We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wild Elephant cottage”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wild Elephant Eco Friendly Resort
Ranked #23 of 103 Hotels in Munnar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2012

My family realy enjoyed the stay at Wild life cottage during the period 12.05.2012 to 17.05.2012. The cottage location is very much enjoyable besides their natural architectural
construction. The cottage peoples Hospitality, Care and taste of food are very excellant.
Waiting for an oppetunity to visit the cottage again.

Regards,

C.S. SHRINIVASAN
09841035854

Room Tip: Leaf cottage is very fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChennaiMunnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2012

We came to know about this resort through the internet last year. While we were quite apprehensive about the way internet photos vs actual location/facilities are, we still took a call to give this resort a shot. Mr. Seetharaman who is one of the partners of this resort, spoke convincingly about the facilities this resort offers and the location of this resort. The resort is located 18 kms away from Munnar on the Mankulam Road, it was easy to locate the kallar route on NH49. The first look at the resort made us forget the long distance that we had to travel from Chennai. It was heaven on earth...really...looked as if we are on top of a hill surrounded by greenery all around and a beautiful waterfall straight opposite to the resort. There is a lovely swimming pool in this resort which adds to the beauty of the location..We stayed in the leaf cottage which had a lovely view of the valley and the waterfalls. Somehow, in this place, it rains almost everyday in the afternoons for a short while...the rooms are designed in a very artistic manner which gels with the nature around. The sight of insects, butterflies and flying lizards in the nights is an awesome treat to the eyes while chirping of the birds and the noise of the waterfall after a rainshower is a treat to the ears. The resort kitchen takes care of your tastebuds with delicious Kerala style food throughout the day. The staff were very friendly and we quite didnt feel like leaving the place after 3 days. Mr Ravi who takes care of the resort is quite a friendly person and is always available for any assistance.Mr Anil takes care of the guests by arranging for trekking, elephant sighting etc. We will go there atleast once in 6 months for sure...

Room Tip: Leaf cottage and tree top cottages are my preferences.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sai505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

It was a GREATEST location , marvellous ..,
* It would be still great, if the food is tasty ( said chef had 30 to 35 yrs experience = not worthy)
* It would be still great, if the rooms are clean & tidy.
* It would be still great, if the steel steps to roof top cottage are in good condition, as one of my
friend fell from steps with baby ,got injured.
* It would be still great, if hot water is available without request to manager.

It was a GREATEST camp fire ever for two days..,
* It would be still great ,if small insects / flies were not seen in chicken curry.
* It would be still great ,if cost of the food is less( menu card not shown= food not worth for
money)
* It would be still great ,if manager RAVI does`nt smoke in reception while conversing.
* It would be still great ,if bachelors doesnt BOOZE in the lawn & make noise disturbing others.

Anakulam nearer to resort was a GREATEST adventure trip than munnar..,
* It would be still great ,if the swimming pool is kept clean, as bachelors ,swim ,booze,smoke in
the swimming pool & put the cigar buds in the pool.
* It would be still great ,if the resort is nearer to munnar ( 23 kms from munnar = 1 hr journey )
* It would be still great ,if the hospitality is bit more increased ( searching for hospitality)

Walk to the nearby WATER FALLS was a GREAEST one ..,
* It would be still great ,if the SWIPING MACHINE is available for credit / debit card.
* It would be still great ,if the rooms are cleaned daily (during our stay for 2 days not even once
it was cleaned)
* It would be still great ,if the room service boys are well trained.

It had a GREATEST taste -- GUAVE tree near the reception....,

Room Tip: Can try LEAF COTTAGE..., Is large & quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sara752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seetharamankc, Owner at Wild Elephant Eco Friendly Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

We are extremely grateful for the candid comments which you have given about our property and service. We shall try our best to meet your expectations if given another opportunity to ensure your comfortable stay. We are however helpless as far as locating the property near Munnar Town is concerned as such an amazing sight can only be the Gift of Nature and can never be created by Man

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

First of all the only good thing about the hotel were the fabulous views and location. Stunning mountain vistas and great walks. Aside from that the quality of the accommodation was surprisingly poor. The hotel was not very clean, pool was unusable and the rooms and balconies cramped. The construction was of very poor quality and cheap. A pity really because it could have been a fabulous property due to the location. On the upside the manager was a very kindly man who tried to his best to accommodate us but the stay was not very comfortable. Oh and there was nothing Eco about the place.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ndk2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seetharamankc, Owner at Wild Elephant Eco Friendly Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

First of all we would like to thank you for the time taken by you to write the review and we would like to offer our apologies that we could not make your stay as comfortable as it should have been. As you might be aware we have rooms as well as cottages and for guests who have difficulty in staying in the rooms we do upgrade them to cottages subject to availability.We appreciate your review and it means a lot to us and it would be great if you could give us and opportunity to accommodate you in one of our cottages when you visit us the next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Location is excellent with view of the waterfalls from the balcony(we stayed in leaf cottage) with background score of waterfalls music. direction to resort is little confusing.

rooms are clean , well maintained, service is good. they provided us with a guide to reach the waterfalls which was an amazing experience(with leeches too)

we were not able to experience the swimming pool and campfire because of rain: but no complaints as mist and cool weather kept us good company throughout

Food choices are minimal especially for vegetarian(there was one unfortunate friend in our group). quality needs real improvement as far as food is concerned.

However the location compromises for the minor setbacks and you will certainly relax your body and mind:

Take cash with you as they do not accept credit/debit cards. Only beer is available in the resort so hard liquor consumer better be well equipped.


they charged us reasonably at rupees 4000/- per day for the leaf cottage (off season). i think that it was a good offer considering the facilities.

The resort is suitable for tourists with own transportation, otherwise you may face a difficulty

The staff are good, smiling and respond immediately. but the calling bell was not working and we had to climb up every time to ask for anything.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gaudoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2011

The place is absolutely stunning..the view from the room we got was so great that we could sit there the whole day and look out of the room...this would applicable for most of the rooms in the hotel...each one of them has a stunning view...there is a pool which is also beautiful (though we didnt go in as the water was too cold :))...the service and the food is strictly ok ...though the trigger is the stunning views...
the biggest issue with the property is that i think is a haunt for bachelors who come there to drink and have a blast...when we were there a group of guys came there at 2 in the night and were there all morning drinkin by the pool...considerin we were a couple; we couldnt really hang out there...(apparently we met a couple who also stayed there a couple of days before and they faced the same problem)...so am not sure if this was just cos both these days were holidays...
The rooms are decent but very old (there was no shower in the bathroom)...the door did take some banging before it closed :)
All in all; the property has stunning views only if it could improve its food / service and refrain bachelors from coming there....

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jaimumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2011

I loved our stay at this hotel even though there was no hot water in the shower room. The location is magical with stunning views over the Tata tea plantations and waterfalls. Words can't describe how special this place is and I would really recommend the 3 hour drive from Kochi, it is well worth it. The staff are all friendly and showed us round the place and then took us up to the waterfalls and for a tour round the plantations. I really enjoyed the food also, especially the chilli omelettes for breakfast and ginger tea. All food was served on our private terrace, ask for one of the Leaf Cottages. One of them has a lovely terrace for al fresco dining, the other one a walk in stone shower. The pool has the most spectacular views you've ever come across.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renoooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munnar hotels
22.0 km away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
541 reviews
0.3 km away
Woodpecker Resort
Woodpecker Resort
#8 of 8 in Pothamedu
105 reviews
9.5 km away
Season7, The Nature Resort
Season7, The Nature Resort
#7 of 15 in Chithirapuram
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Misty Mountain Resort
Misty Mountain Resort
#4 of 9 in Pallivasal
955 reviews
6.4 km away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 15 in Chithirapuram
966 reviews
6.7 km away
Spice Country Resorts
Spice Country Resorts
#8 of 15 in Chithirapuram
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Elephant Eco Friendly Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Elephant Eco Friendly Resort

Address: Viripara | Near Letchmi Tea Estate, Munnar 685611, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Munnar
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Munnar
Price Range: $50 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wild Elephant Eco Friendly Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by Mountains,Tea Gardens and a Waterfall it is a great setting of Nature with all its bounties.A perfect hideout for people who want to relax in a peaceful environment without any disturbance, enjoying the beauty of pristine nature relaxing near the pool and hearing the sounds of crickets and the gurgling waterfall which can be viewed from the resort.The cottages and rooms are also aesthetically designed to gel with Nature. The Leaf cottage made partly of Bamboo leaf, The Mud cottage made of Mud and the Treetop cottage which has a Deck perched on a tree.The rooms have a good view of the swimming pool and the mountains.The resort has a restaurant where homely food served which is all prepared fresh with vegetables grown within the estate of the resort itself.Guests can trek down to the waterfall nearby and enjoy the tea estates and the Nature around or choose to take a Jeep safari which would take them into the wilderness where they can see numerous waterfalls, flowing rivers, a fish pond,hanging bridges etc.They can also choose to travel to Munnar for sightseeing and boating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Wild Elephant Eco Friendly Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Elephant Eco Friendly Hotel Munnar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing