We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great little place with fantastic Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phka Villa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Phka Villa
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Battambang
Certificate of Excellence
Solymar, Hungary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great little place with fantastic Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

We spent 3 nights at this lovely hotel. The setting is beautiful, the bungalows are set around a good size swimming-pool, and the wonderful plants everywhere afford guests their privacy. The rooms are spacious well-equipped and are cleaned to a high standard. The staff couldn't have been more helpful or friendly and nothing too much for them - The service was fantastic. Someone met us at the bus station, even though we had not said when we'd be arriving or from what city - from the welcome beer on arrival to the booking of our onward boat ticket which included being picked up from the hotel & taken to and a free packed lunch - everything was great! The food was excellent. The location is 10 minutes walk, just across the river from the main part of town. However the hotel has included free lift to the central whenever you need to go! All in all, this is the best place we’ve ever stayed during our three weeks around Cambodia. would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pearlen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    126
    49
    14
    5
See reviews for
62
177
28
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

PHKA Villa was one of the most pleasant accommodations we have been in in the world, with extremely polite and efficient stuff and excellent value for money. Wish there were more like this everywhere :)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laraine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

The Phka Villa was amazing! We had the most enjoyable time there and, the accommodation was really nice, clean and comfortable. The location was perfect, away from the town, and the staff were the most helpful, they couldn't do enough for you :-) It was a really great time during our trip and we'd recommend the Phka Villa to all!! Tuk tuk service very good, they collect you from the bus station and the staff is more than happy to help you in anything. Very good service!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vuong N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

We have just returned from 20 days traveling around Cambodia. We stayed at the Phka for two nights to rest after 'templing' at Siem Reap. We may have been unlucky with timing, as we did not get the staff service that other reviewers mention Just one of the family.Just one of the family was present and he appeared to be trying to run the place single handed - he was there from daybreak to bedtime and was shattered. We felt the other staff were taking advantage - they were often seen watching tv or sleeping in the bar area whilst guests were using the pool the pool ....full of litter and fallen leaves. The rooms were adequate but very shabby; the whole place needs a thorough overhaul, and staff need training as to attitude towards guests (as well as to the management). As said we may just have been unlucky - but this was the weakest of all the places we stayed throughout our stay in Cambodia. The saving grace was the helpfulness of the family member present who was as helpful as can been under difficult circumstances. He moved us without question when the aircon failed, despite the fact we were moving out the following day.
If you visit Battambang, make sure you visit the circus.....just brilliant and supporting a worthy cause

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank petersclan241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

We booked this hotel based on Agoda and Booking.com reviews, which were extremely generous.
At first sight we liked the place but soon would get disappointed as all essential details were missing.

The hotel is located in KO Street, which is 15mn walk from the town centre. No free bicycles available but expensive tuk-tuk are always posted in front of the hotel.

We stayed in bungalow #3 and enjoyed its decoration and set up. However attention to details was missing: holes in the shower (wall), power supply cables closed to the bathtub not covered, shabby main door.

Still we liked the staff, they did give us a travelling lunch (egg sandwiches) for our bus trip.

The pool was rather attractive BUT not clean as filtering system was not switched on. Insects and flowers were floating.

All in all lack of attention to details and lack of professionalism made our stay only OK where we were expecting something GREAT... Clearly they had no idea what tourists can expect when they pay around 50 US$ a night.

3 bubbles is the maximum I can give to Phka Villa Hotel and I'm afraid I won't be able to recommend it under current management or until they won't demonstrate more professionalism and care to details.

Room Tip: We had bungalow 3 and found it OK; nicely designed and a bit off the main path to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AC_BCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

Stayed for 3 nights. Very friendly staff.helpful. Would come here again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dingemannen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

I liked this place and would recommend it, but for the price the place was kind of shabby. It would get four bubbles from me if it were cheaper. Mediocre construction of the bungalows just doesn't hold up in a place with a serious rainy season. There were lots of cracks with mildew on the walls, the bathrooms were poorly made, and the pool had a milky glow of growth. Still we liked the staff, they did give us a traveling lunch (egg sandwiches) for our bus trip, they helped find a great tuk-tuk driver, and lunch at the hotel was good. Even though the pool wasn't pristine we still swam and it was a nice break from the heat of the day.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moseler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhkaVilla, Manager at Phka Villa, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Dear, Moseler

As many reviews has said a bout our place. we are preparing to do big renovation in May/2012. Our place has 10 rooms and 3 rooms will put out of order to wait until may.

We understand that many people has mentioned to our place, but still we don't want to bother our guest during this time. The only way we can do at the moment is to wait until May which is not a lot of guest though.

Our family delighted to hear that you like our place, and the staff and would recommend it. We are sorry during your stay this time we are in a bit of difficult situation, and We are sure that when you come again next time it will be satisfied.

In this occasion we would like to talk a bit a bout our price:
Our family leased this place for 10 years, and the lease fare is a main thing for our family to concern a bout as well as other expenses. Our family decided to run this business in a way hopeful to catch up the opportunity to provided its guest a true Cambodian hospitality, especially to meet people.

We already set our discount price into some online reservation, and we hope we will get more supports from our future guest who like to test a true hospitality.

In all, Thank you much for your comments, hope you will stay a gain

Warm regards,
Prakad Mr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Battambang hotels
3.5 km away
Battambang Resort
Battambang Resort
#1 of 24 in Battambang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
1.8 km away
Au Cabaret Vert
Au Cabaret Vert
#5 of 24 in Battambang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.5 km away
King Fy Hotel
King Fy Hotel
#9 of 24 in Battambang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Bambu Battambang Hotel
Bambu Battambang Hotel
#2 of 24 in Battambang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
1.6 km away
The Sanctuary Villa
The Sanctuary Villa
#13 of 24 in Battambang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.6 km away
Classy Hotel & Spa
Classy Hotel & Spa
#11 of 24 in Battambang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phka Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phka Villa

Property: Phka Villa
Address: Street 203, Romcheak 5 | Sangkat Ratanak, Battambang, Cambodia (Formerly The Rottanak Resort)
Region: Cambodia > Battambang Province > Battambang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Battambang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Phka Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phka Villa is an oasis of calm and peaceful retreat.Located in heart of Battambang City. The hotel is one of the finest resort in Battambang and offers a beautiful black tiled pool(8m x 16m) and a Bar/restaurant serving Khmer and Western dishes.It consist a total of 10 traditional bungalows with pool and garden view, set amidst picturesque surroundings swimming pool. All guest's rooms are designed French style mix with traditional Khmer taste,and offering a pure thrill of local lifestyle. All the guestrooms are spacious and equipped with decent modern facilities including air-conditioning, ceiling fan, private veranda, sun terrace, hot and cold water, in room safe, Flat Screen TV, DVD player, Mini Bar Stock, Hair dryer, electric kettle, bathrobe, attached bathroom and a bonus flower for a unique experience with warmth of traditional hospitality.-8 minutes walking to Battambang Museum, colonial building, and Psa Nath (Central Market)-Easy access to ATMs or Banks-Safe walking at Night ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Phka Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing