We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel”
Review of Hotel Fidalgo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Fidalgo
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in Panjim
India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Great location, nice food including an excellent breakfast and a lovely room made our stay at Fidalgo a very happy one.

On the negative side, the hotel is very expensive. Reception needs to learn to smile.

The hotel is located in the heart of the shopping district of Panjim. If you don’t care about the shops but prefer to just contemplate life, the Mandovi river which is a ten minute slow walk down quiet streets is the ideal place. The Panjim Municipal Market, another interesting place, is on the way to the river.

There is a taxi stand in front of the hotel and a rickshaw stand at the other end of the hotel.

The Privilege Premium room was very spacious and beautifully furnished. It didn’t have much of a view but that wasn’t much of a negative considering the beauty of the room itself. The beds were comfortable and the hot water in the shower was probably the best I’ve experienced in my many hotel stays so far - the water remained uniformly hot throughout without becoming too hot. The bathroom is quite small. The air-conditioning was a little uneven in different parts of the room but not enough to complain about. The breakfast is outstanding. Great variety, tasty food.

The price of the room reflects all the positives and is probably much more than I would want to or could pay in normal circumstances. There are cheaper hotels if you look around although they are not in the same class as Fidalgo, of course.

The hotel has around 4 restaurants, each serving different cuisines including street food of Bombay, Goan cuisine, Gujarati food and a multi-cuisine one. We tried the Goan restaurant – O Goa. The food was par excellence, service however was very slow, which is actually probably a problem all through Goa. There was a live music show at the restaurant and most of the patrons had come for a drink and to watch the girls in the show, so they probably didn’t even notice the service!

‘Reception’ was definitely cold but largely efficient. Check out could have been smoother.

If some friends of mine had not been accused of taking away a box of tissues and had their bags checked at an earlier visit (for a plastic box of tissues!!!!), I would have rated the hotel much higher than I have.

Room Tip: The hotel is surrounded by buildings, so don't bother to choose a room based on the view. The Pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CharlesBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    203
    72
    30
    24
See reviews for
102
73
30
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

I stayed at Hotel Fidalgo for a week while on a business trip. This property was deemed to be "nice for foreigners." The rooms were aesthetically unappeasing but the worst part was the smell coming from the bathrooms. It consistently smelled of an unclean toilet. Also the showers are not partitioned from the rest of the bathroom so everything in the bathroom, with the exception of the countertops, got wet. There were only 2 handheld hairdryers to be shared amongst all the hotel guests. Every morning I would have to call reception and ask for them to find me a hand dryer. It would typically take an hour for the staff to locate one of the two. Every afternoon they would remove it from my room when I left for the office so the next morning I would have to go through the process all over again. Also don't plan on relaxing by the pool past midnight. The staff will kick you out at 24:00 sharp. The biggest problem I had was the staff cleaning rooms at 7:00 in the morning. The walls/doors certainly weren't sound proof and they were talking loudly, slamming things, etc. They woke me up every morning at 7:30 to ask if I had laundry to send out. I repeatedly asked management to ensure that they left me alone in the mornings since I worked late nights, but they ALWAYS called my room and woke me up to ask this.
My confirmed reservations were also incorrect. I changed my reservation date two weeks before arrival. Upon arrival the hotel, the staff argued that I never changed my date and that they were booked to capacity. I showed them my confirmed, printed reservation and they eventually found a room for me. My coworkers reservation was also incorrect and when he arrived at 2am, for his room, they wouldn't provide him with one even though he had a reservation confirmation number. He spent over an hour trying to find somewhere else to stay in the city.
I was very disappointed with this hotel and certainly will chose a different hotel on my next trip to Goa.

Room Tip: Don't chose the economy rooms. If you HAVE to stay there, it is worth it to upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Aundrea N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I had the misfortune of staying at the Fidalgo recently and must say that i came back extremely disappointed. The services are befitting that of a non star property with basics like towels, slippers, tea/coffee supplies missing from the rooms and what was shocking was the attitude of the staff right from the top to the bottom. I would strongly recommend that you find a better property which gives you value for money. Fidalgo charges you like a star property and gives you services and attitude like a dharamshala. The rooms are very basic and lack any modern luxuries. The property is fit for only cheap tour operators and not business and tourists wanting some luxury and comfort.

Room Tip: Stay Away from the property if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ViiveckVerma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Conveniently located in the heart of Panaji.
Good Hotel for people who have come to Goa for Business purpose, otherwise it is advisable to stay in sea facing hotels only.
Room Tariff is bit high. Rooms are are comfortable and spacious.
Food price is very high (as is in most places in Goa)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rahul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Fidalgo is situated in Panjim and one of the better business hotels since choice is limited. If you are looking for a business trip, this is one of the hotels to consider in the heart of the city. Though the rooms do not boast of a good view, they are comfortable and spacious. I had stayed in one of the superior rooms which was very good. The breakfast buffet is quite nice and they have a good assortment of muffins. The food is tasty and the hotel has one of the better restaurants in the vicinity. The service levels needs improvements though. The staff is not very courteous.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashsagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Ref to Mr.Ramesh Gupta, we are the regular customer I mean everyday we come to Aunty Maria and normally we don't get complimentary cookies on a pot of coffee or tea. It has been years that we keep asking them but they always refused.some days back we got cookies but today all of the sudden we get a note that we stop giving complimentary cookies for the past 1 month when the cookies was served yesterday midnight. We met Mniwal Dabnoth a very rude Manager of Aunty Maria. I am the member of Fidalgos and previously when we claim the voucher for my birthday cake they refused to give me. They take Rs. 5000 for the membership and when it came for a birthday cake or a bottle of wine they refused to give. Once we ordered a club sandwich and in the plate they give french fries, over the fries they replace it with little chips and they refused to give french fries saying we stop giving french fries. I mean when it is wriiten on the menu card please provide the same and don't bully the customers. Again once they served the sandwiches very cold and stale.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Newton Fernandes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We had very bad experience at hotel reception. First they quoted some rates and told up that they are giving some discount. But later on we came to know that the actual rate was at least 20% less than given to us.
At the time of check out, the reception and accounts people made us wait for more than 90 minutes with one or other pretext. Either system not working, accountant was absent for sometime. There were no records maintained. This all was despite our communication previous night that we were to check out next morning. One person named Alwyn had told us everything is ready but nothing was done. Even when we placed order for coffee and sandwich, they gave us tea at below room temperature and did not provide sandwich for 1 hour.
Very poor show by hotel staff and frustrating for the tourist.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vijaypm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panjim
0.7 km away
The Crown Goa
The Crown Goa
#8 of 47 in Panjim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.6 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Panaji
2.1 km away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Palacio De Goa
Hotel Palacio De Goa
#13 of 47 in Panjim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
4.1 km away
Mystique Heights Beacon, Panjim
6.5 km away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
#6 of 64 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fidalgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fidalgo

Property: Hotel Fidalgo
Address: 18th June Road, Panjim 403001, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Panjim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Panjim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Fidalgo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Otel and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Fidalgo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fidalgo Hotel Panaji
Fidalgo Hotel Goa
Hotel Fidalgo Goa/Panjim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing