We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveller rating
127
21
9
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
127
21
9
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden view suite favorite hotel ethnic groups traditional chinese style minute drive beautiful hotel western breakfast local market old dali central courtyard morning market erhai lake small village old town bai comfort kay
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 159 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2018

Pros: The hotel is built around two charming, well-restored courtyards, with beautiful wood paneling and carvings. Service was excellent. Good western breakfast and the one dinner I had was very good. Walking distance to Xizhou Town morning market. Modernized room with spacious bathroom. Very quiet setting (there were no other guests, so I can't say how well-insulated the room is from other noise).
Cons: Location: It's at least a 20 minute drive to Old Dali, which has a number of worthwhile attractions, and likewise further from Weisbaoshan with its numerous Taoist temples on the mountainside. It's not in a particularly attractive part of town, and there are only one or two other decent restaurants within a half hour walk. My room with a king bed was fine for me, traveling alone, but would have been tight for two people. The bed had a very firm mattress, which I don't like because I sleep on my side. I was told all their beds are like this, but they gladly and graciously added two mattress pads on top of it for me, which made it fine. (Of the seven hotels I stayed at in China on this trip, this was the only hotel where this was a problem for me.)

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank inmy60s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jian j, General Manager at Sky Valley Heritage Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2018

Thank you for taking the time out to review your recent experience with us. We are happy to read that you have enjoyed the stay. Your kind words have been shared and are appreciated by us all. We are sorry to hear that you said the mattress is a bit hard for you, even though we have added two layers of cushion to you. We have already given feedback to the company, and then we will consider a softer mattress to meet the needs of guests like you. Thank you again for your advice. We look forward to welcoming you back. Sky Valley Heritage Boutique Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2018 via mobile

Beautiful hotel. Good food. Great service. Not easy to find all of this in one boutique hotel. Every employee you come across in the hotel is there to make sure you have an exceptional vacation. I cannot say enough about this place. If you want to relax, be fed, energized, excited and feel like royalty - you must come here. Thank you to all the employees and friends at Sky Valley for making each vacation special.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank vivij412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jian j, General Manager at Sky Valley Heritage Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2018

Many thanks for sharing your experience here. Your generous words regarding your experience here have been shared with the team, and are appreciated by all. We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your holiday in Sky Valley and thanks for your sincere advice, we will try to do better. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back soon during your next trip in Dali.Sky Valley Heritage Boutique Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 18, 2018

Sky Valley is one of my favorite hotel if not the favorite.
Special thanks to Mr. Kay (I believe he is the hotel receptionist). Out flight got delayed so we did not arrive at the hotel until closed to 21.00 and the hotel restaurant was already closed. When learned that we had not had dinner, Mr. Kay kindly asked the chef to cook dinner for us. And on the last day, we had to leave the hotel before the usual breakfast time to catch our flight and Mr Kay agreed to have the restaurant served us breakfast before we left. He was also very helpful in advising us on transpoprtation to Dali old town and the airport.
The hotel is housed in a magnificant traditional Bai house which is more than 100 years old but has been tasefully restored. The room is spacious, well equipped and comfortable. It is within walking distance to Xizhou old town and easy to catch a mini-cab to Erhai Lake.
Lastly, Yunnan ham fried rice at the hotel is very yummy! We had it on the first night and again on the last night.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Thitithep N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jian j, General Manager at Sky Valley Heritage Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2018

Dear Mr. Thitithep N

Many thanks for sharing your experience here. Your generous words regarding your experience here have been shared with the team, and are appreciated by all. We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your holiday in Sky Valley and we will try to do better. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back soon during your next trip in Dali.

Sky Valley Heritage Boutique Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2017

The quality of the accommodation was superb but amazingly was bettered by the service. Went to celebrate our anniversary and birthday and chose the Garden View Suite. Lovely room all newly decorated/furnished. Bathroom great too. Thanks Kay for the warm welcome, I'm sure we'll be back :-)

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jian j, General Manager at Sky Valley Heritage Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2017

Thank you for taking the time out to review your recent experience with us. We are happy to read that both of you have enjoyed the stay. Your kind words have been shared and are appreciated by us all. Also, thank you for your recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back. Sky Valley Heritage Boutique Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 5, 2017

The Sky Valley Heritage Boutique Hotel is a restored central courtyard Bai property. Nestled into a residential neighborhood, its gates conceal a lovely garden and quiet refuge. Close by is a vibrant Bai market that is a must-see. Bicycles enable visitors to pedal out into the country past rice paddies, vegetable gardens and painstakingly worked family farms. Rooms are restored with respect for the past but with an appreciation for modern comfort. The staff is warm and welcoming and communicates well in English.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nancy6920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jian j, 总经理 at Sky Valley Heritage Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2017

Many thanks for sharing your experience here. Your generous words regarding your experience here have been shared with the team, and are appreciated by all. We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your holiday in Sky Valley and we will try to do better. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back soon during your next trip in Dali.Sky Valley Heritage Boutique Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews