We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The beach was ok...but snorkeling Spooky Channel was fabulous!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Sandy Bay Beach

Sandy Bay Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
US$69.98*
and up
Roatan Shore Excursion: Snorkeling Tour
Ranked #11 of 19 things to do in Sandy Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The property is unique to Roatan. Just off the main road to a private beach area. This area is part of the Roatan Marine Park preserve. The reef system parallels the white sand beach of Sandy Bay The closiest swim to a underwater ecologial paradise teaming with tropical fish and corals. This area is a quiet tranquil area of Roatan without high end hotels and condos but close to the tourist meccas.
Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The beach was ok...but snorkeling Spooky Channel was fabulous!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Bring a beach umbrella...no shade here! Spooky Channel was like floating in the sky! It was surrealistic. Biggest parrot fish we ever saw. We named him Henry Leavey, after an elderly grounds keeper we met at the children's learning center!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank kjvicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HobbiesPlace, Owner at Sandy Bay Beach, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
This review does have good information. The Sandy Bay beach area is different than the West Bay beach area. Indeed West bay beach is the most beautiful beach on the island and the most populated. Sandy Bay beach is a long shore line beach with some areas shoaling low water sand ,other areas teaming with Marine life along the beach side. Just beyond the grass areas is the beautiful coral reefs. Just in front of Hobbies Hideaway is some of the most beautiful shallow reef area
At the head of the beach way up at the end are palm trees and many other shade trees.Also at Hobbies it is surrouinded with beautiful coconut bearing f palms on the open beach front
For a nice morning walk start at Hobbies and walk toLlawsons Rock swim out to Spooky channel,just down the beach from Hobbies and then to the prominent Anthony's key Resort.
This strech of white sand beach is awesome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    44
    23
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quiet but not for sunbathing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

The beach is not busy but there are sand flies and an occasional car driving through. Because there is not much distance between the beach edge and the water you would need to move every time a resident drives along the beach.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank saracokl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Habra, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach, not as crowded as West Bay!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

If on da Rock and you dont want to deal with the crowds, head to Sandy Bay!!! It is amazing to see all the sea life and get a more local feel!!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank haroldgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HobbiesPlace, Owner at Sandy Bay Beach, responded to this review, 19 January 2012
Thank your for your review, We our very pleased that we could accommodate your needs.
Your response is how we make it better for new arriving guests. It also the best thanks that we could show you Roatan Our beach is peaceful without the crowds of tourism. We our very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our little slice of paradise. Please have your friends or associate visit us also at HobbiesHideaway. Sincerely ,John and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sandy Bay Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

Snorkel out to the reef off the beach - it is quite nice.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank noblereno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sandy Bay Beach also viewed

 
Roatan, Bay Islands
 

Been to Sandy Bay Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing