We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$95
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Munnar Tea Country Resort(Chithirapuram)
US$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$89
US$64
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dream Catcher Plantation Resort(Munnar)(Great Value!)
US$49
US$33
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$40/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$129
US$98
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Camp Noel(Pazhathottam)(Great Value!)
US$69
US$36
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$54/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Tea Valley Resort(Pothamedu)(Great Value!)
US$82
US$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$61
US$48
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
US$64
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$100/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$161
US$145
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (564)
Filter reviews
564 results
Traveller rating
119
192
96
55
102
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
119
192
96
55
102
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmunnar townhill viewplace to stayexcellent locationmorning breakfastsight seeingcomplimentary breakfastawesome resortrecommend this resortcamp firebeautiful viewrestaurant staffvisit munnarmain townthe cottagessunrisebalcony
Filter
Updating list...
471 - 476 of 564 reviews
Reviewed November 24, 2011

Great location but poor services......bad rude managers......no proper welcome to guest...the managers make fun of the guests including me.....i will not recommend this hotel for family as the reception does not respond to telephone/intercom...........if proper and good managers are hired and rooms are maintained properly then surely the resort will do very well.......the old staff is spoiling the show.....beds are creaking....

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank semasab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We had stayed in this hotel for two night. Its great location but service is very poor. I had a very bad expereince about service.food is not good.breakfast is also not good.i will not recommand this hotel for family as it has too isolated rooms from reception and reception does not respond to telephone/intercom.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank milindwangikar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Ayur County is situated approximately 20 Kms from Munnar town higher up the hills – opposite to Club Mahindra’s resort which is on the other side of the valley. My wife and I booked this resort for 2 nights and here is what I have to share on my experience and facilities at the resort.

I had pre-booked the room around a month in advance - no hassles there. Done it through email. I planned to visit Munnar, Thekkady, Kumarakom and Kochi during my 5 days at Kerala. The reservations manager, Mr. Manikandan was very supportive advised me on hotels in Thekkady (Hotel Ambadi) and houseboat (Shivaganga Holidays) at Kumarakom. The bookings at these hotels were also done by Manikandan along with the taxi booking for the entire 5 days. I had booked AC indica, but a logan was sent – surprise, surprise at no extra cost.

Location: 20-22 Kms from Munnar town (& around 170 Kms from Ernakulam town Station) up the hilly area. The roads aren’t that good and very narrow at quite a few places. Its scary when you’re going uphill as there are no barriers on the left (you’ll slip downhill if you miss the road apex). Most of the journey through the road, you will find tea gardens on either side – a breathtaking view, Green all the way. You’ll also encounter some clouds/mist. Stop for 2-3 beautiful waterfalls, a place to relax for a few minutes. The resort is located amidst tea gardens on one side and a valley on the other. If you are a nature lover, I would definitely recommend this place. Attached are a few snaps.

Resort rooms: I had booked a valley view room but on reaching was told that I was upgraded to Sunrise Suite for no extra cost. It was obviously a better room and I had no problems with that. The check-in didn’t take much time and were attended to almost immediately. Later on, we were escorted to our room. Overall visual of the resort was good and has steep internal roads to reach our room. Luckily, we got a room closer to the reception and restaurant. The resort has 2 kinds of categories in the same campus viz. Chancellor Resorts (budget hotel) and Ayur County (Premium). I would recommend Ayur County. If you are planning to stay as a couple, choose Sunrise Suite room #s 928 to 939. These I guess are the best. I have attached pics of the room and view from rooms. Sunrise suite has a living area with a center table and 2 couches, Bedroom was extremely spacious equipped with LCD TV not a big one though. Bathroom attached with a dedicated geyser. I have attached all the pics, so let them do the talking. Bed sheets were clean, no pests seen during my stay. Only one of the curtains had a stain / was dirty which was not at all pleasing. Bath was neat, clean and tidy. Rooms could have been a lit up a bit better though – never made much of a difference anyways.

People: The people were friendly and responsive except for the room service part. They charge an additional 35% for room service which is not justifiable.

Facilities: An ayurvedic massage center is located within the resort, fully equipped and pretty reasonable. They charge INR 1000 for a full body massage, 400 for a Head/foot/face massage and a whole lot of other massages + a service tax of 12.5% – a list will be given to you during check-in. A restaurant is located alongside the reception area. Intercom facility available – phones work. No direct STD/ISD dialing facility available. Also, you will not have signal for your mobiles in your rooms – plus point is that no disturbance. If you need to call, your mobile phones will catch a signal only in the reception area.

Locality: Green and Serene – I have no other words to describe. There’s a small natural spring in the campus for which you will have to trek down the hill for a few minutes. Advisable to go there in the morning at around 9 – 10 am. Evenings get dark very early ~ 5:45 pm. The entire resort is covered with clouds and mist. Enjoyable.

Restaurant: 2 restaurants are available. Pure Veg one is at the entrance gate and multi-cuisine next to the reception. Never visited the pure-veg restaurant. The multi-cuisine restaurant serves North/South/Continetal/Veg/Non-Veg. You can opt between buffet and ala-carte. Buffet costs INR 300 per person. Food isn’t so great in taste, rotis too thick – so don’t expect much. I suggest you go for ala-carte. It works out cheaper for sure. Breakfast is good, complimentary and is a good mix of north, south and continental style. Juice/tea/coffee is also included in the breakfast. Liquor is not available and is not served at the restaurants. You may purchase it yourself at Munnar town - Govt liquor shop only, damn cheap, beer for 50 bucks – or you can ask someone from the resort to get it for you at an additional cost of Rs. 150.

Final Verdict: For nature lover – Definite Yes; for couples – Yes; to laze around – Yes; for adventure – No; for food – No

Room Tip: Choose room # 928 to 939 Sunrise suites. Offers a great view with privacy.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eye-saw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Ayur county, Munnar is a hotel with great location, catering to tourists willing to pay for a relaxed stay. Offering all the modern facilities, with 2 restaurants, it provides rooms with all basic amenities. The room service is slow and the view from the room is awful, considering the beautiful location of the hotel itself. The hotel is 20km away from the city and not the ideal if you are interested in heavy dose of sight-seeing. The ayurvedic centre is priced on the higher side but offers a large range of therapeutic activities. I would not recommend it for travellers with a great deal of sight-seeing in mind, but it's a great place to stay if you don't mind paying more.

Room Tip: choose a room on the top floor as they mostly have a better view.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gayatri88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 5, 2011

I was thrilled on my way to reach Ayur County in late evening, as It was 20km away from typical Mall Area of Munnar. But, was completely disappointed to see the room offered. After a long 1 hour debate, managed to get some better option after mid night & had to further spend 1 hour to get all basic amenities in place.

Next morning, after getting up found to be at one of the most beautiful places, I ever seen. Believe me, Its location is most ideal place at Hill Station with fabulous view of Tea Gardens, Lake, etc.

Had good visits in & around Munnar, but when returned back, faced issues again & again, on services front, making stay uncomfortable. Club / Recreation room access was tough task. Reaching some of the rooms on top was tiring, as the ascend is very steep.

Serious plea to Hotel Management to take care of above issues to make this place one of the most sought after place in Munnar. Its really lovely property, please make it a livable.

Room Tip: Make sure, you get rooms opposite to Reception, so called Sunrise rooms
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel_Crazy_0625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews