We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Lakeshore Drive
Ranked #5 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel and was very pleased with the entire experience. The desk staff was very knowledgeable and friendly. Our accommodations were clean and nice, with several helpful amenities, such as hair dryer, shower gel, shampoo, and conditioner dispensers. The free breakfast was much more than the average cold cereal and croissant fare. Popcorn in the lobby from 3-10 helped when we arrived late and were too tired to go out. I would definitely stay again and will recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: Our nonsmoking room was on a nonsmoking floor--nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kcnzsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (448)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

393 - 399 of 448 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2012

1st time here, but not last. Choose because it is dog friendly. Stayed for 1 night on way to Florida from STL. Great and comfortable room, lots of dining options around. Hoover Dog Park nearby. Free drinks and breakfast in the a.m. Just perfect for us!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KennethP63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed at this hotel recently and was very satisfied with the feel and look on the inside. Best selling point was the breakfast served daily. If looking for a hotel off Lakeshore, I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pennypenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Recently stayed at this hotel when my daughter and I came to tour the University of Alabama. The staff was very friendly and offered to print directions to the university on check-in. The room was a standard hotel room but was very clean and well cared for. The breakfast was good and hot, with several options to choose from. I did not use the pool and hot tub area- but it looked clean. The gym was small but had nice treadmills and stationary bikes.
The hotel is located in a nice area, with several restaurants to choose from in walking distance.
I would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sunlove1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

This is a very nice hotel for the price. Drury Inns accept all size dogs at no charge as long as they are well behaved. I could not be happier. We stayed in a suite. It was lovely and clean. We especially liked the 3 very comfortable pillows on each bed. We all commented that they were the most comfortable pillows of any hotel we have ever stayed (including expensive hotels). I had the best hotel sleep of my life. Usually I do not sleep well at hotels. We did not take advantage of the drinks and food in the evening but, did enjoy breakfast. It offered a lot for breakfast compared to most hotels in that price range. This was our second of 3 Drury Inn stays on our vacation and we found them each one better than the next. I think this is our new "go to" hotel on the road!


The only con I can say about this particular location is I called and asked if we could get a 1st floor room by the exit since we have a 105 pound dog and while he is very well behaved, not everyone likes dogs and he takes up a lot of space on an elevator (think the movie Marmaduke). Unfortunately they were unable to accommodate and we ended up on a high floor. While it was okay for us, I felt bad for other customers as we had a large dog that took up 1/2 the elevator. On a good note, they had 2 sets of elevators and we tried to take the elevator that was not used as often. So it was not bad overall.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank midwest4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Stayed at this hotel for one night with my dog. The hotel was well kept, the staff was very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was better then most Hamptons I've stayed in.

The hotel was fully booked the night we stayed and it was a bit difficult getting up and down the elevators. The beds are pretty comfortable and I would stay again.

We stayed on the top floor which made it a little difficult getting in and out with our pet due to the crowded elevators. I would book a room on the first floor near an exit if traveling with a pet again.

Room Tip: Near an exit if your traveling with a pet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susanilz5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I had to stay at this hotel for business and it was a good hotel at a good price!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
9.2 km away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Grandview
0.1 km away
Best Western Plus Carlton Suites
11.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham SE/Liberty Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 km away
Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel
7.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
11.8 km away
Homewood Suites Birmingham South Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Lakeshore Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Lakeshore Drive

Address: 160 State Farm Pkwy, Birmingham, AL 35209 (Formerly Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: $143 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Lakeshore Drive 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short distance from I-65, Drury Inn & Suites in Southwest Lakeshore Drive is seven minutes from the University of Alabama-Birmingham and a short drive to downtown Birmingham attractions. Relax in your clean, comfortable room and enjoy a free hot breakfast, served every day, as well as free hot food and cold beverages at our evening 5:30 Kickback(R). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Lakeshore Drive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Sw Hotel Birmingham
Drury Inn And Suites Birmingham Sw
Drury Inn Birmingham
Drury Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing