We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but noisy in the morning.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mountain Villa Hotel
Ranked #52 of 194 Hotels in Chengde
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice but noisy in the morning.”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Nice modern looking place. The double beds my friend and I stayed in were warm and comfortable, but thin walls and construction next door made for a very noisy morning starting at 7 am.
The shower was a little difficult to manage as the temperature was either very hit or cold, and fluctuated a little.

I might come back after the building next door is finished if I don't plan on sleeping in.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Green_General
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    23
    24
    11
    4
See reviews for
5
8
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

As previously mentioned, this hotel is located very close to the Summer Resort, however much was desired for everything else.

I believe this hotel might have been a very grand one a long time ago. But the hotel is showing it's age. Internet (not free) was through special "modems" that had to be brought up to your room for use. It doesn't always work and requires someone who can read chinese. The showers were only capable of cold or lukewarm water and not all the light switches worked (or were labeled). There was a slight chemical smell when I entered my room, but that was quickly dealt with by opening the windows for a few minute. Standard chinese hotel bed (hard surface if you don't know what to expect)... My doorway was showing it's age with the frame being exposed and the door lock (asian version of the chain) hanging losely on the door.

The staff was very helpful with the person bringing the modem to my room and hooking it up (too bad it didn't work, but it was nice) and will make sure you have left the room before cleaning.

I think if they refurbish and modernize the hotel, it could do well.

Room Tip: Note that the internet is not free. 10RMB for 1 hour or 50RMB for a day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wunderlust2K10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chengde hotels

manchester
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2011

Just returned from this hotel with Archers tours. The location was good, with plenty of small shops around. The rooms though smelled of smoke and a strange chemical smell. The beds were very hard, but the room and the bathroom were clean. The breakfast was very poor I thought. There was bacon and eggs, but also chips, carrots, and celery. The one cereal was oats, and only supermarket sliced bread for making toast. They really hadn't got the hang of it. The room had tea making facilities, but only Chinese teabags, so take your own. They had a small bar, which was cosy and a nice, friendly manager. We ate in the evening in a much better hotel, and wished Archers had booked us there.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
188 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2010

Apart from a German tour group (of 6 people) I think we were the only non-Chinese staying in the hotel.

There were 2 rooms for breakfast, a big Chinese one for noodles and vegetables, and a Western one with just toast and eggs and a yoghurt. Forget fresh orange juice!

Our room (a suite) was actually large and ok, but it overlooked a 24 hour building site, so there was round the clock drilling, the smell of cigarette smoke coming in from the other rooms, and the sound of loud Chinese TV all evening from the little old lady in the next door room. So sleeping was not so easy.

Otherwise the location (opposite the Park and surrounded by nice local restaurants) was great. The chairlift (ski-type) to Sledgehammer Rock, and the beautiful temples are well worth the trip to Chengde. The Park is nice, but was very autumnal by the time we got there in mid-October.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtraveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
233 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2010

I spent 2 nights at the Mountain Villa, which is in a superb location just steps from the Mountain Resort. The hotel, which was probably quite grand at one time, now shows clear signs of wear and tear. My room was clean, but the bed was the most uncomfortable one on which I've ever tried to sleep - the metal springs were painfully unpadded and in some areas, they poked into me. The hotel was quite busy when I was there, and the desk staff often seemed overwhelmed and exhausted. My needs were met, but not necessarily in a very timely or friendly way.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJA3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2010

Was kind of surprise by the bad reviews by others who stayed there recently. We were quiet lucky as we didn't encounter any problem with the rooms nor the staff. We booked via Ctrip.com for 2 twin-bedded rooms for CNY200 per room per night.

The rooms were quiet basic, no frill type. Bathroom was a little bit old but acceptable. No carpet in the room, only wooden floor. Beds were hard but after staying in so many hotels in Shanghai and Beijing, with all providing the same kind of bed, there's nothing to complain anymore. Housekeeping was prompt when we complained about the table light not working. We offered tips to the housekeeping staff but she refused politely. A first in China saying no to money. In fact this was the first hotel that greeted us in English rather than Mandarin, though not fluently.

Didn't eat our breakfast at the hotel due to early check-out. I guessed after reading all the others' reviews, we didn't miss a lot. We had come to realize that most of the non-international hotels in Shanghai and Beijing served lousy and tasteless breakfast. We do not have a single compliment for all the breakfast we had at the hotels we stayed.

Location is superb. Directly opposite Imperial Summer Resort and lots of restaurants nearby. I would recommend 'Big Green Frog' Restaurant (direct translation from Mandarin), about 5 mins walk from the hotel. Turn right after coming out from the Hotel entrance. Delicious Peking Duck set for around CNY120, serving for 3-4 pax. In general, all the dishes we had were tasty.

We had the misfortune of taking the wrong train heading back to Beijing from Chengde. Took us 7 hours (normally 4 hours) and ended up in Beijing East Railway station. Never ever go to Beijing East Railway station because it's their cargo station, not convenient for tourists. All these happens because we were told that the 'numbered tickets' have sold out and they can only sell us the tickets with no seat numbers. Which meant we had to stand if we can't find a seat. Have seen people slept on the floor during our trip from Shanghai to Beijing hence we didn't dare to take that risk. However our slower train appeared to be empty after a few stops. Not sure the faster train would be the same.

I do understand other travelers predicament in China. Most of the Chinese do not understand English and have no single clue about customer service. They are rude and it's impossible to get more than 2 words out of their mouth when asking for information, not unless they are trying to sell you something. And one thing for sure, they do not service with a smile, not until you have purchased something from them. Even the 'smile' is not free.

Do note that the hotels star rating in China is locally graded, hence their 3 star maybe only 2 star according to International grading.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travellerstrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2010

Recently stayed at this hotel as it was advertised in a travel brochure in Australia, so thought it would be reasonable. Even though this hotel is in a good position, it is one of the dirtiest hotels I have ever stayed in. We had 2 rooms between the 4 of us and both had black patches on the carpet that turned out to be lots of black hair. For breakfast you had to go out the back to a food hall which only had dim sims and chinese food, nothing western, so we passed. Would definitely not advise.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tennille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chengde hotels
0.0 km away
Chengde City Imperial Palace Hotel
0.0 km away
Yunshan Hotel
Yunshan Hotel
#55 of 194 in Chengde
3.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.0 km away
Chengde Imperial Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hui Long Tower
Hui Long Tower
#35 of 194 in Chengde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.0 km away
Shenghua Hotel
Shenghua Hotel
#33 of 194 in Chengde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.0 km away
Super 8 Hotel Chengde Bi Shu Shan Zhuang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Villa Hotel

Property: Mountain Villa Hotel
Address: No.11 Lizhengmen Main Street, Chengde 067000, China
Region: China > Hebei > Chengde
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 194 Hotels in Chengde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 370
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Mountain Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Hotel Chengde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing