We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (567)
Filter reviews
567 results
Traveller rating
141
193
121
59
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
141
193
121
59
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviews carpe diem sister hotel glass door rooms are small people watching hotel group main promenade junior suite sea view breakfast was excellent adriana hotel our honeymoon bars and restaurants fantastic location hvar town stari grad yacht
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 567 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2018 via mobile

Undoubtedly the BEST location on the whole island! Whether arriving by taxi boat from Split or a personal boat straight from the airport, you arrive only 25m from the front door. In the heart of the bustling waterfront walkways filled with, Gelato shops, bars, & restaurants you are steps away from Everything. With a super friendly staff and comfortable rooms you are sure to love your stay here. Start the day with a big breakfast buffet including several hot choices, omelettes made to order, or even a mimosa (included in the buffet.) Opt for a room facing the water as the views are stunning. Every day different yachts worth millions pulling in and out of the harbor. Also be sure to spend a few hours in the spa located just a short walk away. Peaceful treatment rooms, relaxing rooftop lounges, and a romantic setting will give you a nice break from down below. The housekeeping staff also do a wonderful job and are super attentive. HIGHLY Recommend!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank AustinArmacost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2018 via mobile

Let me think, refrigerator didn’t work, told front desk, nothing changed. Shower light didn’t work, told front desk, nothing changed. Room extremely small, hard to fine a place for luggage. Shower leaks all over the floor ever time you use it. Hard to keep water in sink when using it. Bed was comfortable. We will complain to travel carrier and hope they don’t use this hotel again.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank hardshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2018

Don't be fooled by the website photos of a stylish, funky, boutique hotel. This, it certainly isn't.

The Riva is a tired and noisy hotel desperately in need of investment with tiny bedrooms. Our children's rooms were supposed to be "Superior doubles" and looked nice - and reasonably large - on the website. Imagine our surprise to find they were barely large enough for a human. And the layout of our "suite" was … just odd.

And the tempting photos of a stylish bar were also bordering on dishonesty. Nobody used it except for staff to store old furniture.

The good news: Just book its sister hotel, The Adriana, across the harbour and you'll be delighted. It's been recently refurbished and is splendid, with a motivated and caring team. Great rooftop bar, spa and harbour-view restaurant, run by the excellent Kocha and his team.

Room tip: Choose a room in another hotel
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2018

We arrived in Hvar via ferry from Split and were thrilled to realize that the hotel is literally steps away from the dock. As one of the properties that sits on the harbour, you are central to the action and dining that surround it. We had a harbour view room which offered a stunning view. Even by European standards, the rooms are quite small but modern and well-appointed. An extra few square feet would have allowed us to keep our luggage out. Oddly, our room was missing the shower door which comically took us a while to figure out because of the modern design. Can't say we were big fans of the glass doors/walls on the water closet, though. We pretty much share everything but some experiences are better left un-shared. The hotel is very clean and the breakfast buffet is truly excellent. It is not an inexpensive property so be aware that what you are gaining in location, you are giving up in space. On the flip side, Hvar in August is such a beautiful location, the time spent in your room will no doubt be minimal.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pizzaandsushi2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 11, 2018

Unfortunately this hotel didn't quite live up to expectation - we booked a standard ' Hvar view' room and its just not clear on the site or upon booking that this means that there is no view - it is a view of a brick wall. The lcoation is great - right on the promenade so you can walk straight off the ferry into the hotel. The staff were great and the breakfast was delicious but the room had issues. Not only the view - the bed & pillows were not comfortable, the bathroom was very 'not private', and it wasn't quiet -as other reviews have mentioned. It was however a nice touch to have the prosecco on arrival in the room. I just feel those rooms with a 'Hvar view' should be priced differently.

Room tip: Get a sea view room, not Hvar view
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sunjunkie85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews