We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outstanding”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Villa Del Playa #1

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
West End, Roatan, Bay Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Stephen D
Allen, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed August 8, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Found this place through TripAdvisor. Had good ratings, was on the beach, and just a little bit away from West End. Decided to book it and take a chance. Received word from the agency in a very short amount of time confirming our booking. Liz was great in keeping us informed and answering questions as the time for our stay came closer. The day we were to arrive she had checked our flight and found that we had been delayed. She did try to contact me to tell me that the leasing office would already be closed and that she would send a driver to pick us up. We were delayed but not terribly. Didn't know that he was there but he found us. We had rented a car so we just followed him to the property. We actually happened to see her on our way the property and she walked on down to show us around.

The stay was great, a little windy (given that Hurricane Earl came through in the middle of the week). The property is well cared for. There is a grounds keeper (Eldon) that works hard to keep everything kept up outside. We had a couple little things that were not working as intended and were corrected very quickly.

Honestly, we couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. Selfishly I'd hate for the place to become busy and I not able to get it again. Would I stay here again? Yes, I plan on it. If you book it tell Liz I recommended it! Maybe she will give me a discount :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location!!!!
Liked least: the hurricane?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelove...
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Paradise Found”
Reviewed September 11, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This was truly one of the most magical places I've visited and Villa del Playa ranks among the best on the island to stay at, not only in terms of the quality of accommodations, but also because of the staff & convenience of being so centrally located right on the beach between West Bay Beach (which is one of the best swimming beaches I've ever had the pleasure of visiting) and West End (which is full of cool shops and restaurants). West Bay & West End are both walking distance, but for $3 you can catch a water taxi as they go by to get to either also.

Right next door are restaurants, but it isn't very busy at Villa del Playa either because it's at the very edge of West End. Roatan is the best place to visit if you want something that isn't your typical tourist trap because it's about an equal mix of locals, ex-pats, people that live there part of the year, and tourists. The place just hasn't been commercialized like a lot of places I've been so it's very pristine and natural-feeling.

The staff at Villa del Playa was excellent as well. Special thanks to Eldon (who takes care of the maintenance there) for being such a great help the whole time too -- Eldon would always give us helpful tips or cut open fresh coconuts for us to try & it really contributed to our overall experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammie D
Sartell, Minnesota, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“An epic adventure of a lifetime”
Reviewed September 11, 2015 for a stay in February 2014

Being able to stay in this amazing condo right on the beach on one of the most gorgeous and peaceful islands I have ever visited is an experience I will treasure forever! The condo was ideal because it was clean and decorated beautifully which made us feel even more comfortable and at home. Having the pool right out our front door was perfect as it was private and a nice alternative to the ocean. The blue channel is directly out from the condo and we could jump in the kayaks provided with access to some of the best diving and snorkeling in the world! We also enjoyed being only a 10 minute walk into West End allowing us to buy fresh fruit daily, eat out if we didn't want to cook, as well as enjoy some fun evening activities. Without a doubt we will visit again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and unit we stayed in.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taggart D
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed September 7, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

This is the perfect condo. Right on the beach. Close to everything but quiet. Love it in every way. Highly recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: It was perfect
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane O
Humble, Texas, United States
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Second time here because there is nothing better”
Reviewed August 12, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This was the second time we stayed here because for the money, you get the biggest bang for your buck. Lets be honest, Honduras is a third world country without a lot of the simple things we take for granted. Here at Villa Del Playa you get all the thing we are accustomed to and then some. If this were Hawaii, the weekly rate would be the daily rate. You really get a lot of bang for your buck. We were lucky enough to be there during mango season and were able to have fresh mango's every day from out back. The grounds were immaculate and the place was extremely quiet. Bottom line, WE WILL BE BACK! This is our favorite on the entire planet. We can say that with confidence because we have been everywhere.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kayak out front to go snorkeling at blue channel
Liked least: Sand flies furthur down the beach, Take DEET.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane O
Humble, Texas, United States
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“We didn't want to leave!”
Reviewed March 7, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Fantastic location. Close enough to everything yet far enough away to be quiet. We enjoyed unit #1 so much, we wanted to stay forever. The ground floor apartment is wheelchair accessible and I think the new doors to the pool area are very classy. The grounds and infinity pool are kept immaculate every day. We used the grill several times and ate nearly every meal at the table on the terrace. I really liked the water purification system so we didn't have to haul bottled water in. The unit couldn't be more child friendly. Our friends have 3 young children and they had a great time in the pool and on the beach, snorkeling and kayaking. As much as I wanted to be away from it all, I appreciated the WiFi and the TV's so I could keep in touch with the rest of the world. The photos posted on this site need to be updated to show the new interior decoration. I love the local artists' work, especially the metal fish. We found the gallery and bought a fish to bring home as a reminder of our wonderful stay in #1. We'll definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location.
Liked least: The road to the driveway.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilsa G
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best place to stay on the island if you like snorkeling and just want to relax.”
Reviewed January 26, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This place was perfect for us. It is an easy walk to the shops in West End, but far enough away that it was quiet and we had our own private beach. We walked to a dive shop to try out scuba diving and rented snorkel gear for the week from the Marine Park office. Using the free kayaks, we rowed out to the blue channel and tied up to a buoy (named them David Buoy and Buoy Wan Kanobe) every day to go snorkeling. Finished off the nights by walking 1 minute down the beach to the Barefoot Bar for sunset.
Caught a water taxi to West Bay and were glad we didn't stay there with all of the tourist madness--although La La has amazing food, including vegan options.
Make sure to keep the doors shut to keep out the mosquitoes, and appreciate the geckos in the house that come out at night to eat them--don't stay on Roatan if that idea freaks you out.
Very friendly staff and beautiful place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing