We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (566)
Filter reviews
566 results
Traveller rating
119
193
96
56
102
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
119
193
96
56
102
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmunnar townhill viewexcellent locationplace to staysight seeingcomplimentary breakfastmorning breakfastawesome resortvisit munnarbeautiful viewmain townthe cottagessunrisebalconyteakmvalley
Filter
Updating list...
512 - 517 of 566 reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2010

We happened to stay in this resort on 11.12.2010 and want to share this disappointing experience..

We planned a visit to Munnar on a weekend and planned to stay at Ayur County Resorts at Chinnakanal since we heard they are giving some good offers. We wanted three rooms and while booking for the same a few days before we asked for a three bedroom bungalow for which the rackrate was Rs,. 5500 + tax. Ms. Anjana the booking executive (of MAS travels a sister concern of the resort) informed us that the bungalow is not available and she offered three adjacent hill view rooms for Rs. 6000 including tax. She has also told us that the tariff of each hill view room is Rs. 4500+ tax but she is giving us a huge discount on the same. On seeing the rooms’ view in the net we agreed for the same and we got an email confirming the booking.

On Saturday (11.12.2010) evening we reached the place and on checking in we were told that we are being given the three bed bungalow. We said we were offered three hill view rooms. They started giving some excuses like the person who took the booking has only mentioned three bedrooms. I have produced a copy of the email but they kept on repeating the same excuse and pretended to be busy with other work. In the meantime we proceeded to the room allotted thinking we will have a look at the room and be happy with it if it is good since we were travelling with three small kids and we reached late because of rain and roadblocks. The rooms were really shabby with paint peeling away and water seepage marks and cobwebs. Many of the taps and doorlocks were not working properly and no proper plug point was available. The bath towels had holes in them and the blankets full of dust. Again we talked to the reception and after a long wait we were told that if we want hill view rooms we need to pay Rs. 3000 extra. The hotel staff was quite unfriendly and indifferent and we did not feel like being guests there. I talked to Ms Anjana and she has rudely replied saying when the bungalow is available why she should upgrade and she cannot do anything about it. By that time it was quite late and we were not in a position to look for another place.

Somehow we spent the night there and left the resort in the morning. It was a very disappointing experience. The rooms, the staff and service are really bad and the food is just average only the location is good. We travel a lot and we have stayed in many hotels but we never had such a bad experience. And the way in which the staff was coolly handling us shows that it is not the first time they are doing this kind of cheating. The entire trip was spoiled and the feeling of being cheated is still fuming within us…

So anybody who happens to go to Munnar, beware of this place…

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sshibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 19, 2010

Please read my experience after paying Rs.8500 for 2 days.
1.No power in the room for more than an hour when we checked in.They were reluctant to switch on the generator even after calling multiple times.
2.I wanted to order dinner to the room as it was cold outside.Reply was 'all staff members are busy with the dinner buffet so please come to the restaurant'. We went.
told there will be room service until 10.
3. Three of the lights were not working in our room. Called them,No one turned up.
4. Room was not clean the next day. Asked for replacing 2 towels which never came.
5.Telephone was not working in the room. My father tried many times which i didnt know. No one tried to fix it.
6. Bathroom,towels and bedsheets stinked.
I can pay Rs.500 for this kind of hospitality.View from the room was awesome. no complains about it.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SujayMohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 10, 2010

A good hotel to stay with reasonable price.Even though it is 17kms away from main town
the travelling is pleasing to the eyes and more over most of the sight seeing is in between this journey.

The hotel also seves all kinds of delicious Indian food.Restaurant service is very good.Correct 25 minitues only they are taking for serving the food.

I would like to recommend this hotel if you are booking for reasonable price.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nishikantsharma82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 24, 2010

It was our nice exp. for traveling munnar. The hotel is situated 18 km far from munnar city. We have booked Vally view room , room was neat and clean. It was the rainy season, clouds touch the hotel, some time we are in clouds... it was really our awesome exp. They are not providing food services in room at that time. Over all good exp and nice view hotal.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank somuCalicut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 21, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights in Jan. The location is upper Munnar and away from the town. The route is through breathtaking tea estates and the location is overlooking a valley. Rooms are big and comfortable. Staff are courteous. However, feel that they find it difficult to manage when all the rooms are full. Overall , very good experience and a good getaway.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShashiBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews