We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MISTY BREEZE - A wonderful experience”
Review of Grand Plaza Munnar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Plaza Munnar
Ranked #24 of 101 Hotels in Munnar
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We have chose the package Misty Breeze for our Honeymoon. It was a wonderful experience. We had stayed there for 3 nights and 4 days. The food was awesome. The rooms (elegance & ambience) were very clean and they gave us a good view of the tea estates. The hospitality of the employees were excellent.

Room Tip: Ambience rooms have a balcony to give good view of the tea estates.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Manoj_tl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balajiar, Operation Manager at Grand Plaza Munnar, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2012

Dear Guest
Team Grand Plaza is thankful for your stay. We appreciate your effort to share the excellent experience you have had with us. We are been motivated with such great feed back from our guests and will be in the effort to deliver the best. Looking forward for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (848)
There are newer reviews for Grand Plaza Munnar
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

658 - 664 of 850 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2012

I was at Grand Plaza during my vacation with the family. I chose this property because of the excellent reviews in the Trip Advisor and I wasnt wrong because the most beneficial part was that its quite close to the Munnar town it made the access pretty fine. Also the request to the room next to the elevator helped the old members of the family to have comfortable stay. The staff found to be very courteous and helpful . I never expected such good hospitality in a Basic Hotel like this. Really enjoyed the 5 Day stay. Highly recommendable especially for those who travel with old people.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rahul111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balajiar, Front Office Manager at Grand Plaza Munnar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Dear Guest
Team Grand Plaza is thankful for your stay. We are happy to receive such great and informative comments. As you have mentioned certain things like the excellent service and the courtesy of the staff its been really inspiring for us to deliver such great standard of service to our valuable guests. Looking forward for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We had stayed in Grand Plaza for 2 days. 1st day went in a blur, loved the hotel room, comfy fluffy bed, clean room, avearge bathroom. Please carry your own toiletaries(didnt have faith in the ones given by hotel!) Wanted to have nice Kerala massage, the massage room is atrocious, it feels like a small store room made into massage center, the prices were quite high, we didnt indulge in it... The Breakfast buffet was amazing as compared to the rest of places. No ala carte menu at dinner!! The room still wasnt cleaned after we returned from our outing, when my husband gave this feedback to manager at the time of checkout, he got quite angry with us and wanted us to change the feedback... On an average- nice hotel. nothing special... Just dont believe the website of Grand Plaza completely... :)

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NehaMuley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balajiar, Front Office Manager at Grand Plaza Munnar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Dear Guest
Team Grand Plaza is thankful for your stay. We respect your valuable comments and apologise for the inconvinience caused. Regarding the toiletaries you can keep faith on us becuase we use the premium brands only for our guests and so far havent got any complaints about the same.Asyou have stated the Manager at the hotel become angry to get negative feedback we are shocked and unbelievable about the incident because we dont have any goodness in rejecting a negative feedback and hope you would have mistaken or this comment is just been fabricated and you can contact the hotel managment regarding the same if there is any dispute .Looking forward for your next visit and we believe we could make you more happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Hotel Location:
This hotel is situated on the MSA road, 2 Kms from the city centre (KDHP Junction) which is very close to the KSRTC Bus Stand.

Hotel Parking:
This hotel did not provide me the sheltered car parking, as I was told that some maintenance work was under way and had to park my car on the vacant plot just opposite to the hotel property itself which is a major disadvantage for the people traveling by own transport as the car park area is not cemented / tiled and it becomes murkier when it rains.

Hotel Rooms:
I was upgraded to the higher category of room “Ambience” as against my booking for a Elegance room, which really surprised me, as this room was bigger and also had a attached Balcony overlooking the lake which was very good. The rooms were maintained in a perfect condition with all the necessary items in place and also had a DVD player which was really useful for us to spend time and unwind.

Hotel Restaurant:
The in house restaurant is really good. The complimentary buffet breakfast offered by them is basic and good with a mix of continental and some south Indian snacks. My suggestion to the staff would be to keep the food items a little hotter as the temperature is always cooler, so anything kept open would become cold, otherwise a simple and good breakfast.
I was having my Lunch and Dinner at the same hotel which was really good.
Being a Pure vegetarian, hard to find good food in Kerala, but the Chef used to make good stuff, we really enjoyed the same.

Hotel Staff:
A round of applause to the service offered by the people here and I must say that Mr. Hari at the front desk was more than willing to help me in all regards from arranging a Cab to Thekkady to ordering a cake at the last minute, and also in guiding me to good locations in Munnar,
Kudos to Team Grand Plaza, Keep up the same Tempo.

Overall:
A clean, basic and a no frill hotel in the budget category.
To sum it up in all I personally recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Request for a room category facing the lake, the only advantage is that these rooms are categorized...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiran K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balajiar, Front Office Manager at Grand Plaza Munnar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Dear Guest
Team Grand Plaza is thankful for your stay . We appreciate the effort you have made to give such an elaborated experience which would definitely help the fellow guests. Regarding the parking as you have said we were having some maintenance and we regret the inconvenience you had. Happy to hear that you had excellent stay apart from the above. Looking forward for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We stayed at Grand Plaza, Munnar in first week of May'12 ( 2N/3D) during our Kerala trip. Hotel is located just at the onset of Munnar town. The hotel is a four storey building. We were given room 209 which has view of small stream. Hotel is extremly clean and hygenic. The staff were very cooperative and helpful. Room is decent in size. Breakfast and dinner were tasty and I found kari khichdi very delicious. I have not tasted such a wonderful kari khichdi out of Gujarat. If you are looking for a nice place close to Munnar town then GP is a very option. Finally I would like to thank all staff of GP for their excellent service and hospitality. I definately recommend Grand plaza for family/couple vacation.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UShukla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balajiar, Front Office Manager at Grand Plaza Munnar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Dear Guest
Team Grand Plaza is thankful for your stay. We are happy to receive such great comments from your side especially the food experience you have mentioned would definitely give the idea of our food quality to the fellow guests. We are thankful to you for recommending us. Looking forward for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

its like those guest houses which you see in Delhi - not a hotel / resort. I am not sure why is it ranked first, when clearly there are munch better options available in Munnar. If you are going to Munnar its only logical to stay in a resort type of a place inside a tea estate or a plantation, I made the mistake of staying here seeing the reviews.

Please avoid and book yourself in one of the resorts in the outskirts.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Gautam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balajiar, Front Office Manager at Grand Plaza Munnar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Dear Guest
Team Grand Plaza is thankful for your stay. We respect your comments but totally sorry to inform you that we are unable to understand the true point what you like to mention here. We never promoted our hotel as a resort or resides in the tea plantation. Hope you have seen the guests have stated the view what they had from their rooms and also our website shows that. It was fair enough to give you the idea that we are based close to the town and the location had given you the bad experience then we are sorry to tell you that its totally illogical. Also such reviews wont let us down and we have plenty of real guests who are happy with the excellent service we deliver and we have faith in our team to see off our guests with great experience of Grand Plaza.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Grand Plaza have an excellent spa where we had a great massage...the doctor and the masseur were so professional and we really enjoyed the kerala massage during our 3days stay in Munnar...really recommendable...

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank vinayakdas114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balajiar, Front Office Manager at Grand Plaza Munnar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Dear Guest
Team Grand Plaza is thankful for your stay. We are happy to receive such great comments from our guests. Looking forward for your next visit and also wish to have your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munnar hotels
5.5 km away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 14 in Chithirapuram
946 reviews
4.6 km away
Misty Mountain Resort
Misty Mountain Resort
#4 of 9 in Pallivasal
952 reviews
22.2 km away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Clouds Valley Leisure Hotel
4.8 km away
Parakkat Nature Hotels & Resorts
5.1 km away
Rivulet Resort
Rivulet Resort
#9 of 101 in Munnar
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Plaza Munnar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Plaza Munnar

Address: MSA Road, Munnar 685612, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Munnar
#11 Spa Hotel in Munnar
#11 Romantic Hotel in Munnar
Price Range: $64 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Plaza Munnar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Plaza Munnar Hotel Munnar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing