We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (554)
Filter reviews
554 results
Traveller rating
193
219
98
23
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
193
219
98
23
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews meal times pool bar entertainment team thomson rep family room kids club zlatni rat just returned from a week plastic glasses french guests free bike hire minute journey until midnight plenty of seats wine and beer other nationalities french hotel
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 554 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2018 via mobile

Just returned form a lovely 10 nights holiday at this All Inclusive resort which is predominantly for the French
We were fortunate with our transfers to & from the hotel, just a death defying journey by mini bus on the mountain road from the ferry to Bol!

Check in was swift, however, there was no one to help with our luggage or indeed show us where to go, we were given a map of the resort & pointed in the right direction - fine if like us you’re able bodied, as there are no lifts & we had lots of steps to our room

The room was fine, clean & tidy, but again if you had mobility issues you would struggle as the bath had deep sides, an overhead shower but no grab rails
We had emailed ahead & asked for an upper room in a quiet location which is exactly what we got. Most rooms, I think had a sea view, all had free WiFi, safe & air conditioning, complementary toiletries & hairdryer. Rooms were cleaned daily, towels changed on request & bedding changed twice a week

The hotel is quirky because it’s old but functional - apparently it is having a refurbished from October 18 to May19
Everything centres around the pool, where the one & only bar is, this is something we have never experienced before but it worked, We don’t sit around the pool during the day or watch the evening entertainment we
prefer to be out & about, but on every occasion we got back to the hotel for a lunchtime, teatime or evening drink we never struggled to find a seat & were served promptly at the bar by the very friendly bar staff, all of whom spoke English
We had no choice when we were at the hotel but to watch the entertainment, but, to be honest even though everything was in French we couldn’t help but giggle at the antics of the entertainment team & the guests - who knew you could have so much fun with a ball, chairs & a cardboard box!

The food was perfectly fine, we never struggled to find anything to eat, our only complaint was that it was always lukewarm. Again we never had to queue or wait for a table You can eat every meal outside on a covered terrace or in the air conditioned restaurant

The hotel is in a great position, 10 minutes walk on the tree lined promenade to Zlatni Rat or 20 minuets in the opposite direction into beautiful Bol itself. There are lots of lovely walks in the area & we took advantage of the free hotel mountain bike hire to explore further a field

We went to Split one day, catching the Catamaran from Bol, it was about an hours journey & cost 160 kunars return. The old wall city is well worth a visit
We booked the Jeep Safari with Lesley the lovely Thompson rep. Would recommend this half day trip if you want to see the beautiful country side take in the spectacular views, & learn a little of the Brac culture from the local guide

All in all a great holiday in a hotel which is slightly different to your usual All Inclusive!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Wooly159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 11, 2018 via mobile


My wife and I stayed for the first 11 days in September AI, we had a great holiday as always we love this country it’s our 7th Visit to to Croatia and our 7th resort .
The hotel is is very basic and very old but full of character nestled in a pine forest 10 mins from the beach and 20mins walk from the beautiful Bol, there are some lovely walks and bike rides around the area in beautiful locations. - .Rooms are ok size, air con and free safe cleaned daily, sea view for most, the rooms are in blocks (pavilions)very quite and most are away from the noise of the main hotel, shower gel , soap, pool towel etc provided and WiFi (not great) , and free to use mountain bikes
Restaurant- again very basic all inclusive you won’t go hungry but typical Croatia AI, no dress code , large outdoor eating area which is pleasant but gets a bit smokey at times , quite a few wasps around as well, you can always go inside if required, If I had to moan at all the food was cold on quite a few occasions breakfast,lunch and dinner

Bar - the bar is next to the pool it’s the only bar open in the hotel, everything in this hotel revolves round this area, games ,entertainment etc , never had to queue once in our holiday for a drink the 5 guys who run it are very good and quick,small plastic glasses are a pain but they just give you 2 when you go so not an issue.

Entertainment- all French so couldn’t understand any of it but didn’t bother me , it is a French hotel after all, on Friday Saturday and Monday-nights at 21:45 the entertainment moves to the sister hotel next door for international singers and the bar area becomes empty, one night only 6 English guests were left in the area, the sister hotel isn’t included in the AI package !!!!!!so you need to buy drinks if you go this hotel bar shuts at 11 you can pay after that if needed,if you need to know anything about the entertainment you can just ask the animation team they are friendly and can speak some English however as they put it ‘we are a French animation team’ not English!!

Transfer- it’s 35 mins from Split airport to the ferry, then you are given a ferry ticket and you have to get on the ferry yourself with your luggage , up 2 flight of stairs to the outside sitting area then a 55 min sail across to Supertar , then a guy meets you and points you to a bus which takes you to the hotel about 40 mins over a mountain road which is an adventure in itself especially if you driver is crazy fast like ours was, on arrival we were in block 2, it was 66 steps to the room from reception so quite trail a with you luggage from ferry to room .
As long as you remember this a French hotel with French speaking entertainers with a long days travel in front of you won’t be disappointed it’s a lovely place for a relaxing holiday

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank bubba193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 9, 2018 via mobile

stated here for 2 weeks in august. Rooms basic people lovely cleaners amazing staff very helpful except 1 miserable cow in restaurant but she was dealt with immediately!! Lesley the rep who works for Tui absolutely AMAZING!! Nothing was too much trouble she always had a smile on her face .Gem of a lady. The international entertainers KARIM & TENA,these 2 are amazing people the best by far always went that extra mile no matter what loads of love&respect for them. These 2 made our holiday special (thankyou so much) All in all BRILLIANT holiday would go back 2mo.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2018 via mobile

We have stayed here before and at the Borak. In hindsight this is the better hotel due to the all inclusive packages they offer which also includes free bike hire and drinks. It’s in a good location although after a hard day slogging yourself on the beach there is a short walk back up the hill but it’s nothing major. The food here is excellent, couldn’t fault it. The rooms are a little tired and need a refurb. Rooms overlooking the pool are noisy in an evening, but I would go again.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank uname2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2018

We stayed for a fortnight in August - our first time in Croatia, Bol is a fantastic place, beaches amazing as are the town and the people - a fantastic place to spend time - I would come back here without hesitation.

The Bonaca hotel has a good location, a short walk to Zlatni Rat Beach or to the town/harbour. The hotel has all the usual facilities, its a good pool, good room, good gym etc, (all good - nothing exceptional) - all the staff were friendly - the guest mix was probably 90% French vs 10% "Internationals", as such all the entertainment or "Animation" is aimed for that audience... This isn't a problem and you certainly don't feel excluded - but something to be aware of and means its easy to miss events and opportunities, (i.e. you might wonder how/why everyone turns up in the evening in colour co-ordinated dress - or wonder when everyone disappears to watch the "So Frenchy" show!!)

The "International" (#notfrench) Kids Club was headed up by Tena who was amazing, she spoke every language under the sun and was fantastic with our son Samuel. Tena ran morning / afternoon sessions, led the Mini Disco every night and also got the kids involved in the Disney themed show with the other Bluesun hotels on the wider grounds... think better than school nativity on one days rehearsal!!!

Tena was great - I can't speak highly enough of her - she will go far!!!

Also - a big shout out to Karim who was working on the international (#notfrench) team, enjoyed the bike tour he led.

The hotel itself was all inclusive - food was good, no complaints - a bit repetitive and the dining hall could get noisy - no big deal, I just don't like queueing for food! Breakfast was the weakest meal - but I'm being a bit picky!! (I just wanted an omelette!)

Drinks however were a bit below average. Wine drinkable.... Soft drinks less so, lemonade was ok, but you can only get that at the pool bar and not the dining hall. Beer is nice, but served in 1/3 litre glasses.... fine when self-serving in dining hall, getting a quarter pint in a plastic glass at the pool bar got tiresome though.... and I steered clear of spirits and cocktails as the mixers were so poor.... Cocktails in town - or down at the beach bar better.

In summary, Bol great - you wont regret it, hotel fine - you wont regret it.... all my it picking is based on the fact we just normally don't do all inclusive and I saw nothing that makes me want to do it again.... I enjoyed eating out more and would have preferred a Bed and Breakfast.... Id have paid for better drinks as well.

Kids club great because Tena was great!!!

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank mikelee76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews