We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (452)
Filter reviews
452 results
Traveller rating
281
143
17
3
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
281
143
17
3
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old town stringed instrument homemade biscuits central location an oasis of calm hear the music cobbled streets small hotel yogurt reception area bar street ancient city visiting lijiang electric blankets tea english china
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 452 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2017

We were in Lijiang twice and the first time we tried to book this hotel it was sold out but so happy it was available the second time we were there. It is in a great location in the ancient city but hidden down a little alley which can make it hard to find but at the same time it's away from all the noise. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff are lovely. There is a man there who helped carry our bags to and from the main road which was a lifesaver when travelling with two young kids. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank OzIntrepidTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 8, 2017

We stayed for 3 nights here and had a lovely stay. It is 1 minute walk to one of the main thoroughfares of the old town and close to the central market square. The hosts are super friendly, and I must commend the very strong and lovely man (sorry I did not get his name) who carried our super heavy luggage on his shoulders and always greeted us with a big hello in English whenever he saw us. The rooms are a good size and the shower was compact but sufficient. We had a room on the second floor and was quite comfortable. The streets are busy every night til around 11pm with people and music, but that really just added to the charm of the area. After that time it was very quiet and we got a good night's sleep each time. I highly recommend this place as it is in a great location, and we ended up finding it quite easily as we stopped and asked at all the travel agent stores along the way. Once you are on Wuyi street, there is a large tree just before a bridge, near the ginger sugar shop, and the alley has a toilet sign on it, and the hotel is down the alley. There is a drum shop directly opposite the entrance to the alley. I would dearly love to return to Zen Garden, if only to have their delicious cookies and tea!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KittyCushion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2017

We stayed twice at this hotel; the stuff is friendly and trying to help, all with a smile.
Rooms are clean but a bit small; still they tried to fill all our wishes.
Breakfast OK for foreigners with egg, fruit, bread etc.
We had rooms at the second floor with amazing view.
It is really a Zen garden place to relax

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mnaor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 9, 2017

We really enjoyed our stay here. We chose this hotel rather than it's sister hotel as the other was further up hill and we are glad we did because of the position. Was an experience that was a little different to us. Our travel company had contacted the hotel about our arrival and we were met at the roadside by a man with a wagon to carry our luggage and umbrellas for the rain for ourselves. By the time we had walked to the hotel over the flagstones downhill , our luggage was there. Our luggage was taken upstairs for us to the second floor. The reception had quite good English and was very helpful. Very good value for money. They suggested that we look at the traditional room that we had chosen on line before we moved in as they had had experience with other customers changing their mind. The bed was too small for our liking which was not easy to see on line. We were offered a different room which we were happy with. The room was small and much plainer but was okay for us. They also offered to put the two sing'e beds together but we declined. The bed was a little hard for our taste. Everything was very clean. The garden is something special and was worth staying here just for that, beautifully tended. The hotel common area in the reception has antique items that added to the charm. Breakfast was quite good with options that were quite good for a westerner. Wifi in the reception area was fine though we experienced the usual problem through out China of not being to access Google. The staff were helpful in all areas, recommendations, directions, etc. There was music played in the garden both mornings by a lovely lady dressed in traditional outfit on a stringed instrument i could not identify. This was very soothing. We had no trouble with noise. Location was great. Possibly would not be ideal for a stay if you had poor mobility. The hotel is not near the road and there are stairs to climb if your room is on the second level. We found the location great as it was easy walking distance to anything we wanted. While there is no restaurant on site, there are so many restaurant choices so close you are spoiled for choice. There is a small grocery store right next to the entrance where you can buy a beer if you wish. The cookies that were in the reception are very tasty. The views from the second floor allow you to see good views of the town and a pagoda on the hill. Our luggage again was carted back up the hill on our departure.Would highly recommend for anyone to stay here that is tired of the sameish hotels that could be anywhere in the world. This one has unique character that will delight most travellers.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank prussia2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 16, 2017

We stayed here as part of a customized 8-day tour with China Discovery (the one based in Chengdu -- which was a great trip and very reasonably priced) and appreciated the location and breakfast, as well as the friendliness of the staff. As others have noted, the zither music as of 8:30 a.m. (1/2 hour before breakfast ends) is a delight, as is the garden. Beds were fine and staying there was a pleasure.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enghien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews