We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atht eh Hotel Kaveka the Fish and the Food are excellent”

Hotel Kaveka Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 13 Restaurants in Maharepa
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed April 17, 2017

We re-visited the Hotel Kaveka recently. it was very good the first time around so we decided that we would go there again. We weren't disappointed at all. In fact the food (along with the fish) are if anything better than we remembered. Robert was the chef when we dined and his won ton soup was terrific. My wife had the Onion soup which I tasted and it was also very nice. We had eaten at " Mahongany" a local restaurant with friends the day before and essentially we had similar meals but the soups at the Kaveka were much better. I had the rump steak and it was cooked to perfection. The cream brulee for desert was also just great . My wife had Poisson Crue fro main which was not made with coconut milk but with limes and it was fantastic. My wife not usually a "desert" person had the what she thought would be a smaller serving in selecting the "trio of deserts" and she loved every spoonful. The prices were reasonable and comparable to what you pay for a 3x course lunch in NZ. However the ambiance and service, not to mention the fish in the lagoon which surrounds this restaurant, who just seem to know when its feeding time make this a memorable place to stay and to eat.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Craigt1300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 275 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2017

Expensive buffet for a so-so food....show OK but not memorable. Nice setting but very disappointing...

Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kavekaMoorea, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Kaveka Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review our Restaurant; we try our utmost to address such comments that you experienced, however if you had talked to our Maitre d’hôtel – we could have solved or compensated you in some way – Wishing you an enjoyable stay with us here on Moorea.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 9, 2017

Kaveka restaurant has a nice view of Cook's Bay and food quality was good. They were not very busy when we ate there so it made for a relaxed dining experience.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 645arnej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 5, 2017

Excellent food and a great selection. Beautiful waterfront location. Reserve your table ahead of time, if you have hopes of eating water side. We tried their sorbet at the end of the meal. Passion fruit, coconut and pineapple. So good. Our Waiter was helpful and friendly. The meal was delicious.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HiddenCoveOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 5, 2017

This place is very special mostly due to the fact the restaurant is located on a piled structure laying on a coral bed in the Bay of Cook. Hence the surrounding view is one of kind and that atmosphere very relaxing. Adding a good quality meal at reasonable price makes it a place to recommend to any traveler. Noteworthy the owner speaks perfect English.

Thank Gilbert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hotel Kaveka Restaurant also viewed

 
Maharepa, Moorea
Cook's Bay, Moorea
 

Been to Hotel Kaveka Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing