We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Dali.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lily Pad Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lily Pad Inn
Ranked #4 of 112 Speciality Lodging in Dali
indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Dali.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

It was the my first time to stay at The Lily Pad Inn and I was impressed with the service. It's clean, simple, you can sleep there just like a baby here.....The location itself is very close to the Old Town, just take a walk in 8 minutes and you'll be there. The staffs are so kind and helpful. When I left Dali, I forgot to bring my thing and Erin, as the host of the Inn sent it to me immediately. So, go to Dali then spend nights at The Lily Pad Inn and they will not disappoint their quests.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank indoboyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    22
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
23
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kunming, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

My family and I spent new year eves for three years in a row now. We're from Indonesia and are living in China for more than ten years.

We love it so much that we keeps coming back and everytime we recommends it to our friends and families, all of them love it! It's very clean, very friendly staffs, reasonable price, and strategicly located just outside Dali oldtown.

Erin, the lady, has fluent Chinese and does amazing job to make all guests comfortable and surprised with her hospitality everyday.

In the past three years, every year it has wonderful improvements. Now they have nice and warm blanket, heater, hot water for bath, even now they have complimentary wifi.

It's wonderful motel in dali, if you on the way to lijiang or shangrila and want to make one or two days stop in dali, this place is a must to stay!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank huskey76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore River, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

The Lily Pad Inn is actually a Bai-style house with a very nice courtyard, that is on the slopes of Cangshan mountains. Wake up to the view of the mountains through the windows of your room, away from the hustle and bustle of the streets. Cross the main road from your Inn, go through a side portal, and you're in the Old Town in less than 5 minutes, with a pub waiting for you. Access to the several cable cars up the mountains is also one of the best of the accommodations in Dali. Erin, the host of the Inn and her staff, in their very friendly and not-too-pushy manner, will go out of their way to see your comfort and touring needs. They speak English quite well. The common rest area in the Inn has a very 'homey' feel to it. There's also a puppy and kitten loitering somewhere around the house. If you're in Dali for your holidays, then this is the place to pad in. More than real value for money.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the second floor or with rooftop access. You will have a view of the Cangshan moun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KP L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

The service is wonderful. They helped us book buses and day trips and even gave us little gifts when we left. The room was great, clean and warm and because it wasn't busy we got a discounted rate. The food is also delicious, so much so we rarely ate out. Overall, the best hostel experience we have had so far.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blala352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

We forgot a backpack on the bus from Dali to Kunming after we had
stayed a few nights in the Lily pad in Dali. The staff in our new
hotel in Kunming could not help us.

We called Erin, the host of the Lily pad, and she traced back the
location of the backpack and the bus in its depot and arranged for us
to meet the bus driver who returned our backpack to us. We were very
relieved and thankful.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

Came to Dali twice, at the start of my trip in Yunnan province, and at its culmination. Both times I stayed more than I had planned. Part of the reason was the great time I was having at thw Lily Pad Inn.

The hostel is located outside the city walls, west of the old town. However this is actuality an advantage: it is much more quiet and less than 5 minutes walk from the city centre. The road separating the hostel and the old town was never busy, so no problems in crossing. There are also some nice walks in the fields just outside the hostel. Lily Pad is not the only hostel taking advantage of this good location, there are also other hostels nearby to choose from.

Rooms at the hostel were quiet and comfortable, I really enjoyed my sleep! They are cleaned upon request, on a daily basis if necessary.

However what I liked the most was the service, which was attentive and kind, but not too "pushy". For example, one time the water in the shower were only lukewarm; after telling the manager, the water were scalding hot for the rest of the time! Once I mentioned being cold at nighttime (it can get quite chilly in Dali in November). That same evening I discovered an extra quilt plus an electric blanket in my room! Truly a fantastic service, again, without being pushy or annoying.

There was also wifi, internet access, a DVD room and good travel information available. Sometimes the management organized a family dinner together which was also great.

Room in which I stayed was 100 yuan, with a discount given for a long stay (over a week). There are also cheaper rooms which are also good value.

Altogether, highly recommended for an enjoyable stay in Dali!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erap21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tasmania
Level Contributor
132 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Stayed for 3 nights, just wish we had time to stay for more. One of the friendliest, best value places in China. Staff knocked themselves out to be helpful, great hotpot dinner one night which they organised. Fabulous sittings areas with books, computers, cheap beer. Perfect!

Room Tip: The First floor rooms are good as they are all close to the great lounge area
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 29OAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dali hotels
0.3 km away
Gurong Hotel
Gurong Hotel
#6 of 460 in Dali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
5.9 km away
Hilton Dali Resort & SPA
0.7 km away
Jim's Tibetan Hotel
Jim's Tibetan Hotel
#7 of 460 in Dali
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 km away
The Linden Centre
The Linden Centre
#1 of 460 in Dali
5.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.1 km away
The Jade Emu International Guest House
0.9 km away
Yinfeng Hotel
Yinfeng Hotel
#5 of 460 in Dali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lily Pad Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lily Pad Inn

Property: The Lily Pad Inn
Address: No.13, Group10, Ximen Village, Dali Town, Dali 671003, China
Region: China > Yunnan > Dali
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 112 Speciality Lodging in Dali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — The Lily Pad Inn 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Lily Pad Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing