We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wamao Inn
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$133
US$127
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$93
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bivou(Lijiang)
US$104
US$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Baisha Holiday Resort Lijiang(Lijiang)(Great Value!)
US$25
US$19
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$114
US$81
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$70
US$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$61
US$57
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$32
US$31
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (499)
Filter reviews
499 results
Traveller rating
476
20
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
476
20
2
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 499 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2011

My wife and I stayed here during our visit to Lijiang. The Wamao Inn is a cozy place with clean rooms centered around a small courtyard. The owners were very helpful. They pointed out places to eat, set up our horse riding adventure, and even woke up early to make us free breakfast (Baozi) on our last morning. We will definitely stay here again. On a side note, the Inn is named after the owner's dog, a friendly border collie, who welcomes you back after each visit into the old city or wherever you go.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank joshuao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2011

Sorry Chunsheng & Dongdong but being busy during whole January that I dont even have a sec to write a trip report!

I would say It was so delightful about our choiceduring our anniversary trip in December, and It was the best days we've spend in Yunnan in our journey!

After a 5hours long coach journey from shangri-la we were warmly greeted by the owner Chunsheng, right outside the entrance of the old town. The little inn was incredibly well designed, the room was filled by a comfy king bed, a large LCD tv and a big modern bathroom equipped with luxury amenities.

We've got a detailed map right after we settled, all about old town and a bunch of local's favourite restaurants. Having had the best breakfast in our life during the stay!!

A journey to the surrounding was a must have for most tourists, thus our trip was negotiated by the owner with a very decent and unbeaten price from hight street !

Pros,
1. Comfy bed with thick curtain, well, I had better sleep than some 5* properties.
2. We had a whole roast pig party during our stay!
3. You'll get satisfaction from whatever you asked, if possible.
4. Eva and me love the table games with neighborhood guests !! But there's no chance Chunsheng could be beaten in any ways...
5. We love Wamao! and Qingpi..miss both of you!

Cons,
1. The cleaner must be more responsible for her job.
2. NOTHING.

Thanks for your great hospitality, and it was probably the most wonderful memory in our life! Hopefully we'll see you again very soon:)

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank frkstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2010

I stayed here for three nights. While I was there I was the only Westerner but there were some other Chinese guests. Since the Wamao is small you get to know everyone staying there. The Wamao (cat on the roof tiles not dog as the last review states) is family owned with the owners being very presonable and helpful. The Inn is located close to a vegetable market which is really fun to visit as long as it does not rain. Recommend the Wamao Inn.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
3  Thank jamejonus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2010

Stayed here for couple of nights coming in from Kunming and as a staging place for Shangrila. Located within old town, but not too close to the noise of the bars. 5 rooms so you will chill with your neighbours and get to know everyone. Owners are young, chilled couple who will take care of you (take you shopping so you don't get screwed). Wamao (the dog) is one of the friendliest creatures you'll meet. Enjoyed my stay immensely.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank natrificial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 8 July 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews