We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most beautiful place...”

Jiuzhaigou Natural Reserve
Book In Advance
More Info
US$988.00*
and up
3-Day Private Tour of Jiuzhaigou From Chengdu With Flight
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Jiuzhaigou Valley, eulogized as a world of magical fairytale, has for years enchanted tourists with its mountains and luxuriant forests, colorful lakes, gushing waterfalls and abundant wildlife. To its south is the Huanglong (Yellow Dragon Scenic Area). Jiuzhaigou Valley is located in Nanping County, 450 kilometers (about 280 miles) to the north of Chengdu City, Sichuan, covers a total area of 720 square kilometers and the valley is 50 kilometers in length. In 1992, UNESCO entered this scenic area onto the world natural heritage list.Jiuzhaigou, literally the Nine Village Valley, is hence known for the nine Tibetan villages within its boundary, Inhabited by Tibetans, the nine villages and alpine lakes, are like reflecting mirrors or crystal jade blocks inlaid in snow mountains and forests.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Most beautiful place...”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Truly one of the most beautiful places I've ever seen, even in May the scenary was amazing.
It had been snowing the day before we landed, but on the day we were in the National Park, it was beaming with sun, so we had summer photos with ice cap mountains in the background - amazing!
Was also super impressed by the squeaky clean bathroom facilities.
We stayed at the Sheraton which was a short taxi ride from the National Park.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Kav26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,087 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,300
    667
    87
    19
    12
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing, Nature at it's best !”
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We visited in March 2012 and the scenery was amazing and different on the 2 days we were there.
At the entrance, there were about only 20 plus local tourists and 3-4 buses, but they jostled to get into the first bus. I couldnt figure out why, as once the first bus filled up, the next bus will take the next batch of passengers.
Virgin Forest-Swan lake was closed. The bus automatically goes to the right side of the "Y", and the first drop off is at Arrow Lake which was amazingly emerald green.
At Pearl Shoal, everyone had to get off the bus and walk over the numerous stairs to the other side, going thru the Pearl Shoal waterfalls which was a mix of free flowing water and icicles.
The Mirror lake was fantastic as it was sunny enough to get reflections in the water.
The left and bottom side of the Y is fairy like with trees being sprinkled with snow flakes.
On our second day into the park, the scenery changed as there was a snowfall the night before and it was less sunny, so we see the scenery in a different light.

A word of caution with regards to the 2nd day entry:
We reached the park at 8.30am on the first day and bought a 2 days tickets (per pax- RMB 80 for entrance fee, RMB 80 for the shuttle, RMB20 for 2nd day entrance).
I read that for 2nd day entry, the ticketing office will snap a photo for identification, but it was not what we experienced. When we enquired, the ticket seller informed that we can just use the 2nd day ticket to enter.
When we turned up on our second day, the '2nd day entry lane" was barricaded and we walked thru one of the other entry points. We were asked to show any photos that we had taken with our camera to proof that we had entered the park on the first day. It was a suprise and I wonder what will happen if tourists did not bring along their camera.
It was a similar experience to other foreign tourists. If the park authorities want to change the 2nd day identification, they should inform outfront on the expectations of producing a camera with a first day visit.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Cassandara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Make sure you go to toilet before you leave hotel! Specially if traveling with kids! Lots of mountain driving, well worth the visit

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Leeanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Must visit!”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Very scenic, the eco buses makes moving around very easy.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mian2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
200 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Spectacular scenery”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Beautiful scenery. Park was well organized with good well maintained trails and good park controlled bus/transport facilities for those who do not wish to walk long distances.
Bus guides do not speak English well so you need to either follow the crowds or try to communicate with the bus guides.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank BunburyTim61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jiuzhaigou Natural Reserve also viewed

Jiuzhaigou County, Sichuan
Jiuzhaigou County, Sichuan
 
Jiuzhaigou County, Sichuan
 

Been to Jiuzhaigou Natural Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing