We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (325)
Filter reviews
325 results
Traveller rating
257
54
9
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
257
54
9
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tiger leaping gorge beautiful garden old town private balcony shower curtain driver taxi english outskirts heating
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 325 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2016 via mobile

As many has reviewed before me, this place is more of a guesthouse rather than a hotel. For me the place is wonderful tucked away from the busy streets of lijiang and shuhe old town. The rooms were comfortable and hot shower functions perfectly. The garden was lush and peaceful and it was truly blissful to just sit there and enjoy a cup of tea. Service was great. They arranged a pick up from the train station(but i have to pay, considering the chalet fees are very reasonable its totally acceptable). My stay in lijiang was great considering one of the staff in the hotel named xiao he brought us around to the jade snow mountain and also tiger leaping gorge. He was a great guide and is of the naxi minority in china. Down side is that he can only speak mandarin and for those who cannot understand mandarin will not be able to know in much more detail of the history and cultures in lijiang from him. The owners bruce and linda though are well versed in english. A big thumbs up for this place. Photos below is our guide xiao he in tiger leaping gorge

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank wing seng C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 27, 2016

Not so much a hotel, more of a guesthouse, the Bruce Chalet does make for a quiet retreat away from the crazy crowds of Lijiang (and the merely busy Shuhe). It took our driver several attempts before he found - and he's been there before! However, it is only a 10minute walk into Shuhe - with its shops, bars and restaurants.
Our room was basic, but comfortable enough, though in need of a makeover - especially in the bathroom. On this trip to China we've been plagued with hotel water problems. In the Bruce Chalet this was the odd situation of plentiful hot water, but no cold. However, this was rectified later that day. In fact, at one point we were ready to check out and find alternative accommodation - but I am glad we didn't. It took a little while for its charms to become apparent, in particular the view of the mountains from the verandah and the lovely garden.
Breakfast was fine, too.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlKronos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 16, 2016 via mobile

We spent 6 nights with Linda and her support crew at the Bruce Chalet and enjoyed it very much. She was extremely helpful, assisting us make arrangements to see Shuhe, Baisha, Lijiang and other sites nearby. We stayed in one of the mountain view large rooms which gave a great view of Snow Mountain each day over the lovely garden setting. Linda's breakfasts and reccommendation for a place to eat each night, 'Home Fare' up near Square Street in Shuhe, were highlights of our stay. A great 6 days in a welcoming B&B.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank DavidWKimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 12, 2016

After long ride from Tiger Leaping Gorge trip finally, we have arrive Shuhe Ancient Town, Lijiang with full excitement. Our driver Azoh from Timeless Inn Shangri-La help us to locate where exactly is The Bruce Chalet. The excitement faded as realize this place is not easy to find and we have to suck our thumb!

We were greeted by 2 staff, Linda and Ah He upon arrival. With assisted from Ah He, we stay in room #205. Room was common basic, clean, and simple. Ceiling there was “hole” kind of chimney. It makes you hard to sleep more when day time arrives as getting brighter and brighter.

This hotel is more homestay concept rather than normally hotel. The hotel has nice garden landscape design middle of the hotel. Room doesn’t include breakfast and RMB30 per person if you won’t mind to pay. We having difficult to locate who are who hotel staff every time and sometime confused between who/where hotel staff and guest in house. The reception counters entrance near absolutely absurd and functionless!

10min walk from hotel to Shuhe Ancient Town main gate for getting transportation. Yes is FAR! No courtesy or taxi service provides from hotel and you need haggling taxi to get better rate to reach other old town. To getting in from Lijiang Old Town, you could face challenges as some driver taxi not sure where is the location of The Bruce Chalet. NOTHING special and nice about this hotel! No feel welcome or engagements compare our stay in Shangri-La.

We questioning are they truly deserve to be award by Tripadvisor and they rank #4.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TuahIdzwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 22, 2016 via mobile

A great place to stay in Lijiang. It has a lovely courtyard with lots of plants, some cherry blossom trees and cobbled paths. They also have 3 really adorable dogs which love to follow you around but are extremely harmless.

Rooms are adequate with the necessary amenities and a great electric heated matteress for the cold winter. They provide hot showers, wifi, distilled water and a homely breakfast cooked by the hosts.

It's also just a 10 minute walk away from Shuhe Ancient Town which is a great place to grab some dinner and chill in the evenings.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Charlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews