We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenic”

Jiuzhaigou Natural Reserve
Book In Advance
More Info
US$988.00*
and up
3-Day Private Tour of Jiuzhaigou From Chengdu With Flight
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Jiuzhaigou Valley, eulogized as a world of magical fairytale, has for years enchanted tourists with its mountains and luxuriant forests, colorful lakes, gushing waterfalls and abundant wildlife. To its south is the Huanglong (Yellow Dragon Scenic Area). Jiuzhaigou Valley is located in Nanping County, 450 kilometers (about 280 miles) to the north of Chengdu City, Sichuan, covers a total area of 720 square kilometers and the valley is 50 kilometers in length. In 1992, UNESCO entered this scenic area onto the world natural heritage list.Jiuzhaigou, literally the Nine Village Valley, is hence known for the nine Tibetan villages within its boundary, Inhabited by Tibetans, the nine villages and alpine lakes, are like reflecting mirrors or crystal jade blocks inlaid in snow mountains and forests.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Scenic”
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Yes its worth the hassle of the trip. The brochures speak for themselves. Dont be put off by the masses at the entrance - the park is able to soak them up in most cases and the efficient hoponoff busses mean that you dont wait as long as you might. Take a picnik and meander on the other side of the lakes on the boardwalks. One day wasnt enough. Tibetan villages are a must.
We flew into JiuHuang airport and then stayed at the Intercontinental (be aware of the thin air at the former and the thin service at the latter!). Spent one day in Jiuzhaigou and one in Huanglong. Could have stayed an extra day in both.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Attapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,331
    673
    89
    20
    13
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nature at its most splendid.”
Reviewed 3 February 2012

There for 2 days. One day conference and one day walking from Arrow Bamboo Lake to Nuorilang Waterfall.
I think the walk was about 10k in all and a much better way to see the valley than hopping on and off buses. At the bus points the crowds were enormous but I was there at the busiest time of the year.
I walked from Arrow Bamboo Lake with a group of colleagues - so a great way to chat and discover more about each other whilst enjoying the the walk and the scenery. Doing it this way allowed us to enjoy the serenity of the site. Obviously the popular sites were crowded but that was to be expected and did not take away from the enjoyment of the day.
The scenery is spectacular and given that it was Autumn (the fall) the colors were marvelous.
We walked to Panda Lake, and the waterfalls there; onto Multicolored Lake through Pearl Shoal, past Mirror Lake finishing at Nuorilang Falls. Ii is a beautiful place, peaceful, clean - especially the air. I think we were at around 8500 feet which is a novelty in itself.
Arriving at the airport is a great experience. Coming through the mountains at 11500 feet, all show capped. On leaving the valley it was snowing on my return to the airport; majestic even if as a result my flight was delayed by 4 hours.
As always its difficult to capture the splendor of the place in words. I hope the pictures attached do it justice.
Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank ADJSoulman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“A Fairyland Indeed!”
Reviewed 11 January 2012

This is one of the yearly favourite sites for many Singaporeans! It took me quite a while to make the trip this early winter! Though the bus ride from Chengdu took some 5-6 hours, it proved a worthwhile visit with key attractions like the Five-Coloured Lake in amazing shades of pale blue, aquamarine and emerald green (it resembles a peacock when viewed aerially) and the Pearl Shoal Waterfall at a sea level of 2450 metres with clear waters gushing down its calcified surface of 189 metres. long. A fairyland indeed and nature's gift to mankind!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleenlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing place, worth to spend 2 days here!”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Although i was told that the best season for visitors should be autumn, esp. during the Oct to Nov, i have to say that it still has a unbelievable view even in winter. The pain trees were covered by snow, only two lakes were frozen, you still can find the colorful lakes here. The water fall was also remarkable.
As the site was in slack season (after Nov) The entrance fee is 80 Yuan and another 80 Yuan for the bus in the park, if you want has a two-day ticket, only 20 Yuan more will be needed to pay for that.
The only problem will be the whether, it can be freaking cold here, make sure you choose a hostel with a air-con or heater to stay.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Youandi0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Amazing Scenery”
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We went to JZHG on the 27th Nov 2011. We took the flight from ChengDu. Travel agency charged us RMB2600/adult, RMB1700/child for 3D2N.
One day trip in JZHG National Park was not enough actually, for us who wanted to stop and see all the beautiful lakes and waterfall. But our lady tour guide only brought us to 5 or 6 lakes, plus 2 waterfalls, which called major attractions, I think. We followed her, got on and off the sight seeing bus at those stops in the valley.
Anyway, we really attracted by the charming scenery in JZHG. Worth visiting this place which is sooooooooo GORGEOUS, AMAZING and UNFORGETABLE!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank SooYinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jiuzhaigou Natural Reserve also viewed

Jiuzhaigou County, Sichuan
Jiuzhaigou County, Sichuan
 
Jiuzhaigou County, Sichuan
Jiuzhaigou County, Sichuan
 

Been to Jiuzhaigou Natural Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing