We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Hotel in Ideal Location”
Review of Hotel Meteor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Meteor
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Makarska
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Having stayed at the Hotel Meteor two years ago, we recommended it to our friends who travelled with us this September. Always a worry that things may not be so good, or that your friends will view things differently. As it turned out, such concerns were unnecessary - they were as impressed as we were.

We stayed for a fortnight from 5-19 September. I am pleased to report that this Hotel has undergone refurbishment in the past two years and whilst the standard of interior furnishings was good then, it is even better now. The carpeting throughout the hotel is very good, as are the leather sofas in the reception area. The standard of cleanliness throughout all areas of the hotel, including the public areas, restaurant and rooms cannot be faulted. The rooms are a good size are well equipped and most have a side see view. Certain suites have a full sea view.

The good sized outside swimming pool (which is filled with sea water) has a good number of loungers and parasols around it. Furthermore, if you are early enough for breakfast, you might be lucky enough to witness the parade of our foreign friends heading towels in hand to the pool to reserve their loungers for the day. That said, later on in the day it did prove possible to find the odd one or two chairs, that had by then been vacated. As we spent a good deal of time away from the hotel during the day visiting other areas of Croatia this did not cause us any particular problem. There is also a very impressive indoor swimming pool with a hot tub alongside. In the same complex can be found a well-equipped gym. However, as most guests, including myself, wanted to use the one decent treadmill, perhaps more treadmills should be available rather than the plethora of weight training equipment. Not too many people young enough or fit enough to go weight training whilst we were there.

On first entering the restaurant it is somewhat of a daunting experience with guests and staff everywhere. However after a short time the layout of the place becomes clear. Starters down one area, desserts down another and in the centre of the restaurant can be found the selection of main courses. All the food is of good quality. However, having watched the omelettes being prepared at breakfast I was not wholly convinced they were cooked sufficiently. There were plenty of other cooked egg variants to be had, so leaving omelettes was not too much of a sacrifice. In general, I felt there was room for improvement with the cooked breakfasts. I believe mushrooms featured once in the fortnight, there were no potato-based dishes and the tomatoes were merely sliced and uncooked. A further criticism I would make is that all too often replenishment was not quick enough and virtually empty metal food dishes were sometimes to be found in the main area. However, somewhat to counter that criticism be careful not to place yourself between the dish to be replenished and the relevant member of staff. Nothing will stand in the way of carrying out ones duties and a guest can sometimes be cast to one side with a cursory sorry. This tends to sound rather damning, but as said earlier the food was of good quality and during the evening meal there was a good variety to be had.

Whilst the beach immediately outside the hotel was very busy, we found that by turning right past the Lido Restaurant and walking some fifteen or so minutes along the promenade it was possible to find some much quieter areas of the beach. Given the pebbles on the beach and in the sea it is necessary to wear rubber or plastic shoes.

There are some good walks from the hotel and depending on how adventurous you felt, it was certainly possible to walk a good distance along the promenade and through the woods to the right of the hotel. Further good walks could be undertaken around the headland beyond the harbour area.

We had very enjoyable, albeit lengthy trips to Dubrovnik and Mostar. We visited Split and Omis by local bus. From Omis we had a scenic boat trip along the Cetina River. We also took one of the boat excursions from Makarska harbour to Brac, Hvar and Bol.

To conclude, despite the minor criticisms above, this is a very well run hotel and the staff are efficient and friendly. The location of the hotel is very good and Croatia is such a scenic Country. We had a splendid time with our friends at the Hotel Meteor and would have no hesitation in returning at some time in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank JP1Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (468)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

211 - 217 of 468 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2011

On 26th August we flew on Croatian Airlines from Gatwick to Split to stay in the Meteor with Thomas Cook holidays. The flight was excellent plenty of legroom, a meal, wine and we took off and landed on time. It was very hot when we arrived at 8pm and the very very hot weather lasted all week. We had a very nice welcome at the hotel with glasses of bubbly, a meal, soft drinks and a plate of fruit. The room and bathroom were fine but the water was tepid and not great for bathing and shaving. Breakfast was OK but the evening meal was awful - cold food, food that was so hard you could not eat it. Salad selection poor and desserts selection the worst we have had. Pizza was good though!!!

We never saw the Rep as she was ill. My husband was ill so we had help from Reception who were very good and sent us to the hospital where we were seen and out in 20 mins which was free as was a course of antibiotics.
Because it was so hot it was very uncomfortable but we went to Split on the bus and Hvar on a trip which was very good.

We were delayed at Split by 90 mins on the way back.
This is our second stay at the Meteor the last being in May of 2006 - it was better then and we only had bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jean503912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

So, the good stuff first: great loctaion, nice room, nice view of the ocean and the mountans, great AC (very, very quiet and perfect temperature) and a good gym. The breakfast was ok, no more no less,

The thing we didn't like though was the pool area. Well, the pool area itself is ok (though a bit crowded in high season) but we couldn't use it at all (which was a shame, we had after all payed for it!) because every time we tried loud music was played in the speakers. I asked for it to be turned down, but no change. And loud, bad music (some form of kids version of techno or schmaltzy balads!) is NOT very relaxing...

To me it is VERY strange that a 4 star hotel plays loud music by the pool. (On the Saturday when we were about to leave there was no music = very nice to stay there.)

Apart from that we enjoyed our stay at Meteor.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank aprilskies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Hotel excellent, staff friendly, good food, great location within walking distance of lovely harbour and bars. Beach just outside hotel entrance (pebbles but very clean and crystal clear water) Would definately return for future holidays. Only small criticism was some of evening hotel was not up to standard.
We travelled with Saga and had separate lounge and free bar, all very good.

Room Tip: Most rooms on the normal tariff are partial sea view but perfectly adequate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Maznmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

This year we switched our holiday from a Greek island to Croatia mainland and ended up at Makarska. From this town we had the opportunity to reach Medjugorje in Bosnia which was a plus. On suggestion from some friends we booked at hotel Meteor.
The hotel is a good 4 stars hotel with all the amenities one would expect, rooms are little small but clean and without any issue.
Reception's staff was able to attend any particular requests with a smile and we hv absolutely no complain.
Food at breakfast was good quality, variety and quantity with continuous fresh replenishment, seasonal fresh fruit, fresh eggs prepared on the spot, etc. One small remark, the fruit juices, to my test were from a lower quality canned juices. One other remarks is the breakfast timing, it ends at 10.00 sharp and few minutes before they lock the door entrance and they start removing food from the buffet so in this hotel you must wake up in time otherwise no breakfast! Ending breakfast at 10.00 is generally normal at business hotels, at beach hotels it should be ending either 10.30 or 11.00. if during my working time I wake up at 8 am to be in the office at 9 am, in holiday I would like to wake up say at 09.30 and go for a relaxing breakfast, not to rush for it.
Anyhow beside the breakfast we did not had other food at hotel but tested various restaurants in town, overall not impressed at all with food quality, our conclusion was that except for fresh fish the rest of the food is below average.
Swimming pool area looks big enough but be there at peak summer with over 500 guests in the hotel, no way you can find a sun chair or umbrella until 5 pm, so the first day we opted to go to the free beach in front of the hotel, from bad to worse, super-crowded, no free sun chairs or sun umbrellas but also not a free 2 square meters of space to put down your towel. We met some locals who were telling us that they go to the beach either very early in the morning or in the evening hours in order enjoy some little space..to cut a long story short, next day we ended up renting a car and moved towards north where we found less crowded beaches and this is how we spent the rest of our week holiday.
To conclude, the hotel was ok but in a super crowded place, perhaps June or September are better months to visit this place although weather condition could be questionable. Croatia is beautiful land but should have been better to spend there our holidays 10 years ago when perhaps the mass tourism had not arrived yet. As we are left with mixed feelings, we will still try to identify a different less crowded place in Croatia to spend one of our next holidays in the years to come.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank italian_traveller_59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed in Makarska riviera in the very high season. The place was full of tourists, mainly from former Yugoslavia-region, and it was hard to find a place from the beach. The atmosphere was although relaxed and the scenery to the sea beautiful. The whole Makarska area with the harbour and old town is just beautiful.

We had a room with two beds and an extra bed for our 7 year old daughter. The beds were comfortable but the pillows were too puffy for us. The spare bed was large which was positive but it really takes space from the rest of the room. So there was not much extra room and I must say there was too little space for storage. The room was clean and we had an amazing scenary to the mountains from the balcony. Air conditioning worked well.

We did not use any other service in the hotel than restaurant and swimming pool. The breakfast was really nice, they even had a cook making fresh omelette. Only the coffee was not fresh but nescafe. We were very satisfied with the lunch: they had two types of soups, different kinds of salads, meat and fish and side dishes, the dessert table with three types of ice cream, cakes and fresh fruits. Lots of variety every day. We had dinner two times and especially the Dalmatian night was delicious.

We took a trip to Duprovnik and the scenery on the way was really worth seeing. Croatia is a really interesting country. The beaches are mostly pebbles and you should always have swimming shoes. You don't need sun parasols because the beaches are not wide and lay mainly under the pine trees.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank EevaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

We have just come back from a two week stay at the Meteor Hotel. Overall we had a lovely stay and the hotel is clean and pleasant and in a good location. We did find it disappointing that the hotel did not often have any evening entertainment and when they did put something on it was awful. One evening they had ‘Cabaret’ which consisted of the entertainment staff miming to songs and doing really cringey dance routines (that looked like the kind of thing children put on for family members at Christmas parties). Another evening the entertainment was ‘Children’s Disco’ which I don’t really think counts as entertainment as far as the adult guests are concerned. However, the hotel is located directly on the main strip which is full of bars and restaurants so there is always somewhere to go.

The food was generally nice although incredibly salty and the buffet system was a bit spread out and confusing. One thing that we didn’t like about the dining arrangements was that on your first evening they allocate you a table which is to be yours for your whole stay – this would have been fine but we were put on a table with another couple and were told that they were to be our friends for the rest of the holiday. Unfortunately they were not very friendly and it made meal times very awkward and uncomfortable. We would have much preferred to be on our own table.

Another couple of things to point out would be that it seemed that the hotel was more popular with older couples rather than younger ones, and that the English are a minority in the hotel which I think is because Croatia has not become a major holiday destination for the English yet.

We did enjoy our stay at the Meteor (mainly because of its location) but there were a few things that I didn’t think were up to scratch for a 4 star hotel, including the staff (as some of them were rude to us). Also, we found that in the morning they didn’t refresh the tables after they had been used so you would often be sitting at a dirty table with no cutlery etc, and in the evening we didn’t get asked if we would like to order any drinks until we had pretty much finished our meals, resulting in us not having any drinks with our meal for most of the two weeks.

I wouldn’t want to discourage people from going to this hotel because it is clean and comfortable, which to me are the most important things, but on the other hand it defiantly had its negatives and I would only really class it as a 3 star hotel rather than it’s given 4 stars.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank cazzie018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makarska hotels
0.7 km away
The Maritimo Hotel
The Maritimo Hotel
#1 of 17 in Makarska
284 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Dalmacija
Hotel Dalmacija
#5 of 17 in Makarska
334 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Park
Hotel Park
#2 of 17 in Makarska
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Biokovo
Hotel Biokovo
#8 of 17 in Makarska
155 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Osejava
Hotel Osejava
#3 of 17 in Makarska
302 reviews
0.4 km away
Aparthotel Miramare
Aparthotel Miramare
#9 of 17 in Makarska
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meteor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meteor

Address: Kralja Petra Kresimira iv. bb, Makarska 21300, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Makarska
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Makarska
#3 Spa Hotel in Makarska
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Makarska
#5 Family Hotel in Makarska
Price Range: $133 - $655 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Meteor 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Meteor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meteor Hotel Makarska
Hotel Meteor Makarska
Hotel Meteor Croatia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing