We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tourist Expectations Vary”
Review of Tangrenjie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tangrenjie Hotel
Ranked #159 of 490 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Reviewed 13 July 2014

It is foolish to believe that when staying at a cheap Chinese hotel that you will be able to get a well cooked Western breakfast. I do not agree with most of the complaints that LiangSha Bo had of this hotel.
We stayed for seven days whilest doing business in Yangshuo.
OUR room was smoke-free, quiet, newly renovated, large, clean and adequate for our purpose.
The Chinese breakfast was Chinese-with lots of options.
Location is great. Just far enough out of the hustle of West St but close enough to walk easily.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank LorraineHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 11 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

Hotel is on the older side and needs to be better designs (question whether a professional architect designed this). Not enough elevators. Side elevators require you to go up a set of stairs (not great with luggage). Room was not designed well. Hoping this room was recently renovated because it was terribly designed. No separate bathroom enclosure. No curtains on fogged bathroom window, which made it hard to sleep at night. Quite noisy from the street.

Western breakfast was terrible. Although was able to get an egg-white omelet but only had 3 ingredients available. Bread just didn't look right. It is Yangshuo so wasn't expecting much but then why even have it? Go with the Chinese breakfast or stay near the McDonald's.

Location was about a 20 minute walk to West Street and 20 minute walk to the show (avoid the show, at least in the hot humid Summer).

The "spa" looked suspicious and anyone who lived in China for a while will know what I mean. Can't confirm this though.

Didn't even bother looking at the gym because it looked like it was in a rundown hallway. Might have been awesome though for all I know.

Basically, it is your typical Chinese hotel in a rural area. Would I stay here again? No.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LiangShanBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here for 1night and it was okay. This is a large hotel and the lobby and lifts are old and is full of cigarette smoke. The rooms have been renovated recently so is a lot better than the public spaces.
Room: the room was recently renovated, clean, everything works, slippers provided, plenty of space for luggage.
Bathroom: clean, separate toilet and shower, can't close the toilet door if sitting on the toilet !! good water pressure but the shower door doesn't close well leading to some leakage into the room, full amenities supplied.
Breakfast: there's 2 buffet, one Western and the other Chinese. The Western one was quite, some of the food cooked to order with a small buffet. Food was of good quality but poor selection. Good attentive service.
Location: between West street and Impressions of Sanjie venue. A 10 minutes walk from West street.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BM L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We only had one night at this hotel and were fortunate to be given a "luxury" room. The view from the room and balcony of the Li River and mountains was pretty. Our room was spacious with the biggest king size bed we've ever slept on. The location was ideal to walk downtown and to the very popular and busy pedestrian street to see the interesting displays in the markets both during the day and at night. Our stay in this lovely town was great and happy that we decided to include it on our itinerary.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jianina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We had a conference at Yangshou with people coming from all over the world. This hotel was booked in advance so had no problem in getting a room. The hotel is located right on the bank of the river Yulong and from the rooms you have an awesome view of the river. The food is Good as per Chinese standards. The rooms are good and even have a balcony which is a rarity in China. The staff is very courteous and helpful. The bed is hard but then that is usual in China. The Bathrooms are good and clean. There is one problem that the hotel does not provide free drinking water in the rooms. The location is at a walking distance from the market. If I again go to Yangshou I will certainly stay again in this hotel. There is a store also in the hotel which sells a lot of edible stuff and cigarettes. We all enjoyed our stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rohitpunjabi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This is not a recommendable hotel if you plan to spend time in Yangshuo. It claims 4 stars, but you shouldn't believe that.
I give it 2 stars here, not one, because the room itself was acceptable. Well, apart from the cracks in the paint. But the room was large and bright and functional.
Nothing else can be said on the good side. The place oozes bad mood. The staff is depressed to have to work there.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Helmut S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Thanks god we stayed there only 1 night after Li River cruise. The hotel is very big, old and needs renovation. Our room (on the 6th floor; overlooking Li River with fantastic view from the balcony) was very outdated, with very old furniture, extremely hard-rock and uneven (like Yangshuo lanscape :-() beds, moreover, with dull and coming unstuck wallpapers and stained carpet. It was very cold (almost chilly) in the room (we visited Yangshuo in the first days of January). The bathroom was surprisingly very big, clean and modern (recently renovated). There was no safe deposit box in the room. There were persistent problems with door lock (we managed to lock our room properly only after three unsuccessfull attempts). Also there was awfull sickening smell of very cheap Chinese fastfood in corridors and elevator. We did not eat breakfast in the hotel due to very early check-out, but they provided us with cold breakfast box. It contained 1 orange, 2 eggs, 1 strange looking sandwidch, 1 small carton of milk, roll, cake, butter and jam, however, the most funny thing was that there were neither fork, knife nor even sticks to put them on bread. The hotel is located on East Str. in Chinatown quite close to Impression light show theatre (about 1.5 km), however, the road is not good for walking (dark, uneven and with crazy chaotic driving). It's better to take duk-duk (after show it's possible to get it for 10RMB for 2 persons; you have to negotiate price with a driver; initial price was 20 RMB). The distance to West Str. is a little bit less. During low season there is no problem to buy tickets for the show directly on site. Standard ticket price is 198RMB. Ticketing office at theatre main entrance is open from 15:00. The show itself starts at 19:45 (in winter), admission to the theatre - from 18:30. During cold season it's wise to take small blanket or at least towel to sit on it (chairs there are maid of plastic). The way to Guilin airport from the hotel took about 1h20min by minibus provided by our travel agency. But this was during low season and very early in the morning. Be sure to have extra time during high season (roads in this region are bad, there are a lot of motobikes, duk-duks, lorries and their style of driving is a little bit crazy)

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anechka_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
0 km away
Yangshuo Dongling Resort
Yangshuo Dongling Resort
#21 of 490 in Yangshuo County
181 reviews
0 km away
River View Inn
River View Inn
#23 of 490 in Yangshuo County
320 reviews
0 km away
Yangshuo Village Retreat
Yangshuo Village Retreat
#18 of 490 in Yangshuo County
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Yangshuo Mountain Nest
Yangshuo Mountain Nest
#1 of 490 in Yangshuo County
268 reviews
0 km away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 490 in Yangshuo County
1,139 reviews
0 km away
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
#8 of 490 in Yangshuo County
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tangrenjie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tangrenjie Hotel

Address: No.30 Guanlian Road, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Region: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 490 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Price Range: $31 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tangrenjie Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 423
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tangrenjie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tangrenjie Hotel Guilin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing