We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Diving”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Anthony's Key Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sandy Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
122 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Diving”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We had a great dive at the resort which was booked from our cruise ship. I thought the diving was great in Cozumel but this was equally as great. The diving is right off shore and animal life was great! Visability was good, dive master was good, only disappointment was they did not provide snacks. That is okay, they have some you can purchase, but I wish I had known so I could be better prepared.

I would love to return to this resort and dive for a week. The little cabanas across from the dive boat area belong to Anthony's Key Resort and look charming. Make this a must do dive location!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyGreen72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    789
    229
    56
    18
    14
See reviews for
256
421
67
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

A great experience almost ruined by faulty gear and inattentive, dive master and crew. Dive Master only partially turned on dive buddy's Air Tank which resulted in giving false readings as to pressure, going from 0 to 2000 psi during normal breathing. Nearly aborted the dive. When explaining that our dive computers were not coming "on". They suggested we go in anyway and it would be "OK". We refused and insisted on getting replacement regulators and gauges. As it turns out our computer batteries were dead and we would not have had any indication of depth or air pressure. Our lesson learned, you and your buddy are responisble for one another. Do not rely on the dive master or anyone else.
Selection of equipment was lacking. Sizes of BCDs and fins were an issue, After they searched for fins for 15 minutes, (had one could not find the other) we were rushed to get their equipment on regardless of proper fit.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ViRoyGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We came for the super snorkeling. Everybody seems to prefer the Key rooms, but we stayed in a cheaper hillside cottage with air and loved it. It's closer to the dining room and is smack in the middle of a beautiful jungle setting. We even had 2 iguanas in the trees overhanging our cabana. Great panoramic view of the water below. Our unit was # 6, and the view is better of the surrounding area if you are in an air conditioned unit... no louvers, just big glass windows. Loved everything about Anthony Key except the mosquitoes.

Room Tip: Loved room 6 on hillside. If you go in winter (Dec., Jan, Feb) you might not need air conditioning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ChattahoocheeMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somers, NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

AKR is a terrific dive resort. The reef is both accessible (it's right there, right offshore) and in very good shape compared to many reefs. The dive operation at AKR is very responsible, with excellent divemasters and boat captains. Three dives a day (plus night dives). The food is excellent. The staff is very helpful. The simpler accommodations are rustic, but very comfortable, with newer, fancier cabins available. If your goal is scuba diving, AKR is the place.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JRFSomers_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Like summer camp for adults, with ~50 cabins on a small island overlooking the bay and harbor. A great place for divers, I'd call it rustic and relaxing, I wouldn't ask them to change anything. The staff is wonderful, food ok. Value is great. I read some of the reviews about the bugs, which I didn't find to be true, (this is an island in the tropics and the level of biting was no different from other islands i have been on, if you want to sit on a beach anywhere - expect some biting). it was the perfect escape from the Midwestern winter for me.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ksmith142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sammer69
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

we are snorkellers and found Anthonys a great place to see a great variety of fish- while all the divers were out on the water 3 times a day, we had the pool to ourselves and the kayaks were always available- felt like it was "our private place" a lot of the time! everyone we met had been to Anthonys at least twice, some were back for their 9th visit- that says a lot-
excellent food, staff- bring your own wine to dinner - get a room on the key and numbers 47-51 if you can- great for sunsets-

Room Tip: on the key- numbers 47-51 for sunsets- didnt need AC at all in February
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sammer69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland MI
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We stayed on the Island for 11 days and checked out alot of places. Friends of ours recommended Anthony Keys for the dinner buffet and show. We took our rental vehicle over there and they shuttled us over to the island on a little boat.
We sat on the row of picnic tables for a bit, then went over for a "happy hour drink special"
For $6 you get two coffee cup sized drinks with little alcohol. Dinner was ready. We went throught the line got 2 ribs, fish, potatoe, baked beans, 2 pc of flat bread and a GFS style brownie. The only thing edible to 3 of the 4 of us was the beans. Ribs were over boiled and full of grissle, fish had been reheated multiple times (it was too tough to chew), and the brownie was stale. It started raining which probably didn't help. We croewded under the hut where the food was served and watched a crab race and limbo. Neither which was entertaining except for watching a drunk guy that kept falling. He obviously didnt know the limbo rules because he kept on....
Save you $22 a person and go any where else. Of the 50 plus meals we ate, this was the worste!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KurtVG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandy Bay
0.9 km away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
6.9 km away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
10.4 km away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
#4 of 5 in Sandy Bay
205 reviews
3.1 km away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#2 of 7 in West End
586 reviews
6.5 km away
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anthony's Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anthony's Key Resort

Property: Anthony's Key Resort
Address: Anthony's Key, Sandy Bay, Roatan IB3107, Honduras
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > Sandy Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sandy Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Anthony's Key Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on the island of Roatan, Anthony's Key Resort is a legendary tropical wonderland where lush greenery rustles in breezy sea air. Pristine beaches rim turquoise waters. And wooden bungalows perched above a tranquil lagoon offer guests incredibly scenic views and a sense of perfect disconnection from everyday life back at home. For over 40 years, this family-run paradise has been home to divers in search of unspoiled waters, and lovers of natural adventure in all its forms.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Anthony's Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anthony`s Key Hotel Sandy Bay
Anthonys Key Sandy Bay
Anthonys Key Hotel Roatan
Anthonys Key Resort
Anthony's Key Resort Roatan, Honduras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing