We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Casa Mojanda(Otavalo)
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa de Luis(Otavalo)
US$45
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cabanas Balcon del Lago(Otavalo)(Great Value!)
US$35
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Apartamentos Rocsan(Otavalo)(Great Value!)
US$32
Booking.com
View Deal
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hostal Otavalos Inn(Otavalo)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveller rating
83
20
3
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
20
3
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat place to chillliving spacehummingbird househappy dogsfuya fuyataxi driveextra blanketsmountain lodgerolling hillsdining roomwe loved our staypeaceful staystayed longerrooms are nicewarm blanketsbed was comfortablebreakfast was included
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 109 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2017 via mobile

We spent only one day at La Luna but enjoyed it immensely. Located about 10 mins outside of otavalo by car, it's tranquil, peaceful and has beautiful views across the imabura volcanic region. The dogs are super friendly as are the horses. The vistas are spectacular.

The accomodation is tasteful and authentic with beautiful exposed beams and traditionally woven furnishings. Highly recommend getting a room with a fireplace to add to the ambience of this mountain retreat.

Food is excellent- the coffee and mulled wine in particular! The staff were so welcoming and despite our terrible Spanish we managed to get by. If you are a bit worried re. The language barrier, the owners live close by and speak English so no need to worry! A great place to relax- we wish we could have stayed longer.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Judeena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 21, 2017

La Luna is a wonderful lodge set halfway between Otavalo and the beautiful Mojanda lakes and old volcanoes.
It has the cosy feeling of a country house and yet while we were there it accommodated 30 people at a time including a large group of 17 camping in the lodge's ground. This did not make for a diminished service however, with reception being always attended, delicious meals served on time and rooms cleaned and tidied every day.
The dining room and living space are so cosy and welcoming, with wooden tables and benches, 2 fireplaces, sofas, a TV with dozens of DVD to choose from and last but not least 3 wonderful, well-behaved, happy dogs that just can't get enough of being petted by guests and running around the beautiful gardens. There are also 5 hammocks in the patio overlooking a spectacular vista of the Otavalo valley and surrounding mountains.

So far so good - but what really set this place apart for us was the kindness and resourcefulness of the owner, Tamara, who was a huge help when we were robbed of everything we had at the Mojanda lakes. Tamara assisted us in dealing with the local police, lent us her personal laptop and phone so we could make the necessary calls and enquiries to cancel cards and phones, drove us around and last but not least assisted us with getting some emergency cash from Western Union when we were left with no documents.

We will be eternally grateful to La Luna and Tamara, and would also like to stress that the robbery was an isolated, opportunistic theft in an otherwise welcoming and safe area. We were never physically threatened and only our belongings, which were left momentarily unattended in a refuge by the lake, were targeted.

We definitely recommend visiting Otavalo market and the Mojanda lakes, and staying at La Luna. Given what happened to us, the place could have carried really bad memores for us, but instead we will always remember it, and Tamara, fondly. We hope to come back one day!

Elena & Sam

Room Tip: The Mandarina room on the first floor is very spacious, and has a lovely fireplace
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Elena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 11, 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and enjoyed our stay ☺️ the first night we were surprised to be the only guests there! And the second night another couple arrived - so for us it was a very quiet and peaceful stay. The staff, especially Susie were all really lovely and professional (only Spanish speaking) and helpful, lighting the fires in the common areas for us and making delicious breakfast and dinner for us! We wanted to hike in the second day but alas it was raining heavily so we stayed at La Luna watching movies (they have a huge selection) by the fire and drinking tea! Not a bad way to spend the day ☺️ rooms were cold at night but they have heaps of extra blankets - shower was warm - dogs were friendly and views are beautiful. Nice place to stay for a few days ☺️

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Elisha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 9, 2017 via mobile

we finished our Southamerica trip at this lovely and calm place - perfect for holidays from the holidays :-)
the rooms are nice (bit pricy compared to the average in Ecuador) and all of them are perfect to get a good sleep.
The Breakfast is included and the best we had during our trip trough Southamerica: always fresh and friendly prepared and everyday different.
You can cook by yourself but also enjoy a great diner which is always freshly prepared and tasty. As we're loving the locacl dishes it would be nice having some more local food instead (delicious) of so many Pizza and Pasta options. The diner you can enjoy at the always lighted fireplace inside the friendly decorated Restaurant.
During the day you can relax in one of the hammocks and listen to the birds...

The only thing which could be improved would be an earlier breakfast. Normaly you get it at 8am and so late for doing longer daytrips (especially during this season when it is raining in the afternoon).

To get to the place you can take a Taxi for 4...5$ or the red local bus for 0.35$. the bus runs only in the morning and evning.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank NaUe2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 30, 2017

This is a very charming, very comfy mountain lodge! We loved our stay her and wish we could have stayed longer. It is beautifully set in the mountains, with great out-the-door trekking or a short taxi ride to the Otavalo Market. Our service was wonderful and very helpful. We enjoyed relaxing in the main lodge where they have free wifi, a comfy lounge with games and tv/free dvds (we arrived pretty exhausted after a few weeks of trekking so appreciated the resting area) and a wonderful social setting to visit with other travelers. We ate most of our meals there and both the food and service were fantastic. Our room was very comfortable and clean. I would highly recommend this charming hostel.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank rubygirl6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews