We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome home”
Review of Afonso Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Afonso Guest House
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Panjim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2018

Jeannette and her son Cifton know how to welcome travelers at home !! The Afonso Guesthouse is the best address where we stayed. It was so pleasant that we decided to stay five days instead of the three days previously planned. the room was very clean (the cleanest we ever seen in south India), well furnished and quiet. The rooftop is the perfect place for a quiet breakfast ! Jeannette and Clifton are also really nice people, they helped us to book train ticket, and taxi driver. They know good restaurant addresses and give advises about the nice place to visit in the Goa state.
In Paniji, Afonso Guethouse is THE place to stay !!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric-Christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (657)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

12 - 18 of 657 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2018 via mobile

I stayed 3 nights at Afonso Guest House and I would highly recommend it. Jeanette is very accommodating and the house itself is lovely. Breakfast on the terrace is a must (and is also very ‘instagramable’). I travelled solo and it was my first time in India and felt more than safe staying there. It is a great location and easily accessible to all the churches, restaurants and shops without being too noisy on the main road.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank vaadams94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018 via mobile

We (couple) spent two nights with Jeanette at Alfonso‘s Guesthouse. Our room was very clean, and the roof garden is beautiful and gives a nice place to escape from Panjim‘s noise. The multilingual family of Jeanette welcomed us in a very warm manner and were ready to help with anything we needed, even letting us in at five in the morning at our arrival as well as organizing taxi rides at extraordinary times of day. Obrigada Jeanette!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank MelKla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2018

Afonso Guest House is just a wonderful place to stay in Panjim. It is the second time we stayed here and we were very happy. The house in old Panjim (Fontainhas area) is very nice and the district is so pleasant and peaceful. The rooms are very clean, and the delicious breakfast on the roof terrace full of plants and flowers, with the amazing view on San Sébastian Chapel is a great experience, and a real pleasure in the morning. At last, Jeannette and her son Clifton are very kind hosts, and they share precious advices to enable you having a great time in Panjim. We warmly recommend the place. Don't hesite to spend 2 or 3 nights minimum, as it's worth taking time to discover Panjim which really is an amazing town with beautifull walks (uptown in the hills and downtown in the historical district). Unfortunately Travel Guide Books do not focuse enough on this lovely town. Fabien (France).

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FabMontmartre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2018

This guest house is very clean, has a great location, an extremely beautiful rooftop to spend time on and the owner are very friendly and are always helpful with information about the area.
I would definitely come again!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Monstantin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2018 via mobile

Nice, cosy, authentic Goan experience. Clifton and Jeanette were helpful and full of local information. Our request for change of pillows were immediately met. Taxi was arranged for us as there was a strike. Highly recommended.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Diksha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018 via mobile

A Portuguese home, one part is owner’s residence, one part converted to guest house.
Have got 8-10 rooms (not sure with no.) no tv, no fridge, no iron. But who needs it when in goa :)
It offers comfortable sleep, warm shower, small wardrobe, a table chair. It has a small seating area on the rooftop very very beautifully decorated where u can bring your own food and it.
Room and bathroom were clean. The only problem was water in bathroom got clogged after having shower. Was not a major problem for us since we stayed just a night and were mostly outdoors. told it to the owner on check-out and she was prompt in response. Guest house has got lots of decorative plants in the porch, very refreshing and treat to eyes, novels and books placed on edge of stairs.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank AirborneLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panjim
2.6 km away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
3.2 km away
Varanda do Mar
Varanda do Mar
#4 of 48 in Panjim
356 reviews
0.3 km away
Ginger Goa
Ginger Goa
#6 of 48 in Panjim
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
WelcomHeritage Panjim Inn
7.3 km away
Shanti Morada
Shanti Morada
#1 of 3 in Saligao
411 reviews
8.3 km away
Le Meridien Goa, Calangute
Le Meridien Goa, Calangute
#2 of 124 in Calangute
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afonso Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afonso Guest House

Address: Near Saint Sebastian Chapel | Fontainhas, Mala, Panjim 403001, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Panjim
Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Panjim
#3 Business Hotel in Panjim
#3 Family Hotel in Panjim
#3 Romantic Hotel in Panjim
Price Range: $43 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Afonso Guest House, run by Panaji's reputed Afonso family, is more than just a guest house to its many patrons. Nestled in the capital city's quaint Latin quarter of Fontainhas, it is a veritable bridge between Goa's Portuguese past and Indian present. A favoured haunt for many an adventurous traveller for over three decades, its hospitality and peppy spirit show no sign of aging and are still as fresh as they were back then. It makes no pretense of being luxurious; instead, Afonso Guest House prides itself in being simplistic and practical. With its friendly and welcoming hosts, it's truly your home away from home-clean and functional, the rooms are airy, and equipped with everything a traveler might need. However, the clincher is its lovely terrace graced with potted plants where traditional Goan breakfasts are served to guests every morning, overlooking the whitewashed St Sebastian Chapel. So, if you seek home in a foreign land, come over! Really! You won't regret it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Afonso Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afonso Gues House Hotel Panaji
Afonso Guest House Goa/Panjim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing