We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Boutique Hotel”
Review of Magnolia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel
Ranked #33 of 487 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Excellent boutique hotel with clean rooms, spacious bathroom, nice deco & English speaking staff.
I've got a room facing the main road on the second floor, they have sound proof the windows, no more noise from the busy street. Convenient location with lots of eateries nearby, including a vegetarian restaurant in the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WaiSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yangshuomagnolia, Manager at Magnolia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2013

Dear Wai
Thank you for staying at the Magnolia Hotel and taking the time to write this review.
I would like to thank you for mentioning our recent soundproofing fit-out. This renovation has reduced much of the sound from the outside, an improvement to quality of sleep for everyone, especially the light sleeper.
We are very fortunate to be located right next to the center of Yangshuo, with many places for food, shopping and drinks; near yet far enough from the hustle and bustle of West Street.

Thank you again and wishing you a happy Chinese New Year. We hope to see you back in Yangshuo soon

Jasmine
manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 38 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2012

Magnolia Hotel; though little Hotel, is very attractive and pleasant. It's definitely a diffrent experience to live like chinese. All furnitaure is old but very well maintained. Wardrobes are olny hangers of wood. Rooms are adequate; we were upgraded to a bigger room as it's very low season. Beds are very comfortable. The only catch is the very cold rooms inspite of those small split airconditions that can hardly warm the room. Lacking carpets, it lets you feel more cold. Bathrooms are obviously colder. They gave us an extra heating fan. Bathrooms are stocked with soap, shampoo, toothbruches and shaving razors, combs each for two!. Welcome basket of fruits awaits you. Tea&coffee making facilities (But bring extra packets of tea or coffee). Get the password of WiFi before you come up. TV channels are mainly chinese.
They supply ear plugs for the night noise which is a feature yangshuo. They don't serve breakfast, but you can buy vouchers for breakfast for RMB 25 in a nearby China Cafe (30 if you pay direct to Cafe) which includes Toast,Butter, Eggs, Bacon, hashed potato, grilled tomato, fresh juice, and tea or coffee. The cafe was very cold when opened at 8 am, they were still setting their coal fire for warming (Nice feeling).

Room Tip: If you are not happy about the room; tell them immediately to show you other choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrMedhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

This was a great little hotel. The decoration was very Chinese which was wonderful, as some of the other Chinese hotels we stayed in were charmless, depressing, business style.
I must admit it was very noisy as the street below and those close by, are full of bars, street hawkers, and PEOPLE!!
But we were supplied with ear plugs and slept quite soundly.
The room was beautifully clean. It was a surprise to have the toilet behind a curtain just a metre or so from the bed - but all part of the interesting experience of holidaying I guess.
The staff were friendly and helpful, and the location is brilliant. We had a great time here, a highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This hotel was a pleasant surprise, well located with friendly English speaking staff. Room was large by Chinese standards. Bathroom in western style and very modern. WiFi was free and so was morning fruit.
It is on a busy street that can be noisy, but that did not bother us as we were in center of town close to Li river attraction and city markets. We stayed 3 nights and would have stayed longer time permitting.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drifter1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We were warned that the hotel suffered from the noise of the night life on West Street, but it was not to be as they had installed double glazing on our floor so we had a very quiet stay. We had a wonderful three nights in Yangshou in a really comfortable bed. The hotel is well positioned in Diecui Road which runs parallel to West Street and 200metres to the Li river. The hotel staff were very helpful and efficient. Breakfast was served at the Cafe on the corner of West Street for which you are issued with tokens and taken too the first morning. Excellent!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sorbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

On arrival, we were welcomed with refreshments and hot towels. Rooms are tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. Fantastic location just metres from West Street and the Li River. This is a very well run hotel in a wonderful town. We paid RMB380/night for a deluxe double room with small balcony looking over the street. Thoroughly recommended.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank albert411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We where here for 4 unforgetables nights. First, it is a beautifull old style chinesse house rebuilded. The area is pricelees, just 10 metros from the corner where the west pedestrian street begins. The room for two, was exellent and every thing for 220 !!! Un believable. This little jewll dont have any thing to envie to 4 star hotels. They have two computers for free internet. The vegetarian restaurant, beautifull decorated is a peacefull and exquisite place to eat healthy, with rich flavours, not expensive and very very clean a very importan thing in China. The bed was just the best we had in china, even much much much bettter than the 4star hotel in shanghai called the Astor. The ladies do speak english, and at the restaurant too. Oohhh , the menu has pictures so u know exactly what u are eating. They were helpfull to us giving a lot of local information. So, if u want a coisy beautifull hotel this is your place. The tea area is as well so beautifull. Our stay at Yangshuo was better with this place. So pleasent.

Room Tip: The upper ones. The only tiny thing, they dont have stairs but dont need it, only one floor to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veronica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
0.1 km away
River View Inn
River View Inn
#23 of 487 in Yangshuo County
320 reviews
0.3 km away
Hanpudun Holiday Hotel Yangshuo West Street
Hanpudun Holiday Hotel Yangshuo ...
#30 of 487 in Yangshuo County
79 reviews
0.3 km away
Travelling With Hostel
Travelling With Hostel
#13 of 487 in Yangshuo County
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou ...
#5 of 487 in Yangshuo County
309 reviews
1.4 km away
Yangshuo Dongling Resort
Yangshuo Dongling Resort
#21 of 487 in Yangshuo County
181 reviews
6.5 km away
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
#8 of 487 in Yangshuo County
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel

Address: No.1 Diecui Road, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Region: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#33 Best Value Hotel in Yangshuo County
Price Range: $36 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your Magnolia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Hotel Yangshuo County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing