We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
rocTheWest
the west

Not as good as last year.

Review of Hotel Balkan
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed May 23, 2016
We have stayed at the Balkan several times and this time was a bit of a disappointment. We had a room on the 10th floor and there was some sort of disco music going on until 2am. Not a good night. It is not a bad hotel and we stay here for the location, but we have stayed at better hotels for less money.
Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$90
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$90
  • Agoda.com
    C$90
1.5 km from Hotel Balkan
C$85
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$85
  • Agoda.com
    C$85
  • Vio.com
    C$85
1.1 km from Hotel Balkan
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$68
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    C$68
  • Agoda.com
    C$68
  • eDreams
    C$68
1.8 km from Hotel Balkan
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$62
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$62
  • Vio.com
    C$62
  • Agoda.com
    C$62
0.2 km from Hotel Balkan
Restaurant
Room service
C$61
Fully refundable
    2.0 km from Hotel Balkan
    C$92
    Fully refundable
    No prepayment needed
    • Priceline
      C$92
    • Vio.com
      C$92
    • eDreams
      C$92
    2.1 km from Hotel Balkan
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    C$49
      2.3 km from Hotel Balkan
      C$48
      Fully refundable
      • Priceline
        C$70
      • Agoda.com
        C$45
      • Expedia.com
        C$56
      1.7 km from Hotel Balkan
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      C$69
      No prepayment needed
      • Agoda.com
        C$69
      1.6 km from Hotel Balkan
      C$55
      Fully refundable
      • Agoda.com
        C$55
      2.0 km from Hotel Balkan
      View more hotels in Pleven
      Reviews (38)
      Filter reviews
      38 results
      Traveller rating
      3
      8
      14
      7
      6
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveller rating
      3
      8
      14
      7
      6
      See what travellers are saying:
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      9 - 14 of 38 reviews
      Reviewed May 17, 2015 via mobile

      We spent a nice weekend and slept on the 11th floor with great views towards the developing thunderstorm. The rooms were nice and hot water in a second. Easy access to the center by walking. Free WiFi anywhere.

      Date of stay: May 2015
      Trip type: Travelled with friends
      1  Thank Ogy_Kovachev
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed May 15, 2015

      If you are from some places west of Bulgaria you might not consider this a "very good" hotel but I rated it very good because it is better than average by the standards of this part of the world. It is the tallest hotel in the vicinity which makes it easy to find if you are walking around. It is the standard cement communist era building style so common in this part of the world. And in a way that is a charming part of the experience. The views from the upper floors are quite nice. The rooms are clean and in pretty good repair. Biggest bath towels we have seen in Eastern Europe. The included breakfast was fairly nice.

      Room tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors and on the west side for the best views.
      Date of stay: May 2015
      • Trip type: Travelled on business
        • Sleep Quality
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      1  Thank rocTheWest
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed September 19, 2014

      The name fits: this hotel is Balkan all the way. Built in the style of the Communist era and could count as a period piece: pseudo-elegance gone a bit shabby with time. The staff are friendly, polite and helpful, speak some English. The room and bath were clean enough and everything was in reasonable working order. The hotel is quite conveniently located. I had breakfast, included in the room rate. On Saturday and Sunday it was adequate, but on Monday, my last day, the pickings were sparse indeed even though I came to breakfast fairly early. There is another large hotel in Pleven and if I ever come back, I might try that one. Wifi was available but rather poor.

      Date of stay: September 2014
      • Trip type: Travelled solo
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      4  Thank GenieL
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed April 8, 2014

      The first impression comes from the friendly people that are very polite and friendly. The tall building and the view from the top floors is incredible, you can see the amaizing city.As a bonus to that it is very cheap and have a restaurant.

      Room tip: The higher you go the better it is!
      Date of stay: December 2013
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      4  Thank Simeon_ivanov92
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed July 24, 2013

      I stayed one night in dbl room on 11th floor. This is large socialistic hotel with renovations. Higher floors give you good panoramic view over the town. Rooms are large with standart decor. There is panoramic restaurant on the top floor. I stayed before in another hotel in Pleven, but there is big difference between two hotels. I recommend Balkan for short business or leasure stay.

      Room tip: choose higher floor
      Date of stay: June 2013
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      2  Thank K_Kostov
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      View more reviews