is not that busy in May but thats what we wanted. We enjoyed the hotel so much we have already booked again within a week of getting home. We've even asked for the same room again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolMarinaPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Marina Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Chel K,

I am glad to hear that you had a great stay here.
It is our top priority to keep our guests satisfied.
We have already prepared a room for you in august and you can expect a very warm welcome.

Zlatimir Krastev

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Having read reviews for this hotel, it was that they were all good which made us decide to choose this one for our annual breakaway. Don't get me wrong, hotel was great, rooms good size with fantastic views, couldn't be cleaner, staff very friendly and polite, prime position for both old and new town (which is out of this world by the way) and close to gorgeous beach.
There were a few problems where we were concerned though, we were a party of 4 adults (50-57). On the all inclusive front, we were led to believe the hotel housed an "irish pub" with music-this in fact is a standard bar with local beer, red and white wine, coffee machine and spirits (vodka, gin, whisky, brandy and ouzo only) plus mixers which are totally flat and a few cocktails made up of the above. The music is a tv screen with a Bulgarian music channel on. We were told the lounge bar was included on the all inclusive but there isn't actually a lounge bar in the hotel!!!!!
There is a fantastic 'sky bar', with great views but you have to pay for this one if you want to drink here.
The food was very much the same each mealtime with not much choice at all and was always just barely warm, (this led us to eat out most evenings) and we weren't quite sure about the 'snacks' inbetween meals for the all-inclusive, these are usually just small cake type things found on a table in the irish pub (laughable really).
The hotel has no entertainment whatsoever and has no leaflets or posters advertising whats on or where to go in the area so if you want trips out, you need to go and find this out for yourself elsewhere.
I know we don't have young children, but-word of advice-if you do, avoid this hotel at all costs!!!

Room Tip: Definitely choose a room with 'sea view'
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolMarinaPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Marina Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Jane B,

I am very sorry to hear that we were not able to meet your expectations.
We have already made improvements on the sound system and the snacks in the pub regarding your comment. Our hotel is adult oriented and equipped according to that.
It also makes me very happy to hear that you found the staff helpful and polite because we always do our best to make our guests special.
I am shure that if you give us another chance you will not regret it.

Zlatimir Krastev

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nessebar hotels
0.4 km away
Italia
Italia
#7 of 35 in Nessebar
84 reviews
0.7 km away
Festa Panorama
Festa Panorama
#2 of 35 in Nessebar
512 reviews
2.5 km away
Hotel Evridika
Hotel Evridika
#30 of 35 in Nessebar
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hotel Saint Nikola
Hotel Saint Nikola
#12 of 35 in Nessebar
36 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Kamenec
Hotel Kamenec
#23 of 35 in Nessebar
26 reviews
2 km away
Sol Nessebar Palace
Sol Nessebar Palace
#1 of 35 in Nessebar
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Marina Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Marina Palace

Address: 7 Ivan Vazov Str., Nessebar 8230, Bulgaria
Phone Number:
Region: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Nessebar
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Nessebar
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nessebar
Price Range: $100 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Marina Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four stars Sol Marina Palace hotel is located between the new and the old part of Nessebar, only a few steps away from the most preferred Bulgarian beaches and is among the best hotels of Nessebar. With its unique location and quality of services, Sol Marina Palace is a very good choice for relax, holiday and business events. Modern conference rooms for formal meetings, elegant restaurants and bars, comfortable rooms with stunning view will make your stay unforgettable. At the disposal of the guests are 123 double rooms, 1 single room and 4 apartments. Most of them have unique sea view and are equipped with satellite television, information system, cable Intrenet, mini-bar, individual safe, central air conditioning system and ventilation. There is an underground paid parking and Wi-fi in public areas like lobby, sky and day bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sol Marina Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Palace Nessebar
Marina Palace Hotel Nessebar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing