We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Best way from Siem Reap to Battambang

This trip far exceeded our expectations. After reading some of the reviews, we were a bit worried... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Karen B
via mobile
Interesting trip

The boat trip was well worth it. We travelled late August, when water levels were higher. Much more... read more

Reviewed October 26, 2018
ingridh173
,
Nelson, New Zealand
Read all 486 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Battambang
from US$27.00
More Info
from US$25.00
More Info
from US$18.00
More Info
from US$43.00
More Info
Reviews (486)
Filter reviews
486 results
Traveller rating
135
173
64
31
83
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
135
173
64
31
83
Show reviews that mention
All reviews floating village boat trip siem reap on stilts low water tonle sap lake river life wooden seats boat leaves long trip water level bring food and water basic toilet pickup truck tuk tuk toilet break actual boat
Filter
Updating list...
248 - 253 of 486 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We took the Sok Chamrouen speed boat from Battambang to Siem Reap October 2012.

The boat ride itself was lovely. Beautiful views across the river and pretty floating villages along the way. The boat was a little bit uncomfortable but not unbearable, they do provide a small cushion. The river was high so the ride took 6 hours BUT there were some very disappointing aspects of the service...

Our hotel offered a free transfer to the dock to get onto the boat. Once our free service had left we were told the river was too high for the boat to get this far down the river and under a bridge. This meant we had to pay more for a tuk tuk ride 7 km down the road, the first unforeseen cost married with waiting tuk tuk drivers.

We expected to arrive in Siem Reap around 2 pm. Just after 1 pm we stopped in the middle of nowhere and were told this was the end of the trip, although we were clearly not in Siem Reap. Cue tuk tuk drivers who said we must now pay more for the remaining 25 km of the journey into town. These drivers were all trying to sell us hotel rooms and tours to Angkor Wat. If we agreed to using them for a tour of Angkor Wat the following day we were able to ride for $2 pp, otherwise it was twice the price into town. Obviously we had no choice but to use these drivers to get into town as we were in the middle of the country side.

So, although the boat ride was pleasent please be prepared for additional hidden costs with this company. You have be warned!

Date of experience: October 2012
1  Thank Holly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We went on this boat from Battambang to Siem Reap.

The boat looks nothing like the ticket. It is a very basic boat, used for locals to transport rice & other goods along the river, and tourists to get to Siem Reap. There are around 30 seats, which are wooden bench seats. There does not seem to be a limit to the number of tickets sold, so the over-flow people go on the roof (with no shelter from the sun & rain). The engine noise is deafening. I recommend that passemngers bring ear plugs.

The trip took 8 hours (even though the water was high) because we kept stopping to pick up & drop off people along the river. The boat stopped half way for a lunch break for the crew.

The views of the villages along the river are interesting. The river becomes very winding after a few hours, and at one point our boat failed to make the turn correctly and we hit the trees on the opposite bank with a real crash. The rear post of the boat broke & it just missed the young lady sitting next to it!

Once we reached the lake there was a storm and the waves became very choppy.

It was a relief to arrive in Siem Reap!

Date of experience: August 2012
1  Thank Rosalie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Found the price very costly compared to other transport in Cambodia. Noisy (extremely), smelly diesel engine, late start to trip, harassed by vendors trying to sell their snacks, great scenery, not so nice stopover for "lunch", overpriced being a tourist, and ended up taking 8 1/2 hours, sore posterior, thankful for earplugs, most than a Led Zeppelin concert. Would not do it again, but glad I did considering great photo opportunities.

Date of experience: August 2012
1  Thank flashman974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I loved the fact that the boat acts as a postal boat for some boat people too so you really get close to that world. Its a photographers paradise

Date of experience: July 2012
1  Thank philippe m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 22, 2012

The trip is a great way to travel between Siem Reap and Battambang, I paid 20 dollars (3 times what the bus costs) for the 9 hours trip (including the 12 kilometres ride from Siam Reap to port) in a crowdy boat with a basic toilet (a hole) and lot of tourists around. Even when it's not fancy is a great way to see the country and if you can stand the heat and the long journey you won't regret. But have in mind, it's all basic.

Date of experience: January 2012
1  Thank NEWSTED1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews