We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful restaurant ”
Review of Giaxa

Giaxa
Ranked #24 of 163 Restaurants in Hvar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed October 1, 2017 via mobile

Tucked slightly off the main plaza, this is a great place for lunch or dinner. It has a very pretty terrace and food is very good. The restaurant is known for its lobster linguine and fisherman’s stew. We also had the monkfish carpaccio, prosciutto ravioli, and saffron risotto. Everything was very tasty and fresh. I also recommend trying out the locally produced wines. A must destination for those who enjoy quality fresh produce in a relaxed environment, away from the bustle of the waterfront.

Date of visit: October 2017
2  Thank ShaneGBennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (928)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 82 of 928 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2017 via mobile

Good restaurant with a pleasant atmosphere and great range of seafood and wine. Service was also decent. Though one of the more expensive we visited in Hvar.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank ScottG1232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 24, 2017 via mobile

Such a lovely restaurant!

The location is really pretty and is set in an old Venetian palace. The service was really good and our waiter recommended lovely Croatia wine. The food was beautiful and I would definitely recommend the restaurant for dinner. The lunch menu was outstanding as well!

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 24, 2017

We came here as it is just on the next corner to where we were staying, and as we had walked past on previous evenings it looked very romantic in the alleyway and the guests seemed to be enjoying their food selections.
We booked earlier in the day and were fortunate to get a table in the alleyway itself. As we like to eat early 7pm it wasn't busy so as it was date night for my husband and I we enjoyed the solitude.
I went on the waiters recommendation of the gregada and it was indeed delicious. Make sure you bring your appetite as the serving size is large. My husband had the steak which he also enjoyed although it didnt overwhelm him . To finish we shared the chocolate souffle and it was very rich and chocolatey, a great end to a beautiful night.
All of the waiting staff were friendly and considerate with just the right amount of attention given. Enjoy.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Donna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 20, 2017

I recently read an article where this restaurant was rated quite high for places to visit in Hvar. We looked at the menu and it looked appealing. We were greeted by very friendly staff. After reviewing the menu we ordered a scallops appetizer, the lamb in fig sauce and tenderloin with roasted potatoes. We were given a gratis vegetarian pie-like dish and gazpacho to begin with. The gazpacho was fine but the pie was a bit bland and dry. The scallop appetizer was disappointing. The scallops did not taste fresh and the sauce they were served in was less than impressive. The tenderloin was done to perfection but the roasted potatoes were a bit dry. The lamb also did not seem fresh and was quite tasteless. All in all we had high hopes but were a bit disappointed overall.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank mmv0703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Giaxa also viewed

Hvar, Hvar Island
 
Hvar, Hvar Island
Hvar, Hvar Island
 

Been to Giaxa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing