We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
BiserD
Pleven, Bulgaria

Well organized company party at the hotel and its restaurant

Review of Hotel Balkan
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Dec 23, 2017
We had a X-mass party at the hotel and its restaurant. The staff arranged everything with DJ and good quality of food. Accommodation was good and prices were moderate. We were the only guests in the restaurant to celebrate.
Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
  • eDreams
1.5 km from Hotel Balkan
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.5 km from Hotel Balkan
The room (second floor)
  • Vio.com
2.0 km from Hotel Balkan
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
1.8 km from Hotel Balkan
Free Wifi
Free parking
    2.0 km from Hotel Balkan
    • Priceline
    • eDreams
    • Vio.com
    1.1 km from Hotel Balkan
    Free Wifi
    Restaurant
      2.3 km from Hotel Balkan
      Pansion Storgozia
        3.0 km from Hotel Balkan
        Free Wifi
        Free parking
        Get rewarded with One Key
        • Booking.com
        • Hotels.com
        • Priceline
        2.1 km from Hotel Balkan
        Free Wifi
        Free parking
        Hotel Cascade
        • Vio.com
        1.7 km from Hotel Balkan
        View more hotels in Pleven
        Reviews (38)
        Filter reviews
        38 results
        Traveller rating
        3
        8
        14
        7
        6
        Traveller type
        Time of year
        LanguageAll languages
        More languages
        Traveller rating
        3
        8
        14
        7
        6
        See what travellers are saying:
        Selected filters
        Filter
        Updating list...
        6 - 11 of 38 reviews
        Reviewed June 4, 2017 via mobile

        Renovated room with AC:
        +/pros:
        - renovated room is a decent one;
        - non stop hot water;
        - A/C: operating;
        - DBL room with 2 single beds: beds very big (for 1.5 persons, almost double);
        - city view from 10th floor (and all others), also Pleven Epopee visible from here;
        - window could be opened (just partly - because of security reasons) allowing fresh air to enter;
        - snow white and clean sheets and towels;
        - enough lighter blankets, snow white again;
        -wi-fi and digital tv programs, flat screen tv;
        -plenty of park lots in front of the hotel and around it free of charge, also a paid one behind the hotel.
        - nice hotel location: 10 min walk to centre, Medical University opposite the hotel;
        - receptionists polite, nicely dressed.
        - very close: a small supermarket, a vegetarian restaurant 'Hummus' and a pizza 'Napoli' serving great dishes and excellent service!
        - bathtub (a metal one)- not bad;
        - soap, hair shampoo, hair dryer, big towels;

        -cons:
        - old hotel
        - when booking on the phone no one informed me there was a noisy restaurant on 14th floor, I visited the hotel on 25-26 May, the week of graduation of high school students and the two nights I stayed were awful after 21.00, loud music and basses, my whole room was vibrating, celebrations were on. As if the party was next door.
        - many children groups visiting the non-renovated hotel rooms, screaming, fighting, jumping, no control over them, cause stress;
        - very high price considering above facts.
        - no fan in the bathroom, could not dry out;
        - not very clean room, especially in the room corners;
        - small hotel type refrigerator in the wardrobe below TV, compressor-free, do not rely much on it, not very cooling.

        Date of stay: May 2017
        Trip type: Travelled on business
        Thank Sylvia B
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed July 23, 2016

        We stayed one night at this place and so far it’s been the worst experience we’ve had as travelers! However, being rated as a 3-star hotel, one would expect clean carpets in the room, good ventilation in the bathroom, no sewage water leaks from the toilet bowl, all lights to be in working order and most importantly – air conditioning, especially in the summer season. We had none of that and to top it up, there was a disgusting odor in the room. So, it was an overall horrific experience. Upon check out the next morning, the receptionist told us that the hotel in fact had air conditioned rooms but because we didn’t ask, they had given us an economy room. We were astonished by the cheeky remark! Apparently they have to train their staff in giving adequate customer service too.

        To sum it up: stay well clear of this pit hole of a hotel! It’s old, dirty, smelly and expensive for what it offers compared to other 3-star hotels and/or guest houses in Bulgaria!

        Date of stay: July 2016
        • Trip type: Travelled with family
          • Location
          • Rooms
          • Service
        Thank FelixRA84
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed May 23, 2016

        We have stayed at the Balkan several times and this time was a bit of a disappointment. We had a room on the 10th floor and there was some sort of disco music going on until 2am. Not a good night. It is not a bad hotel and we stay here for the location, but we have stayed at better hotels for less money.

        Date of stay: May 2016
        • Trip type: Travelled on business
          • Value
          • Rooms
          • Service
        Thank rocTheWest
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed May 17, 2015 via mobile

        We spent a nice weekend and slept on the 11th floor with great views towards the developing thunderstorm. The rooms were nice and hot water in a second. Easy access to the center by walking. Free WiFi anywhere.

        Date of stay: May 2015
        Trip type: Travelled with friends
        1  Thank Ogy_Kovachev
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed May 15, 2015

        If you are from some places west of Bulgaria you might not consider this a "very good" hotel but I rated it very good because it is better than average by the standards of this part of the world. It is the tallest hotel in the vicinity which makes it easy to find if you are walking around. It is the standard cement communist era building style so common in this part of the world. And in a way that is a charming part of the experience. The views from the upper floors are quite nice. The rooms are clean and in pretty good repair. Biggest bath towels we have seen in Eastern Europe. The included breakfast was fairly nice.

        Room tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors and on the west side for the best views.
        Date of stay: May 2015
        • Trip type: Travelled on business
          • Sleep Quality
          • Cleanliness
          • Service
        1  Thank rocTheWest
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        View more reviews